We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #21 of 48 Wellington B&B and Inns
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
“Quiet and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great place to stay to unwind and relax. Very clean and close to town. A home away from home. I look forward to going there, whether picing my son up from Varsity or dropping him off. Cheerfull and helpful host.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    88
    37
    33
    37
See reviews for
29
114
76
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great budget B&B - friendly, clean, homely, simple breakfast, free wifi internet and newspaper, tea/coffee in sunny communal dining room, TV in communal lounge.
Great location - quiet, 15 mins walk to Courtney place (city life, airport bus, supermarket), 3 min walk to regular bus stop to city or Miramar (Airport bus might even drop you there if you ask).
No TV in the rooms, tidy but not modern decor, personal. If you want anonymous independence in a self-contained room, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms 14 and 15 are upstairs and not attached (so possibly quieter). 14 faces the street (some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Courtney Place only 15 mins walk away from here. On the edge of city life. Accommodation is excellent. Room was clean. Good place to meet other travellers, as can mix with other guests in dining room. Supermarket 15 mins walk away. No. 2 bus to town, 5 mins walk. Bus to Mirimar 10 mins walk from here. Airport bus (no 91) 15 mins walk away. John was an excellent host, will book in here again. David

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We just traveled onward after a two night stay at Richmond Guest House.We had room 4 which was a small, clean room with a double bed, large mirror( that my girlfriend loved for make up) and en suite bathroom. I think it was a good budget B&B, we paid only 85 NZD per night which included free internet (2x 100 MB), newspaper and a small breakfast.

Bear in mind though that this is more of a home than a hotel, the style is personal, there are no TV in the room and daily room cleaning are limited to a new towel. John, the owner and manager, is a good hearted and interesting character who likes to talk to his guests.

If you want a less personal style with TV in the room and room service, go for a hotel like Ibis. But if you prefer more of a home away from home, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wulviken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This B & B is in an old building run by John, who is an older chap. The place is done to his taste - maybe a bit old fashioned for some. I'd say it was homely. We paid $85 a night including breakfast in a double en-suite room.

The room was spacious, a heater and hairdryer was provided. The bed was comfortable and we slept well even though we were in the room right next to the kitchen. The shower was good - although the first morning there was a fault with the water heater so I ended up having a cold shower.

Close enough to the city to walk, parking outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just started my holiday in Wellington, and was really happy I chose the Richmond Guest House as an accommodation.The location is very good - in just 10 minutes walk you are in the city centre - and quiet though. I enjoyed the free wifi, breakfast and friendly roomservice, for under a hundred dollars such a good value! John, the manager, told me much about the buildings history and how he built it after a fire destroyed most of it. He has done good work, that's why I loaded up some pictures of the ceilings and the doors - beautiful in detail! That guy is really impressing, and I don't understand people who say bad about him. When I come back to Wellington, I'll come back to Richmond - my home in the capital!:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The only good thing about this motel is the location. The facilities are run down, smelly and antiquated. The bed I was I tipped me out so I had to sleep across the bed, Internet dodgy at best. The owner is a rude ignorant man who has no idea how to treat his paying clientelle. He obviously agreed as he gave me a refund when I complained the way he spoke to me.

Would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kiwigreekscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#31 of 46 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Setup on Dixon
The Setup on Dixon
#9 of 47 in Wellington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gourmet Stay
Gourmet Stay
#1 of 47 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 48 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Property: Richmond Guest House
Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing