We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The best part of the West Plaza is it's location, in the central city. My room was average but reasonably modern and clean. I have no complaints but nothing stands out either. I'd stay again if the price was right. The breakfast buffet is very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bedsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 493 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

Checked into the hotel for the Sevens Tournament in February. The hotel location is good being close to the waterfont and after tournament party zone. The rooms are ok. Getting pretty old and worn out but then again the place is not expensive and this reflects the lack of quality. I suggest you dont use the back alley entrance to the hotel at night by yourself as there are undesirables hanging out and drinking there, basically trying to intimidate anyone who walks by. First night was good, second night was good BUT wait, at 06:45 on the Saturday morning when my wife and I were lying in bed contemplating the day, the door BURST open and this chap came in yelling "wakey, wakey, get out of bed!". If it wasnt such a serious breach of my security and privacy it would have been laughable. If my wife had been on her own it would have been a matter for the Police. The chap, who was about six foot 4 and pretty well built had been given our room key by the hotel reception becuase he had asked for a key to his brothers room who happened to have the same surname as me. In other hotels I have stayed at around the world, our room key would NEVER have been given out without first contacting the room for authorisation or the production of ID showing you were the room guest. I raised the the issue with the weekend manager who initially seemed to take it all very seriously. Latter in the day when we returned to the hotel the manager told me a string of lies about what & why. He did not realise that I had run into the chap and his brother during the day and got the truth about how it had all unfolded. No compensation was offered other than a couple of free beers from the bar when we returned that night. The manager also told us that systems had now been changed and it could not happen again. We tested this and sent our mate off to see if he could get our room key. He returned two minutes latter with key in hand. SO overall, cheap, well located,ok accommodation. The downside as you have just read is a serious matter of personal security and privacy which the hotel management took as some sort of joke. I have never been contacted by the hotel with any offer of compensation as was indicated by the weekend manager and feel that they thought I would just go away. WELL now you can all read my story as the hotel obviously dosen't care.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TOPPROFILE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are aware of the incident and it was handled professionally at the time, we were not lying when we told you the reason why this happened. As we explained to you at the time there were two guests with identical surname’s in rooms very close to each other on the same floor on the night in question. When the first guest asked for the room number and key we did check their name and ID against the room before giving out the key, that guest unfortunately had asked for the wrong room number with the exact same surname. Both the Night Manager and day Duty Manager dealt with the incident promptly and spoke with you several times. It was an unintentional error and all procedures were followed. It was an unfortunate situation, we do accept it would have been horrible experience for you and we do apologise that it did happen. We did not follow up further as you implied that you understood and accepted our explanation to the Duty Manager. We also immediately notified all of the staff working that there were two guests with the exact same last name on the same floor and to be vigilante with security checks. This incident happened on the morning of the 8th February and your review is some 5 months later. At no time have you contacted the hotel directly to let us know that you were unhappy with the response or actions taken by the Managers on Duty at the time. We do take all allegations very seriously if you would like to contact us directly please do and we can discuss this.

Regards, Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, the place was nice. We were given a small room but then opted for a suite. I guess this hotel is more for business guests. Location is good, service is alright.
you have to pay for parking and wifi - so figure that out.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tirath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Imagine Wellington CBD, I don't want to focus on the busy streets! Here I come from one of the most serene towns in New Zealand. I got a bit lost in the traffic where to find this hotel because when you are driving with a GPS, it won't understand that you are looking for the parking area side of the hotel. Stupid me. I rang the hotel from the street side and the reception was absolutely fantastic. Not that you would expect a standard hotel reception where you feel that you are just one of the many in line waiting. This young man was helpful to the max. The next day, I had to ask a little favour about my parking after I have checked-out and explaining my situation, this another young man has absolutely defined the word reception in a busiest hotel in the Wellington CBD. Well-done to this department as well as the cleaning staff. Brilliant people, just as what you would wish for in a hotel in a country's capital. I felt proud.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2014

Thanks for you positive comments it's always great to hear when guest have enjoyed their stay with us. I am so pleased that the reception staff could help you, we are lucky to have so many great staff at the hotel and we work hard to make sure they deliver exceptional customer service. We look forward to seeing you again at the West Plaza Hotel Wellington.

Regards, Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This hotel is excellent value if you are attending shows or theatre in the area. Prices are very reasonable, very well decorated foyer, staff welcoming, the place is always very clean with comfortable, tastefully decorated rooms, nice and quiet at night (no street noise to speak of). Restaurant and bar meals are good, happy hour with complimentary nibbles appreciated in a comfy and quiet seating area. Handy to shopping, restaurants and the waterfront and Te Papa. Repeat guest and will come again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynR530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights while in town for family, good value for money, there was nothing flash about the place, but nothing really that bad either, car parking can be a bit of a pain, but we managed to get one each night if we weren't too late back in the evening, walls are a bit thin in the rooms as we could hear others having 'fun', the beds are bit uncomfortable too which seems to be the case in a lot of Wellington hotels. The staff at this hotel were friendly and pleasantly helpful when it came to checking in/out and finding us a car park each night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks for your feedback - I will pass on your comments about the bed on to our Executive Housekeeper to investigate further, all of our rooms have queen size beds and the mattresses were all recently replaced throughout the hotel. It was good to hear that the staff were pleasant and helpful, we are a “Mid- Range Value for Money Hotel in Heart of Wellington City” and your comments help us to continue to be better.

Regards
Julie Wilcock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The West Plaza hotel is an unimpressive sleeping factory with 102 rooms over 5 storeys in the centre of Wellington. Nearby and at the waterfront you find dozens of cafés, bars and restaurants.

The West Plaza has a true seventies architecture and atmosphere, walls between rooms are relatively thin. From our room at the back-side of the building we had a view of the entrance of a parking garage. Every morning the garbage truck gave us a wake-up call. As we were unhappy with our wake-up call we changed for the second day of our stay to a two-room suite. The photos are from the suite.

Wi-Fi Internet is extra and only free at the bar for 30 minutes when you have drink. Quite surprising as the whole city centre has free Wi-Fi internet.

Our room was clean and furnished with a wardrobe, two club-chairs and a flat screen TV set. It had a coffee & tea making facility. The bathroom is appropriate with washbasin, toilet and shower. All was very clean.

The hotel is OK but definitely has inherited its four stars from its best days over two decades ago. Nowadays it is more a 2 to 3 star. The hotel has a bar in the lobby and an uninviting restaurant which we did not visit. The buffet style breakfast is good with ample variety: cereals, fruits, orange juice, pastries, yoghurts, rolls, cold-cuts, different cheeses, eggs made to order, etc.

The hotel is clean and satisfactory maintained. Staffs were helpful and friendly. We would recommend it to all who seek a no-nonsense accommodation in the city centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Thanks for your detailed comments about the hotel, I was pleased to see that the staff were able to move rooms for you at no cost so you could have better sleep in.
We do have several packages available that include both the accommodation and WiFi for the entire stay for those guests that prefer this.
It was good to hear the comments about the cleanliness of the rooms. Our 4 Star rating is assessed each year and we have just recently had it reconfirmed for a further year.

Regards,
Julie Wilcock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
538 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mercure Wellington Central City Hotel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $105 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing