We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harbour City Motor Inn
Ranked #37 of 46 Wellington B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 8, 2012

a nice place for a short stay if you planning on seeing wellingtons night life, this place is right next to cuba st where most of the pubs, restaurants, bars and pizza places are....free parking is available, will probably recommend others....a great value for a not so good service, but its "all in the mind"

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 124 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2012

We spent a long weekend at this property and overall it was good for the price we paid. The sheets and bedding were clean and so was the apartment we rented. It has three bedrooms and we spent three nights there. The apartment sat on top of the building and the whole place was bright and airy with lots of space and even a sunroom.
The big downside was the fact that one of the bedrooms was right next to the boiler room and the pipes were clanging and banging away on and off through the 3 nights. I would have given this place a much better review if not for this.
All in all the place was basic but functional and it was good value for money for what we paid.

Room Tip: Beware of rooms located around the boiler room as the pipes make a lot of noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitmonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Check in was ok.
Mended by a chinese..
Good only if stay for 1 nite.
Apartments were old..
Toilets were small..
the lifts were terrible..
Beds not bad..
But overall experience was ... I wouldnt book the motor inn again..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights. location-wise it is okay. the staff are a family of mainland Chinese who you cannot count on for speaking proper English. if you are Mandarin-speaking however, I see no problem with that. minimal supplies of toilet paper and milk provided. if you stay for 1 week or 1 day its the same, you get a small bottle of milk and a roll of toilet paper. the staff do all their cooking downstairs with a huge range of Chinese spices, so expect that to flow to you wherever your room may be. elevator takes ages to climb the levels and is way past retirement. car park is narrow and has very minimal lighting at night. the rooms are horrible and very aged and unlike any of the pictures so do not trust their website! hot water came out murky! in short, please close this place down!

Room Tip: do not choose any room. in fact do not choose to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

On short notice I had to find accommodation for eight in Wellington during the rugby World Cup. Should have read reviews but i didn't have many options at the time.
First point was staff could not speak fluent English, so spent half an hour trying to check in until they understood who we were and where we came from!
Did not realise eight of us were put into one apartment with only one bathroom. Heating an old fashioned gas appliance in the corridor that worked but looked out of the sixties. Rooms had to keep doors open or freeze. Gas heater in living room not working so small electric radiator in place. Room with two beds couldn't close the door as bed was in the way. Had an OK flat screen TV. suppose it was very cheap, worked out 80 bucks a head in central Wellington ($640 for all of us), but would have gladly paid more to stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rugby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The motel was a mansion covert into motel. We book a 3Bedroom and got what we pay but if just to put in the night, should be acceptable but if anyone intend to stay longer, better to get to other motel. The bathroom with the hot water & cold water in separate pipe piping and was very old fashion. The heater was the gas type and only the person at the front desk know how to get it started.
The location was ideal to the CBD and to the ferry terminal for the cross channel ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPTWONG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The other reviews seem to have covered the main parts and problems related to this 'establishment'. We arrived at 10.20pm as prearranged, having taken the last ferry from Picton. To find the whole place closed up in the pouring rain was not a good start. No reply on either intercom and after TWO phone calls we finally raised the manager... In her pyjamas! She seemed to know two words, "hello" and "sorry". We were given our room key and the manager gestured it was on the first floor.

Prior to arriving we had requested a double room. You can imagine my surprise to find my wife and I standing in a twin room at 11pm. We managed to raise the manager again and were taken to another room with a double and single bed. The headboard still had glad-wrap over it, possibly the cleanest part of the room. The heater had one setting... On! The kitchenette in our 'upgraded' room was filthy, poorly equipped and extremely dated. The mould behind the bathroom taps was also extremely off putting.

Other than free parking (although not secure and poorly lit at best) this place has absolutely nothing going for it. The lingering smell is very odd and seems to be throughout the whole place. As previous reviews have said, avoid this motel at all costs. We stayed in 7 different places on our 8 day road trip and this was one that I wish I'd checked on tripadvisor first. At $120 for our night it was averagely priced for Wellie, but I'd suggest you try something else and just pay out the extra $14-$18 for parking...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briwi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Wellington
Comfort Hotel Wellington
#23 of 47 in Wellington
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Richmond Guest House
Richmond Guest House
#23 of 46 in Wellington
324 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Wellington
Best Western Wellington
#25 of 47 in Wellington
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour City Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour City Motor Inn

Address: 92-96 Webb Street, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range: $79 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Harbour City Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harbour City Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing