We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #19 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

For the price we found the hotel good value, clean and staff attentive especially the house mistress [Lil].Rooms were very quiet but were lacking in cupboard space. It was very central on Wakefield Street and within easy walking to shopping and business areas. Only gripe although very nice was the price charged for breakfast. We went to the little restaurant on the next corner for half the price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank empirestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive comments about the West Plaza Hotel.
It is always good to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay.


Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    201
    132
    24
    20
See reviews for
51
166
34
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Just a one night stay while on business, haven't stayed here for a while. Well located in the city, near to cafe's, shops and a short walk to Lambton Quay.
A warm welcome and efficient check in process. My room wasn't ready so they changed things around meaning no wait at all
A little tired in places but rooms clean and comfortable.
Good service in the restaurant; friendly and attentive staff
Would stay again, the staff made it an enjoyable experience

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive feedback about the West Plaza Hotel .

We appreciate that you took the time to leave it. It will certainly help other travellers choose our mid-range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington.

Julie Wilcock,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Hotel is in a superb location, very central. It is good value, a little dated in some parts but clean, well appointed and friendly staff.
I stayed in the midst of some brilliant hot Wellington weather. Room was on the 3rd floor overlooking Wakefield St with a wee balcony. No aircon in the room and sunny meant it was warm, and a bit noisy when the windows and balcony door were open. But to have such a central location you have to put up with a bit of city noise.
Staff were excellent and happy to store my bag after checkout.
I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitiawan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel which is very close to the waterfront. The room was very clean and
spacious with cable TV, coffee/tea maker and attached spotless bathroom with shower. Staff was very friendly to answer your query.
It is very convenient to take a bus from the airport to West Plaza Hotel. Just take the exit at the baggage claim area and turn right. The airport stop is just outside the right side of the exit. Airport bus known as Valley Flyer from the airport stops at Manners Street, just a street behind the hotel's Wakefield St. When you get down from the bus, take the lane (Cuba Street) on the right and walk 50 m. to Wakefield St.and then turn left. The hotel is 10 m away. The bus fare is only NZ$9.00. Very convenient indeed!

Room Tip: Choose 4th or 5th floor at the back of the hotel - quieter with fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterling1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Have just spent 3 nights at the West Plaza Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We picked this hotel for the price and the location. Very central to everything so you can just park your car and walk everywhere. The hotel room was great. Very tidy, clean and a good shower. Bed was comfortable as well. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Will stay here again :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blondy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
241 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

West Plaza Hotel, which was booked for us by others, is a large commercial hotel in the central area opposite the town hall and close to (but not on) the waterfront. Our spacious one-bedroom suite had a large living room with fridge and tea/coffee making facilities, and a separate bedroom and ensuite bathroom with shower. The room had no view (we overlooked a multi-storey carpark) but was clean and comfortable. However, it was annoying to have to pay for internet access ($15 for overnight), when many places now provide Wifi free of charge, and at breakfast - which is charged for separately - cappuccinos also cost $4 extra, which seems excessive. Service was friendly and efficient, though inevitably rather impersonal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your comments. We are a mid-range value for money property in the heart of Wellington City. Our charges for Wifi and coffee are in line with many of our industry partners throughout the country. Our breakfast includes free filter coffee or tea which is bottomless.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the cleanliness of the hotel it good to hear positive feedback.

Regards

Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a hotel located in CBD of Wellington. The location is perfect, wish we could say the same for the hotel.

The rooms are small and dated. The furniture is old and cheap. The room had a single bed push under a window and the double was nearly touching the wall. There is no air-conditioning, the temperature was 31c. The hotel had no fans which worked. The hotel did provide a fan on our second day.

Tea and coffee making facilities, an iron, and a small fridge are provided, but no in room safe. Free safety deposit is available at reception.

The bathroom is dated with little room for you to put essentials. It was not too clean on our arrival. The toilet and shower are in the same area so if you shower you can't use the loo after without getting your feet wet. The hotel provided one tiny 10 ml bottle of shower gel per two guests.

The hotel has Wifi, there is a charge for this service, our experience was the service was reliable. Many restaurants and cafes have free Wifi just ask and they will give you the password. Also Wellington CBD has free Wifi in the town centre, this however is very slow. The National Museum has free Wifi which is a good speed. Entry to the museum is free.

The one morning on a 42 day trip we got to have a morning in bed and the hotel gave the whole group of 40 a morning wake up call at 05:45. They apologised for the mistake and gave us a free drink in the bar, the general manager also wrote to affected guests.

The breakfast service and food was a good standard with a full choice of continental or full breakfast. We had dinner one evening in the hotel restaurant the service was slow but they did advise us in advance as they were busy. The food was very good.

All in, not the best of hotels in Australasia.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We appreciate your feedback - it helps us to be better in future.

Regards

Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wellington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.4 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
0.3 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.6 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#8 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing