We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of West Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
West Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Hotel a little dated but comfortable. Very central so great for getting around Wellington. Was facilitating an event for work and food provided was lovely with great vegetarian options. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angusgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thanks for the comments - we appreciate them. We are a mid- range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington and your review helps other travellers choose West Plaza in the future.

Regards
Julie Wilcock, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    208
    133
    24
    21
See reviews for
53
168
34
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hawke's Bay
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great location, friendly efficient staff, warm reception, large comfortable room.
Enjoyed a stay in a middle of the road hotel, so felt at home coming and going. No internet booth but a very cheap one two doors (20meters) down the road with coffee on tap. Conferrence over the road at the Town Hall, and all attractions close by. Good value, but don't expect the Ritz, just enjoy. Also room had windows that opened, very quiet at night.

Room Tip: I had a room right on the corner overlooking the street, it was quiet at night, but interesting watc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ordinarykiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Your comments are much appreciated! We market ourselves as a mid - range value for money hotel in the heart of Wellington and you have summed us up perfectly. Your comments will help others choose our hotel in future.

Many Thanks
Julie Wilcock, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Tacked on a couple of days after a business trip to Wellington. This hotel is in a great location, close to all attractions in the main CBD . Nicely placed close to Lambton Quay, Cuba Mall , Manners Mall and Courtney place.
The rooms are clean, spacious , maybe a little tired but was good value for money. The staff in the hotel and the bar were excellent, friendly, cheerful and helpful. Dropping off bags early , leaving bags until needed later after check out....nothing was a problem.
Being a cold night we opted to stay at the hotel and watch the AllBlacks v Irish game in the house bar.
Happy hour and a few free nibbles went down a treat. We could order anything from the restaurant or bar snacks menu and it was delivered shortly afterwards with a smile and delish!
There was a bit of noise from the bar next door to the hotel premises but hey it was a fri and Sat night ...to be expected and it did not go on for hours.
If you are looking for a well located , value for money hotel , don't go past this one.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the back and you may not hear the bar next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thanks for your comments, we appreciate them. We are a value for money mid range property in the heart of Wellington. We hope to see you again at the West Plaza Hotel.

Julie Wilcock, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Comfortable, very quiet hotel located in the centre of the city and close to major attractions. Pleasant decor, spacious rooms - the only downside is having to pay for Internet access, which I did not expect in a modern hotel of this calibre.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cruzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks for your comments; we are currently in the process of offering packages that include internet, these will be available on our own website. We appreciate your feedback as it helps others choose our mid-range value for money accommodation in the heart of Wellington.

Kind Regards
Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is a big hotel but it is central which is a big advantage. Rooms are rather small but then they are only for sleeping in. Separator doors make it feel dormitory like. It was pretty quiet. There is parking but as usual very tight. Staff were helpful. Not very exciting but adequate for needs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leif L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thanks for your comments; we are a mid- range value for money property in the heart of Wellington, NZ and your comments help other travellers choose our propety when looking for this type of accommodation in Wellington city.

Regards,
Julie Wilcock, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great stay at this hotel for 3 nights in early December 2011. It is right in central Wellington, opposite the Council Chambers and Wellington Town Hall. You can stroll along to the Te Papa Museum during the day then at night after dinner at one of the many eateries around the place, you can walk along the harbourside, looking at all the artistic creations along the shore, sculptures galore! We booked a Gray Line Tour of Wellington and the pick up spot was right across the street outside the Council Chambers. The Hotel is very comfortable, roomy, clean with all modern amenities. My only moot point was the charge for the internet access. However, the reception staff were very friendly and gave us good pointers especially the right taxi fare to the airport and where to dine. We wanted to dine Indian/Indian sub-continent and also Lebanese - were pleasantly surprised and very pleased with the recommended restaurants.

Room Tip: Stayed at the top south eastern part of the hotel, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Touhuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestPlazaNZ, General Manager at West Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We agree the West Plaza is a great location to get the best out of Wellington. It's also nice to be able to pass your comments onto staff working at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the West Plaza Hotel soon.

Regards
Julie Wilcock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
301 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Checked in: 16 May 2012 Location is good, all we need is walk. Staffs are friendly, great breakfast. There's only one spot offering free wifi internet: hotel's cafe / bar. We must pay if we want to connect from our room. The minus point: too much (4) separator doors from lift to the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexSantosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Mercure Wellington Central City Apartments
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,568 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Mercure Wellington Abel Tasman Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Plaza Hotel

Property: West Plaza Hotel
Address: 110 Wakefield St, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — West Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Wellington city opposite the Town Hall and Convention Centre; West Plaza Hotel offers a welcoming friendly atmosphere with 102 spacious and comfortable rooms. A short drive from the airport and ferry terminals and just a short walk to the national Museum Te Papa, the waterfront and the best shops, restaurants and entertainment the capital has to offer. Providing everything required to make your stay a comfortable and relaxed experience. Facilities include on-site car parking, 24 hour room service, flat rate wireless broadband access, tea/coffee making facilities, Sky TV and much more. Choose from 102 rooms - a combination of twins and doubles, including 6 suites.With large windows looking out to the hustle and bustle of the city. City Dining & Bar offers fresh New Zealand cuisine and a selection of boutique New Zealand wines.Choose from four versatile conference rooms; full catering, audio- visual equipment and presentation facilities are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your West Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Plaza Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing