We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit kitsch, but cheap and more than adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Richmond Guest House
Ranked #24 of 45 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This B & B is in an old building run by John, who is an older chap. The place is done to his taste - maybe a bit old fashioned for some. I'd say it was homely. We paid $85 a night including breakfast in a double en-suite room.

The room was spacious, a heater and hairdryer was provided. The bed was comfortable and we slept well even though we were in the room right next to the kitchen. The shower was good - although the first morning there was a fault with the water heater so I ended up having a cold shower.

Close enough to the city to walk, parking outside. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 324 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I just started my holiday in Wellington, and was really happy I chose the Richmond Guest House as an accommodation.The location is very good - in just 10 minutes walk you are in the city centre - and quiet though. I enjoyed the free wifi, breakfast and friendly roomservice, for under a hundred dollars such a good value! John, the manager, told me much about the buildings history and how he built it after a fire destroyed most of it. He has done good work, that's why I loaded up some pictures of the ceilings and the doors - beautiful in detail! That guy is really impressing, and I don't understand people who say bad about him. When I come back to Wellington, I'll come back to Richmond - my home in the capital!:)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The only good thing about this motel is the location. The facilities are run down, smelly and antiquated. The bed I was I tipped me out so I had to sleep across the bed, Internet dodgy at best. The owner is a rude ignorant man who has no idea how to treat his paying clientelle. He obviously agreed as he gave me a refund when I complained the way he spoke to me.

Would never recommend this place to anyone!

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kiwigreekscorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Most importantly, I was able to sleep very well (being a tall guy), in a nice though somewhat basic room, without TV. John was very kind and helpful and the free wireless was also great. It looks indeed a bit run-down, but rooms are clean and OK and great hospitality is far more important. Great value for money and a good location.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

John is a lovely fellow. Some of the people who wrote some of the earlier reviews are clearly oversensitive and immature and should be ashamed of themselves. I did not have a basement room, and so cannot comment on reviews in respect of these. But my ground level room was very satisfactory. If I ever need to stay in Wellington again it will be a no brainer, I will stay at the Richmond.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Richmond Guest House is fairly basic, but if you choose it for its location and price, you won’t be disappointed. Although the exterior is a bit run down in spots, the rooms are freshly painted and clean, and furnished with comfortable beds and ample storage, in drawers and a wardrobe. Don’t expect chairs, heated towel rails, or a TV or phone in your room (there is a lounge with a TV). Daily room service was limited to fresh towels. Breakfast of juice, choice of cereal, toast and tea or coffee was simple but adequate. John, our somewhat quirky but very helpful host, enjoyed talking to the guests at breakfast, and has a fund of stories, and a nice sense of humour. There is free wireless Internet, provided using Zenbu (you have to get login codes from John). The electric heater in our room was adequate when the overnight temperature fell to 5 or 6 C. We would definitely stay at the Richmond Guest House again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermes99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I had the pleasure of visiting New Zealand over the past two weeks. We searched for hotels for months before deciding on the Richmond Guest House. The bed and breakfast is conveniently located near the heart of Wellington, and we were able to walk almost anywhere we wanted to go within the city.

John, our host, is someone that is not only warm and inviting, but has a great sense of humor and a soft side (don't tell him I said that!). Upon arrival he helped us with a map of the town and directions to wherever we needed to go. He called us cabs when necessary, and even helped me to try and track down my lost cell phone. We left for two days, and were able to leave our bags at no cost. When we arrived back, he had already placed our bags in our new room and wanted to know all about our trip. When we got back to his place we said, "we're home", and felt that we really were.

I also received a lovely follow up email from him making sure we had made it back to the US safely and to thank us for our patronage. I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone visiting. Cheers!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacksOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.3 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 46 in Wellington
145 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
Gilmer Apartment Hotel
#4 of 45 in Wellington
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gourmet Stay
Gourmet Stay
#1 of 53 in Wellington
458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#9 of 46 in Wellington
410 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Dwellington
The Dwellington
#2 of 53 in Wellington
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Guest House

Address: 116 Brougham Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $62 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Richmond Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond Guest House is a lovely 19th century eleven room villa less than 1 km from Courtenay Place and Wellington City Business District (CBD). The Richmond has recently been refurbished and has all its' original features including beautiful ornate plaster ceilings and cornices throughout. Restored to it's former grandeur, we have eleven freshly renovated rooms, single, double, twin and triple all of which have there own bathrooms plus hairdryers, radio alarms and newspapers delivered to rooms daily. Free, varied, continental breakfast is included with all rooms. There is a communal kitchen where guests can prepare their own meals with a connecting dining room where complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate is always available. Plus we have a computer set up in the dining room for free internet use and there is free WiFi throughout the building as well. We also have a TV lounge where you can relax, and free laundry use is available. If you have a car, you can easily park for free in the street in front of the guest house (we will provide you a resident card). We are a 100% non-smoking property (and we don't encourage smokers !) and not suitable for children. Check in time is from 11 a.m. until 10 p.m. The bus number 2 stops up the street, and we are on the shuttle bus route and within a 10 minute drive to the Airport, Rail, and Inter-island Ferry (Approximately $25 for two from airport and ferry). To quote your host John Cairns, "We don't claim to be the Hilton, but if you are traveling to Wellington for business or pleasure, for one night or ten, we offer clean, well located and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price." So next time you are in Wellington pay us a visit - Your Home Away From Home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Richmond Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Guest House Hotel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing