We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I was hoping for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellesley Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Some things to note: Premium" is the Wellesley's confusing term for its least expensive room. Yes it has a full-size bath, but it's not the gorgeous clawfoot bath in a spacious bathroom as you see in the pictures splashed over its website. The Premium rooms have a small, modern bathroom with a small shower-over-bath arrangement. It didn't make for the romantic evening I had planned; really I booked to stay here for that bath!

While I am grateful that free wi-fi is provided (a sad rarity in NZ hotels), there is a 50MB limit, which will restrict anyone to only the most vital searches. It's provided through a third-party and getting online was a hassle -- two phone calls to reception to sort it out.

My guess is these rooms were originally much larger and have been divided; there is only one narrow window (so the room is very gloomy this morning) and with the massively high ceiling, the room feels all very out of proportion. It's a bit like sitting in a corridor. There's not a lot of sound insulation, we could clearly hear the person in the next room talking on her phone.

I'll be off early this morning -- there was a lot of noise from the street from about 4 am (the hotel is very close to major roads) and by 8 am jackhammers had started up. It's not pleasant.

I really wanted to love this place. I like character and old buildings and don't care for the sterile atmosphere of chain hotels. The quality of the fittings and soft furnishings is superb. The staff are excellent. The selection of teas and proper coffee is a nice touch and I love the bone china teacups! The room was comfortably warm in winter, with a very quiet heating/air-con unit. The bed was very comfortable and the choice of pillows was great.

It is a beautiful old building (old and delightful by New Zealand standards! I see some reviews from Europeans who couldn't see what the fuss was about, which is understandable) and I got a kick out of being in what was once a gentleman's club.

I would recommend this hotel if you stayed in one of the more expensive rooms AND if you did not have a car. The hotel does not have parking. The on-street parking outside is limited to two hours and the adjacent car parks are expensive. However the location is fantastic for exploring the city on foot.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank rar0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

251 - 257 of 276 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2011

lovely restaurant and bar, nice size room and nice amenities, and lots of interesting events during the day & evening bringing in local folks so that this didn't have the feel of a "tourist" hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdi2Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Liza and I enjoyed our stay there just for a night. Location is good, our room was very spacious but not as 'amazing' as the website described it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bengrenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2010

I stayed here in Nov as most of the other decent hotels in town were fully booked. I'm not sure why they call it boutique, i would say its old fashioned. Hotels like this are 10 a penny in the UK and a fraction of the cost.
The receptionist was friendly and helpful but the restaurant staff were the complete opposite, not very prompt or professional - the breakfast was poor, worst scrambled eggs i have ever had and the toast was rock solid even though it was covered in butter.
The rooms were clean and the bed comfortable, again fairly old fashioned with floral wallpaper and an old writing bureau, i must say the bathroom was great, molton and brown toiletries, amazing power shower - best in NZ.
Since staying here the hotel have e-mailed me virtually everyday which is very annoying.
For similar money i would recommend Ohtel or if you want to be in that area of town the newly renovated holiday inn is great (rooms have a small kitchen)
In summary:
Good- Location, bed comfort, shower, toiletries
Bad- Decor, noise from corridoor on a night, food,

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fabulous_Fabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We were not impressed with the standard room we had been booked into. It was small, dark, an awkward shape. The view was into a dirty alley. The windows were not clean. The room was on level 2 and you could constantly hear the coo of pigeons perched on the windowsill or just outside the building.

We immediately asked for an upgrade to the best category room which was a Luxury Room. Now that was fine. A big size room with a big bathroom and while it still was not a Hyatt or Hilton standard room, you could tell they were trying. So my advice to you is to upgrade if you possibly can.

The upsides were that all staff were unfailingly polite and helpful. They could not be faulted at all. And the location was also very good - minutes away from the Parliament area and a good shopping strip.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AshfromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

A well renovated substantial building in downtown Wellington providing most necessary facilities for the visitor to Wellington.

Very pleasant staff, and absolutely no complaints about the hotel.

Perhaps the only downside was inconveniently timed noises from other buildings in the neighbourhood, particularly a parking station that was empty at night and needed to vent possible carbon monoxide from the building at 6 am. This is a matter for the City Council and their noise pollution rules.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank handr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Quaint, extremely quiet and with great old-world ambience. Without exception the staff were helpful, genial and co-operative no doubt because there are so few rooms and thus so few guests to tend to. Loved walking around the various floors and taking in all the original features. Would stay here gladly on any return visits to Wellington.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gilgad15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,415 reviews
0.9 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.2 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#18 of 47 in Wellington
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 47 in Wellington
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Boutique Hotel

Address: 2-8 Maginnity Street | Central Business District, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $89 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wellesley Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1922 the Hotel is a category one Heritage building. It has 13 bedrooms each unique in character with generous bathrooms. It is nestled in central Wellington handy to the waterfront, railway station and ferries, government centre, parliament, the courts, business district, cable car, and Lambton Quay shopping and the stadium. All are within easy walking distance. Public transport is close by. Te Papa 20 minutes walk, Courtenay Place 30 minutes walk. The Hotel does not have it's own parking but there is parking available. Parking is free outside the Hotel from 6:00pm to 8:00am Monday to Thursday and after 8:00pm Friday and all weekend. Personal service and attention to detail is a priority and our "1815 Cafe and Bar" which is open from 7am until 8pm (Monday to Friday) for breakfast, lunch, light meals morning and afternoon teas and as a house bar . Coffee is a speciality. Free wiFi. Spoil yourself with a stay at Wellington's finest Boutique Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellesley Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Boutique Hotel Wellington
Wellesley Wellington
Wellington Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing