We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK if you don't expect too much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #22 of 54 Wellington B&B and Inns
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“OK if you don't expect too much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've given a lot of thought of how to review my stay here, trying to be fair, but it was such a mixed bag of experiences, perhaps I ought to just relate my experience.

I had to change my itinerary twice, and John, the owner, quite graciously changed my booking both times. He helped with my bags when I arrived, and moved them himself the next night as I had to change rooms due to the change in booking. The rooms are nice - kind of antiquey and quirky, but I like that sort of thing and felt right at home as to the surroundings.

Alas, that is really the only good things I have to say about my stay. John began our acquaintance by telling me a long, drawn-out story about how he got cheated by UPS shipping him some of the ceramics he collects. Even though some Americans in Chicago helped him to get reimbursed, the point of his whole story was how awful Americans are. I had a bad fall in the middle of the night due to there being a step between the bedroom and the bathroom, which injured my back and my knees, but when I told him of it the next morning, his response was, "You know what I think? I think Americans just aren't like other people." I still don't know what he meant by that.

Later, I asked him for some ice to put on my back injury, and his response was to complain, "Only Americans use ice, and they never fill up the trays."

The same day, I also developed food poisoning so bad that I had to go to Urgent Care. John called me a cab, but that was all the concern he showed for me. A complete stranger, another guest at the House, offered to accompany me to the clinic and stayed with me and saw me back to the House.

What few times I was able to go to breakfast (I was throwing up for 3 days of the 6 I was there), John would be jeering at some other guest behind their back, often for quite ridiculous reasons, such as leaving for the Ferry too early. He also never failed to mention what nationality the person he was ridiculing was, as though that matters. Altogether I found him to be a very unkind person, quite lacking in sympathy.

I think he prides himself on giving 'good service', and as far as the accommodation goes he does. Just don't expect anything else.

Oh, yeah, breakfast consisted of toast, tea, juice and cereal. No fruit, no dairy, no protein of any kind except for jars of peanut butter.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 6, it's the one with the step that's too easy to trip over in the dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank khalleron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    87
    36
    32
    37
See reviews for
28
113
75
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
117 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

There is a lot written about Richmond Guest House and you have to know what you're going to get otherwise you might be disappointed. You get basic but clean and maintained accomodation. My friend and I had the two rooms upstairs in the "annexe" - very quiet and private. Breakfast pretty simple but included in price. John, the host, has his own particular sense of humour and is not the most patient of people - once you work that out you'll get on fine and have a great stay - he's very helpful. We found the Hop Garden bar/restaurant just round the corner on Petrie Street to be excellent if you don't want to walk into twon.

Room Tip: With two of us wanting single rooms each we had 12 and 14. Single front door and then two separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place to stay to unwind and relax. Very clean and close to town. A home away from home. I look forward to going there, whether picing my son up from Varsity or dropping him off. Cheerfull and helpful host.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great budget B&B - friendly, clean, homely, simple breakfast, free wifi internet and newspaper, tea/coffee in sunny communal dining room, TV in communal lounge.
Great location - quiet, 15 mins walk to Courtney place (city life, airport bus, supermarket), 3 min walk to regular bus stop to city or Miramar (Airport bus might even drop you there if you ask).
No TV in the rooms, tidy but not modern decor, personal. If you want anonymous independence in a self-contained room, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are upstairs and not attached (so possibly quieter). 14 faces the street (some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Courtney Place only 15 mins walk away from here. On the edge of city life. Accommodation is excellent. Room was clean. Good place to meet other travellers, as can mix with other guests in dining room. Supermarket 15 mins walk away. No. 2 bus to town, 5 mins walk. Bus to Mirimar 10 mins walk from here. Airport bus (no 91) 15 mins walk away. John was an excellent host, will book in here again. David

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just traveled onward after a two night stay at Richmond Guest House.We had room 4 which was a small, clean room with a double bed, large mirror( that my girlfriend loved for make up) and en suite bathroom. I think it was a good budget B&B, we paid only 85 NZD per night which included free internet (2x 100 MB), newspaper and a small breakfast.

Bear in mind though that this is more of a home than a hotel, the style is personal, there are no TV in the room and daily room cleaning are limited to a new towel. John, the owner and manager, is a good hearted and interesting character who likes to talk to his guests.

If you want a less personal style with TV in the room and room service, go for a hotel like Ibis. But if you prefer more of a home away from home, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wulviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This B & B is in an old building run by John, who is an older chap. The place is done to his taste - maybe a bit old fashioned for some. I'd say it was homely. We paid $85 a night including breakfast in a double en-suite room.

The room was spacious, a heater and hairdryer was provided. The bed was comfortable and we slept well even though we were in the room right next to the kitchen. The shower was good - although the first morning there was a fault with the water heater so I ended up having a cold shower.

Close enough to the city to walk, parking outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#20 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Property: Richmond Guest House
Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing