We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location -- not a good place to spend the night.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location -- not a good place to spend the night.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The title says it all. The hotel has an absolutely great location in Wellington, but is not a good place to spend a night. Our room was small, not particularly nice, without air conditioning, worn out linens -- and the beds were terrible. We spent two weeks in New Zealand (both north and south islands) and this was our worse night. Hotel beds in New Zealand were generally softer that we like, but this was beyond the pale. Breakfast as average at best and coffee or tea was hard to come by. The hotel charges a high price for wi-fi, but if you step outside the door you discover that downtown Wellington is a free wi-fi zone. It is an unsatisfying feeling to leave a hotel and feel that you were ripped off.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else. Wellington is a great city with lot of options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
It is a shame to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
Your preference for a harder bed could have been managed given the opportunity and we will certainly follow up your comments to make changes.
Our Wifi charges are below the majority of other Wellington city hotels.
We are a mid-range value for money property in heart of Wellington and our rooms are priced accordingly.

Regards

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    194
    128
    23
    19
See reviews for
50
160
33
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Whilst this hotel claimed to be able to supply me with a gluten-free breakfast prepared separately from its usual breakfast buffet, I had a serious allergic reaction shortly after I ate the eggs, tomatoes and mushroom dish they served me for breakfast. I suspect the meal was gluten contaminated during the preparation or handling processes as the ingredients should have been safe to eat.

Our room was reasonably large, but musty when we first arrived - as though it had been closed up for quite a while. The hotel is cheap and reasonable value for money if you just want to sleep overnight after a late arriving flight and check out the next morning (its 24-hour reception desk was the reason we chose it), but its decor is dated and I wouldn't recommend it for longer stays unless you are on a really tight budget.

Early in the morning, my sleep was interrupted as I could hear through the wall the loud TV being watched by the guests staying in the next room.

Overall, I would not stay at this hotel again, particularly in light of its breakfast.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the street as the noise of the nearby pub-goers makes its way through the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Your comments are important as they help us to make changes and be better.
I have spoken with the chef and restaurant manager who agree that this is timely reminder that training our staff is the key.
We are currently completing training and making changes in order to better provide for dietary requirements such as yours.

Regards

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

While our house is under renovations, we decided to book a night away from the mayhem and stay downtown in our own city. The weekend deal including the full breakfast at the West Plaza was certainly a very reasonable deal for the capital, so it was an easy decision to make. With breakfast taken care of, the idea of room service was a great way to enjoy the in-house movies. I can highly recommend the garlic and thyme wedges - outstanding, hand-cut and very, very tasty. I can see us popping in another time for a glass of wine in the bar and another bowl of wedges!

It was heaven enjoying a spotless bathroom and the mattress was obviously very new and extremely comfortable. The huge range of teas was a real treat as I am a big herb tea fan.

Breakfast hit the spot with a nice selection of fresh fruit, plus an extensive buffet option.

In all, we were looking for comfort and we got this plus more. The staff were charming and welcoming and it was just the break away we needed.

As a local, I could have chosen from a number of hotels, but this represented great value and ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We appreciate you making these comments. We are a mid-range value for money property in the heart of Wellington and it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your comments will help other travellers choose our hotel.

Many Thanks,

Julie Wilcock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

This hotel is basically opposite the Michael Fowler Centre, and is part of the lower CBD, just around the corner from Lower Cuba Street. There are lots of shops, bars, restaurants, liquor stores, convenience stores, theatres and pretty much everything you need, within walking distance. The hotel doesnt have an airport shuttle but the airport bus stops nearby.
Overall the hotel was in a clean and tidy state. The breakfast staff were attentive and friendly. The full buffet had a wide range of hot and cold food, and in my opinion, was worth it if you are a medium - large eater. The rooms were adequate but could have done with a Sky Watch book so you know whats on TV. Generally the hotel was in good shape.
However the ceilings are low and the rooms feel a bit claustrophobic. Room service trays litter the narrow corridors for most of each day.We also found the front desk (reception) staff lacking. We were served by at least three different people when we were staying, and they were all the same - unenthusiastic, disinterested, and not overly helpful. While they all did their job to adequate levels, after travelling the world and staying in a variety of comfort levels on a variety of budgets, we were just surprised more than anything. We also needed to stay an extra night due to a last minute change in plans but they didnt honour the late checkout we had paid extra for. Considering they were already getting an extra nights tariff from us and the hotel wasnt full, we probably expected too much, but with the late check out thing combined with the overall lack of interest from the reception staff, we didnt really feel like valued customers. We would be unlikely to return for this reason, as there are plenty of other similar competitive hotels in the area.
While our stay was good, it wasnt quite good enough for us to want to come back, so we will try somewhere else next time.
Thanks anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CouchPotatoCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thanks for your comments we appreciate them. They help us to be better.
I have followed up your concerns this morning and spoken with the staff involved.
I am sorry that our service was not up to our usual standards. As you will see from the many positive reviews on trip advisor this is definitely not our normal standard.

I have also passed on your comments regarding the room service trays so we can make changes and have these collected more frequently.
Your detailed review also highlights some of the many positive aspects of the West Plaza Hotel including our location and the breakfast and it’s good to hear that you enjoyed both of these.

Regards

Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price we found the hotel good value, clean and staff attentive especially the house mistress [Lil].Rooms were very quiet but were lacking in cupboard space. It was very central on Wakefield Street and within easy walking to shopping and business areas. Only gripe although very nice was the price charged for breakfast. We went to the little restaurant on the next corner for half the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank empirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about the West Plaza Hotel.
It is always good to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay.


Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just a one night stay while on business, haven't stayed here for a while. Well located in the city, near to cafe's, shops and a short walk to Lambton Quay.
A warm welcome and efficient check in process. My room wasn't ready so they changed things around meaning no wait at all
A little tired in places but rooms clean and comfortable.
Good service in the restaurant; friendly and attentive staff
Would stay again, the staff made it an enjoyable experience

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback about the West Plaza Hotel .

We appreciate that you took the time to leave it. It will certainly help other travellers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington.

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel is in a superb location, very central. It is good value, a little dated in some parts but clean, well appointed and friendly staff.
I stayed in the midst of some brilliant hot Wellington weather. Room was on the 3rd floor overlooking Wakefield St with a wee balcony. No aircon in the room and sunny meant it was warm, and a bit noisy when the windows and balcony door were open. But to have such a central location you have to put up with a bit of city noise.
Staff were excellent and happy to store my bag after checkout.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
0.4 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Wellington, Century City Hotel
0.4 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing