We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be going back!”
Review of Hotel Willis Lodge

Hotel Willis Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Willis Lodge
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Having stayed at this Hotel in the past I was bitterly disappointed to find it is now a backpackers annex.The website had not changed so expected the same homely atmosphere and wonderful personal service we had enjoyed previously.We arrived late from the Interisland ferry and had to juggle our own luggage,find the room,let ourselves in-not a soul in sight.The "voice" on the reception phone assured us that breakfast was available from 8am but the dining room was deserted and the furniture piled in one corner.Greasy dishes sat on the servery.For the price we paid I consider we were ripped off.The present owners were hiding behind the good reputation of their prdecessors.Shame on you!!.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hillsflat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Willis Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

We have been regulars for a number of years – the location handy to the motorway, free parking and comfortable rooms suit.
Received a very warm welcome from the interim Manager who mentioned upcoming opening specials.
Ideally suited to professionals visiting Wgtn for work, or tourists passing through.
Bathrooms and TVs are older but everything is clean, comfortable and well priced. Highly recommended.
Check out the goat curry at Rasa on Cuba St.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Rooms were clean and comfortable, if a bit dated (the bathroom in particular had fixtures seemingly from the 70's). Free parking was particularly welcome. However, the hotel appeared to be entirely un-staffed from our afternoon arrival right through to departure. Checkin was accomplished by ringing a phone number to retrieve a lockbox code for the keys. Checkout meant leaving the key on the desk as we left. Seemed very insecure, particularly given the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bookbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Situated close by the cafe & entertainment areas of Wellington, Hotel Willis is a little dated, but has reasonable sized rooms, is clean & quiet.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the Hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcavty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I would personally recommend anyone this hotel.
A fantastic location, handy to the city, and most importantly, kind and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I have enjoyed the accommodation of Hotel Willis on several occasions in the last twelve months. On each visit I have been made very welcome and provided with a room that is comfortably appointed and furnished. The beds in particular are great. All the amenities have worked well and I have enjoyed a leisurely breakfast in the dining room with the newspaper. While the hotel is not new, nor 5-star, it provides excellent value for money and I warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Don't know what some people expect. No-one can expect to book in at 7am anywhere in the world unless they are paying for an extra nights accommodation. This is great plae to stay, friendly staff and excellent value. Where else can you stay with guaranteed parking (most hotels wont guarantee, or you have to pay extra) in the city, at such great rates.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,713 reviews
0.0 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#43 of 46 in Wellington
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.7 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Willis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Willis Lodge

Address: 318 Willis Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Wellington
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Hotel Willis Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing