We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable for short term stay”
Review of Marksman Motor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Marksman Motor Inn
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Comfortable for short term stay”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This motel was clean and comfortable but had minimal facilities. There was a bench to make coffee or tea on, but no sink and only a microwave. The staff were friendly on check in. The motel is in a noisy location, but there were also major road works in the area at the time we stayed. Good for a short term stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
14
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here three nights as a couple with no car with the intention of having two full days to explore the capital. The motel is very clean, very well equipped and a helpful and accommodating welcome awaits the visitor.

There were two areas where this was not ideal. First the motel is very near a very busy and very noisy road making sleeping with ventilation a problem, certainly for the light sleeper. Second, though there is a bus service very nearby, this motel is not conveniently situated for those with no car. It is not a comfortable and certainly not peaceful walk into the town centre.

Those with a car would not have this problem and parking at the motel is very easy and spacious.

So all in all a mixed review.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Spacious and clean units which were serviced daily., comfortable beds. Even though the motel is situated on a busy road there is no road noise from inside the units. Easy access to wi-fi. Within walking distance of downtown shops, cafes, restaurants etc. Helpful and friendly hosts. I would certainly stay again on any future visits to Wellington.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Managed to move into the Marksman for one night after a dreadful experience at Mercure on Willis. marksman staff were very welcoming and friendly. Room clean, tidy and spacious with everything l needed. Only slightly negative comment is l couldn't access e wifi..even after calling the helpline number the receptionist gave me. Would also ask that shower gel and not conditioner be supplied. Bed comfortable and no road noise noticed. Would certainly stay there again in future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazjoolz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked Marksman Motor Inn as it was close to our venue. Im sure I had booked a two bedroom unit, but had been allocated a one bedroom. There was Me, My wife and our two kids, so a two bedroom would have been perfect. Unfortunatly we had to squeeze the porta cot into a little alcove in the Main room, have our 8 year old in the queen bed and we had to sleep on a very uncomfortable Fold out couch. So this was the first disappointment. BTW Kay (one of the owners) is very helpful and nice, Kevin could learn a few customer service skills. The amenties were average, but not 4 star quality. The coffee in the units was the cheaper quality out of the health pak range. The shower had FANTASTIC pressure and was clean-ish. I was worried that sinse we were on the road side that we would have a lot of road noise with the Marksman being on a main road, but the hush glass or double glazing is a absolute god send and we heard nothing from outside at all - bliss!! And the room was nice and warm!! The kitchen had all the amenites that you would expect, but the cleaning somewhat lacked rather a lot.The area that the jug, toaster and plunger are kept had a lot of dead bugs, food crumbs and dust all over it. A quick wipe when the unit is cleaned would have fixed it. The dishes didn't look like they had been washed properly from the last guest.
Overall we were disappointed with our stay, especially for what we paid.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hotrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I booked in to the Marksman after a long day driving from Taupo parked at front of my unit, the mangeress was lovely and friendly and delivered my reciept to my room, which was fantastic as I so needed coffee.. the room was clean except for the carpet rather stained in kitchenet area. in the morning I asked to use dust pan to clean out the hire car before returning and was loaned a vacum cleaner. very helpfl and friendly

Room Tip: even tho it is close to main road units are far enough back that once the door and curtin are closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purplepammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Awamutu, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location, helpful hosts, nice room. Only slight downer was the cold tap in our bathroom was almost impossible to turn on, and only came out as a trickle at best... Bed was super comfy, had a great sleep, thought road noise would be an issue, but hardly noticed it. Will stay again if I am ever back in Wellington

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristyHanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
0.3 mi away
Southern Cross Serviced Apartments
1.5 mi away
Brentwood Hotel
Brentwood Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kilbirnie
282 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#36 of 46 in Wellington
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capital View Motor Inn
Capital View Motor Inn
#27 of 46 in Wellington
323 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 46 in Wellington
396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Adelaide Motel
Adelaide Motel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marksman Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marksman Motor Inn

Property: Marksman Motor Inn
Address: 40 - 44 Sussex Street, Wellington 6021, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marksman Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable & affordable accommodation in Wellington. 19 x Studio, 1 & 2-bedroom units, some with full kitchen. Free off-street car parking. Walking distance to most major tourist attractions, conference centers and local restaurants. All rooms fully refurbished Sep/Oct 2006. Wireless internet access available (charges apply). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marksman Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing