We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Would not stay here again. Would only class hotel as 2-3 star. Def. not 4 star as advertised. Would say that in all my years working in the travel industry, for the price paid NZD140, this would have to be one of the worst rooms I've ever stayed in. Very old, out-dated room. No air con so had to open windows but because the wind was blowing too noisy to keep windows open which made room very hot. Very small old fashion TV with only 2 channels working however both channels had heaps of static so unable to watch either. Bed uncomfortable and bath room very out-dated and in need of a good clean. Sorry to say but the only good thing about this hotel is it's location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitchieinauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
It is a shame that your opinion of our accommodation was not what you would have liked. We are a popular mid range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington city.
As you can see from our many positive reviews we do not try to be anything more than a good value central hotel with great service.

Thanks

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    208
    133
    24
    21
See reviews for
53
168
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great hotel overall, close to everything. Lobby very beige, bland and dark though, where the 80's went to die. Bed was lovely and soft as were sheets, black out curtains, although newspaper I ordered didn't show up 2 days in a row and when I checked out this morning receptionist made a mistake and charged us for 1 night only - then they rang us asking to contact them to get the rest of the money! Most confusing arrangement. At no time was an apology give, nor a receipt issued for the $24 she DID charge me this morning. Would stay again though, good value for money although reception staff could do with a rev up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Costa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thanks for your comments we appreciate your feedback.
We agree your dealings with reception do sound confusing . We would appreciate it if you could contact us with more details so we can make changes and learn from this experience.

Please email assistantmanager@westplaza.co.nz if you are able to.
Our reception staff are a vital part of the guest experience and your comments will help to develop this area.

Many Thanks

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed only for a night and was very happy about everything. Staff is very friendly, polite and helpful. Makes you feel welcome and comfortable. The room is good size, has everything you need, very clean and has good heating system. The view from the window was not impressive, but did not really influenced me. Great location, just in a center, but at the same time away from noise of night life.
There was opportunity to have late check out with no extra charge what made my stay even more pleasant. Breakfast buffet was ok - not huge, but filling enough. Could have more fresh fruits.
Overall great hotel with amazing room and wonderful staff. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likeanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments.
It’s always good for others to hear about our great little hotel in Wellington.

Regards

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
423 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this hotel and we found it good value for money purchased off Agoda. The room was a good size with a comfortable bed and good heating for the cold nights. The rooms are looking tired but they are very clean. Sound proofing between rooms isnt great but that would be our only gripe. Very good central city location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
284 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A one night stay for wifey and I. Can't comment too much, only needed a room for a night. We enjoyed a friendly and helpful reception, a comfy and modern room.. no view, but then we were paying the minimum so no worries.. all in all, good for what we needed, no worries, we'd stay again.. and have in the past..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean rooms, able to open windows to keep cool. Services were timely and great, staff were very helpful and kind. Excellent dinner, my wife had the lemon grass tuna and I had the ribeye fillet and I particularly liked the free tasting dishes served in the lounge during evening drinks. I really liked this place and I highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsbeaMsbea
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

we stayed at this hotel when we were attending some of the comedy fest shows. It is amazingly central to EVERYTHING. the rooms were older, understated, but clean and comfortable. we had a room with a balcony, bath etc. the staff were very nice and helpful right down to the lovely housekeeping staff member who directed us where to park and explained very well how to avoid WCC parking ticket. My husband said the room was a little noisy given the proximity to the entertainment part of Welly but I didn't notice. I would stay again. note it did seem to have quite a few older people in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsbeaMsbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks for your comments we appreciate the feedback.
Your comments will certainly help others to choose West Plaza Hotel when next in Wellington.

Regards

Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing