We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel St George
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$117
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$186
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$80
$68
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$119
$94
Official Site
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$200
$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
At Home Wellington(Wellington)
$162
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Travelodge Hotel Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$78
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$178
$116
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
51
32
2
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
32
2
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 89 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

St. George is perfectly located in Wellington and offered me and my girlfriend nice place to stay during our 4,5 months exchange studies. Staff is really helpful and they seem to invest quite well to new stuff especially in kitchen which is always nice. Kitchen is sometimes quite small and dirty because a lot of people use it and not everyone cleans their own mess but we managed with it very well. (Learned even a couple of new recipes from others!) Room was also good with toilet and furniture. One minus is the poor insulation (bad windows) which made some nights pretty cold and the noices from street can be heard well inside. Overall St. George provided good value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juho H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Juho & Emma, Thank you for your comments. We do like to hear when people have enjoyed staying with us. Yes we know the windows are getting on a little and are in need of restoration. The Hotel was built in 1929 and most of the windows are still in original form, being listed as a Heritage building any work, must be done to maintain its original look - we will be working towards this. Regards Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are looking for a place to live in Wellington for a few months, this is it! No need to stay in a dorm room in a noisy backpacker... We stayed there for two months and had a great time.
In St George you'll find great staff (thanks again Bruce&Young) and your own private bedroom with ensuite for a very reasonable price! If you are travelling by yourself you can also share a bedroom with another person. Everything is made for your comfort, the common kitchen is huge, washing machines are quite cheap and wifi is available if you have your own laptop. On top of all that we met great friends from all over the world in St George and had a lot of fun! If we ever go back to NZ we'll definately book there :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroetvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Hi Guys ... Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you found the Hotel St George such a great place to stay and that your enjoyed your time here with us. We wish you well on the rest of your travels and hope to welcome you back next time you need a place to stay in Wellington - Regards Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

It is a great Hostel...I lived there for over 2 months and it was a excellent experience.
It is a strattegic location for and the quiality and security are very good. The rooms are very confortable and the best is the rate!

Es un gran hostal para venir a vivir a wellington... bueno-bonito-barato. Ubicado en el centro de todo y excelente lugar para conocer gente de todas partes. Muy limpio y seguro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelstgeorge67, Manager at Hotel St George, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Gracias por sus comentarios muy buenos. Hotel St George is located in the very heart of Wellington City, making this place ideal for all who need city living. Everything is at our doorstep, shops, supermarket, transport, post office, banks, nightlife - we have it all

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed at the George Hotel for 4 months when first touching down in this cool little city and straight from the go I felt at home. The rooms are a decent size, with ensuites and a walk in wardrobe. The staff are always very helpful and friendly and work hard to ensure that everyones stay is comfortable. The kitchen floor is huge and always clean, which is very important when sharing with others. Unlike hostels the George Hotel seems to be perfect for the more relaxed vistors/couples who may be in Wellington for work or study. A great mix of people and culture, the George is a great place to live.
The facilites are also very looked after! From the kitchens and dining area to the washer/dryer rooms, you will honestly find everything you need in this place. The price was fantastic too, beating any hostel in the city. For a private room, your own bathroom, wardrobe/draws, TV and double bed with WIFI service - Just $250 a week. You won't get any better!

Check it out!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Hi there! i've been living in St. George Hotel for 3 months and i can say it is a good place to stay in Wellington. There are confortable rooms , big kitchen and you are avaible to meet friendly people from differents countries . I felt really secure living in this place where all the staff are there the mayority of the times . Something that i liked the most was the location , it closed to the Library, Civic Square, Courtaney Place(restaurants, Bar , shops) , a few minutes to Victoria University ,Te Papa Museum, etc. Good accomodation for students, visitors, workers...everybody.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristhel1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews