We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best ever place to stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rita's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best ever place to stay”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

my name is ady l stayed there l was very happy very welcoming and it was that lovely l am going again in a month looking forward to it very lovely people the best place l have ever stayed at l would recommend if anyone goes to liverpool to stay there the best ever

Room Tip: it was all lovely overall the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Shabby dated decor plus 3 daddy long legs in musty smelling room.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REVIEWNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

SIngapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Me and some friends went for the recent Rugby World Cup and we had previously made an arrangement for two nights booking with Rita. However, along the way on New Zealand trip, one of us lost our passports and had to retweak our plans for Wellington. We arrived weary at Rita's and explained our situation. And she was so gracious & understanding of the situation, so much so that we only were charged for one night instead of the previous agreement! She was also resourceful and helpful in providing infomation that we seek, and is definitely the most friendly & thoughtful lady we've ever met!

Don't be misled by the outer appearance as it may appear dodgy..You're able to see a nice little garden on her balcony (just outside her entrance). The rooms we were assigned to were really well maintained and clean..there were heaters for the rooms and beds (as Wellington was freezing! Note; it was spring time, but temperatures dropped drastically at night especially). So were the toilets..the shower functions are better than another B&B we were at, but we noticed a common trend of low pressure water outlet for both places. So be patient when you take a shower..lol. There's no tv in the rooms though, then again why would you want to watch tv in such a scenic country which screams "Explore me!" =p

The B&B is situated along a hill, which was about less than 10 minutes walk to the train, which takes you to the city centre (only one stop away)..do take note of the departure times of the train though or you'll have to wait 20 minutes for the following one (on an average waiting time). The fare we paid for: $3.50 (non-peak hours) and slightly higher for peak hours (between 7am-9am, if I'm not mistaken).

Rita accomodates to your breakfast wishes..and she loves baking. Even asks us to help ourselves to her cake on our arrival and to the rest of her kitchen, for our usage.

In conclusion, we love the place and service..and will definitely be coming back to Rita's whenever we wish to revisit Wellington again! Thank you Rita! =)

Room Tip: Ensure to disclose the number of people you're travelling with, as it will help her to allocate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arweyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Myself and three friends stayed at Rita's for our annual weekend's fishing and pubbing weekend away. Rita is a lovely person, the friendliest, most generous landlady we've ever met. In keeping with everyone in Liverpool I met. House is a large old victorian building full of character. The rooms are huge. You don't just get a small packet of bisciuts and sachets of tea, coffee and milk, you get a plate full of choccy bickies such as Vicounts and Penguins etc, soup, tea and a jar of coffee! The breakfasts were extremely generous and it kept me going all day. The room we had wasn't ensuite but the bathroom was just across the landing and was in the process of being re-furbished, so it should be very nice soon. One possible drawback, no telly in our room, but we only spent time in there briefly so it didn't bother me. . All in all, a very pleasant place to stay and I'd have no hesitation in recommending lovely Rita!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

One of the most comfortable B&Bs I've ever stayed in. They offer you a lift from/to the airport. Though it's not located inside the city itself, the train is frequent and very convenient. Contrary to the previous reviewer's opinion, we had a very nice and clean room with electric blankets and a large space for storage. The owner was a really nice company to chat to and a very good cook. (and the cat was really sweet) We had a fantastic time there. Thank you so much, Rita!!

  • Liked — friendly service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2008

The room I had was also used for storing garden furniture, the en suite had a leaking toilet system. There was a lack enthusiasm by the owner, with dirty breakfast washing up items still in the sink 12 hours later.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Owners Lack of Enthusiasm
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
671 reviews
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
2.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
1.8 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rita's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rita's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rita's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 55 Spencer Street, Wellington 6035, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing