We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to find another hotel”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a room booked for 2 nights in West Plaza and granted we did not expect a fancy boutique hotel for the price of the room, but we did expect a 4 star hotel as advertised. However, when we got in the room it was pretty clear that some of the 4 stars were missing. The air-conditioning unit had 1cm thick layer of dust on it, so there was no way you would want to switch the thing on. The shelves in the room and in the bathroom had not been recently cleaned either! We were shown another room, but unfortunately it had pretty much the same issues.
To their credit we could leave the establishment without paying any cancellation fee.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank msgtoelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

We appreciate your feedback and apologise that the hotel was not up to our usual standard. As discussed with you at the time, we had just completed a full refurbishment of the hotel lobby and the dust created from this project was worse than anticipated. I do apologise that the rooms you were given had not been checked prior to your arrival. This error was simply not good enough and I have spoken to Housekeeping regarding this issue.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 473 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

The westplaza has probably seen better days but overall I would say it is a pretty good place to stay for business. The staff were always pleasant and that is a big thing. There are two things I did not like. I stayed a week and found that my room rate varied up and down for the same room and whether breakfast was included varied too. They clearly leapt on the charge people more when rooms were at a premium in the city! This is not good enough as I only found out one day going down to breakfast that I had to pay for it. How is one supposed to budget. And with regard to breakfast the dining space is too small and the breakfast below par. It was the same old fare, no variation, the fruit tasted a little off, and when the hotel was full the lack of space was very apparent as was the lack of table staff as they struggled to clear tables. And one young man clearly hated his job - smiles would not hurt.Lastly, I stayed in two separate rooms as I went back after a weekend. the first room was for hobbits - if I had leapt in the air I would have smacked my head on the beams ... very pokey indeed for the money it was costing.

Room Tip: Try not to have a front facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPeeps16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Thanks for your comments it’s always good to receive feedback as it helps us be better at what we do. We are currently undergoing a complete refurbishment of the restaurant and lobby area which we intend to have completed mid February 2014.This will hopefully solve the space issue,and will result in an improvement in the food and beverage offering.With regard to our pricing policy , our supply and demand price points are similar to most other service industry suppliers. I do apologise that your breakfast inclusions were not as clear as they should have been and will speak to the front office staff about this. Once again thank for your comments.

Julie Wilcock GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Location is good but the design of this hotel seems to leave most rooms with very unpleasant outlooks. Mine was a view of a multi storey carpark which was uninspiring. Especially as at 6am a large bulldozer grunted it's way along the lane between hotel and carpark very loudly. It woke me up and I'm sure the staff must have known these works were going on. Why put clients in these rooms when there were plenty of others better situated? Reception staff were okay but not very professional in their manner. I don't think they want to go out of their way to be overly helpful. Room was nice and clean but you would only want to be there to sleep, as mentioned above the outlook was depressing. Limited number of TV channels. No internet, you have to go down the road to a backpackers to use theirs, only $4 per hour. But the hotel should have computer access. Probably won't stay there again. Luckily it was only one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the road otherwise you may be very disappointed. I put average for the room, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwikid0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thanks for your comments. We do communicate with the council on all roadwork’s in our area and have an agreement that no works start until after 9am. Unfortunately the noise that woke you was out of our control. Like most other mid-range inner city Hotels our views are limited to central city buildings. Unfortunately we don’t provide a guest kiosk computer in the foyer as most guests now have their own devices for internet use, we do however have a facility at our sister property situated right next door they provide over 10 computers for guest use. I will certainly pass your comments on the reception team as they will help us to be better.

Many Thanks

Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Quite disappointed by there lack of understanding after a genuine confusion on dates. We're very pleased to charge my card after a sincere email apologising and wishing to rebook for the following week. As a returning customer I thought they would appreciate my custom again but obviously felt that money was more important than keeping their customers happy.
I would not go here again as their returning customers are obviously not a priority

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Hi Hannah,
I am sorry you feel disappointed. You made a booking for one night for which you did not arrive, you then sent an email at 9am the next morning to advise you had made an error and you would not be using the room. Unfortunately this meant we were left with your unsold room. Our cancellation policy is clearly stated on your confirmation. While we are flexible with this as we explained to you if we had been able to resell your room no charge would have been made. However as the reservation was not cancelled or modified the cancellation fee was applied.
It is normal practise in industries such as airlines and hotels that if you make a booking and do not show a refund is not given. I am sorry that you are unable to understand the circumstances pertaining to this fee, but do appreciate you posting this comment so other travellers can learn from this experience.

Regards,

Julie Wilcock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is opposite the Information Centre in Wellington as is also in walking distance to the Museum, Civic Centre and Lambton Quay where you can go on the cable car. The hotel staff were very helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was not lavish, but quite adequate with both hot and cold selections. Waiters were attentive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolyn545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Was only able to stay at this location one night, as we had an overnight tour to Martinborough the next day and the hotel was not available on our return to Wellington for two more nights.

What a great experience this was. Front desk staff are well trained and attentive to all your needs. Our group of four were able to leave our main luggage here during our overnight trip to Martinborough even though we weren't staying at the hotel on our return as it was not available for those additional two nights. Very accommodating. This was enough to endear the hotel to us for any return trip to Wellington, but it didn't stop there.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, all the staff in the hotel are friendly and ask if they can help. There is a nice bar / lounge area on the main floor with beverages very reasonably priced.
There is an on-site open space restaurant that doesn't look like much, but what a find! The food was top notch as well as the wine list and service (One of the check-in staff doubling as a waitress). Pricing was very reasonable considering its location in downtown Wellington. Having researched restaurants in that area, our meal at the hotel would have cost an extra 30% if we had eaten outside the hotel.

Hotel is centrally located and close to many of the city cultural attractions, train station and cruise terminal.

Room Tip: Early reservations should ensure you obtain a room at a very reasonable price. Packages deals are av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for three nights on business in September. Best feature is the location. Easy walking distance to Lambton Quay and other shopping, restaurants and the waterfront. The lobby is nice, feels bright and clean. My room was clean and a good size but felt a bit dated. Bathroom could definitely use an update. Staff were very friendly and helpful. They offered a package rate for the wifi for three days, this was a nice touch as I found wifi access to be limited and quite expensive elsewhere.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank CrowFlyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
Park Hotel Lambton Quay
#20 of 47 in Wellington
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Plaza Hotel
Bay Plaza Hotel
#39 of 47 in Wellington
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Address: 110 Wakefield Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $81 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing