We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for long termers”
Review of Hotel St George

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel St George
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Manager and staff are very helpful and friendly, no bunk beds is one big advantage, kitchen is big but there's no oven. Location is great with secured key card system. Price is really good, if you're staying in Welly for more than 3 months, look no further.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leen903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Leen903 - Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Hotel St George only has real beds - no bunk-beds. We have tried the ovens for a communal kitchen - they do not work with so many people wanting to cook. We wish you all the best on your future travels. Regards Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
There are newer reviews for Hotel St George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 87 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

I spent a little over two months living at the St. George. The price was UNBEATABLE with such an awesome location. Did I mention I stayed in the same room as the Beatles? Too cool! A short walk to Courtney Place and even shorter one to Cuba Street. The place always had friendly familiar faces. Elevators are fast too. And best of all is the manager - Bruce: super friendly, always helpful. I would definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: 602 - Beatles stayed in there
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Daniel - thank you for taking the time to write us a review - Yes, Hotel St George is situated in the BEST location for people wanting to live in the City. Everything is at our doorstep: transport, shops, dining, entertainment, supermarket almost everything and anything you could want, and with our competitive pricing you would be pushed to find a better place. Thanks again ... Bruce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was an excellent decision to stay in ST George hotel. It is convenient to anywhere in Wellington city and with good services and security. I will definitely choose there again. It is the best place for new comers and young travellers to meet friends here. If you are a student or a visitor or even work in Wellington, staying in this hotel will save you an amount of money of bus and petrol. During my several months there, i really enjoy the city life. I strongly recommend students to choose this hotel, because you will meet your classmates at anytime and walk to school.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vika Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Dear Vika - Thank you for your great comments about your stay with us at the Hotel St George. We love to hear when people have enjoyed their time with us. Hope you have a nice Christmas and a Happy New Year - Regards Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I have stayed one week at Saint George Hotel and everything was pretty fine; nice people at the recepcion; safety with the clever key system and everything clean; tide and organized!!! Looking forward to stay again at the place that the Beatles used to crash in New Zealand!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremias Alejan... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, General Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Jeremias - Thank you for you comments. Yes the Hotel St George was the home for the Beatles when they visited NZ in 1964 and took the famous photo of them on our balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

As a newcomer in NZ, St. George allowed me easy access to and how to go about, places in Wellington: the Parliament building, Victoria Uni, Te Papa museum, restaurants, cafe's and a lot more. These are all well within walking distance and will save you much of bus fares or petrol. Whether you're a student, a visitor, or job hunter, St. George is a recommended place to stay. Moreover, St. George offers an opportunity to meet friends and learn a thing or two about their culture. It's a small community of diverse yet friendly people - Kiwis and international people alike. The spacious kitchen and dining area, allow you to cook and share hearty meal with friends while meeting new ones at the same time. The staff, headed by Bruce, the manager are friendly and always give that homey reception that you need whenever you go out and get back after a long day's work. I can never forget Yong too, so warm and a lady with a big heart. St. George is a package of everything nice...

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aida P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Aida, Thank you for your comments - Hotel St George is in the best location with easy access to everything. Yong - probably one of the best I have ever worked with, she is an asset to the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Hi there,
St g is probably the best place to meet people in Wellington!! I really enjoy my stay in st g!! I've got the best crew of friends (that I met there for most of them) ever seen!! Its a really nice place to stay!!! And close to the centre ( very practical)!! I had a very nice time during my 3 monthes stay!

Charline

Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
Thank Charline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Hi Charline - Thank you for your comments. The Hotel St George is well known for our many nationalities staying here, you can meet people from all around the world. Enjoy the rest of your time in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have been there twice alredy and every time I come back to Wellington I come to this place, the rooms are really confy, not too many paople, own bathrooms and good price,the location is perfect nothing is too far away, and I have met lots of friendly people there. I would absolutely recomend this place !!!

Room Tip: If you are lazy to go downstairs to do your laundry take a room in the third floor
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pao B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Pao B - Thank you for your comments. Hotel St George is glad you enjoyed your time with us and wish you all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
0.5 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,641 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boulcott Suites
Boulcott Suites
#5 of 52 in Wellington
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St George

Address: 124 Willis Street | Te Aro, Wellington 6011, New Zealand (Formerly St George Summer Hotel)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel St George - Wellington City accommodation for short term and long term city living. Affordable student and backpacker accommodation in the heart of Wellingtons CBD. All universities and schools, public transport, shops and a supermarket are at your doorstep. This historic art deco building is one of Wellingtons iconic hotels and was host to The Beatles in 1964. St George Accommodation offers a number of room types to suit couples or the single traveller wanting cheap accommodation in the heart of Wellington. Rooms are complete with bed, beside table, desk & chair, draws and a wardrobe. Every level has a small kitchenette to make tea, coffee and breakfast. A larger kitchen is available in the common area for cooking a meal or to relax and watch sky TV. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing