We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,414)
Filter reviews
2,414 results
Traveler rating
548
1,151
543
123
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
548
1,151
543
123
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location featherston street central location cable car two double beds free wifi te papa railway station tsb arena airport bus buffet breakfast would stay again easy walk short stay reception staff new zealand stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
2,173 - 2,178 of 2,414 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The Ibis Wellington is in a good location - within walking distance of many of the attractions around the city. The rooms are a good sixe, but are looking tired and out of date. However, the bathrooms look like they have had a makeover. We bought the room and breakfast deal and the variety of choices and quality of the food was good. The same can't be said for the restarant for dinner where the service was slow, food average and prices high. The staff at reception were polite and helpful. Overall, the hotel didn't quite meet our expectations, so we would probably choose to stay somewhere else next time we are in Wellington.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank station
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear station,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Wellington however I am surprised to read your comments about the hotel looking tired and out of date as the entire hotel rooms were fully refurbished in 2009 with everything in the rooms replaced and the bathrooms were only re-painted. Thank you also for your comments regarding the quality and service of the food and beverage at the hotel, I will pass on your comments to my Food and Beverage Manage to follow up with me directly and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

Date of stay: December 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

No problem with this one but checking in all the details on the form were wrong except the phone number - where they got the info from who can tell.

Date of stay: November 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pioneer274195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

Dear Accorhotels.com traveller,

Thank you for your feedback, without being able to access your data I can only assume that the details on your registration card were that of the agent that made the booking and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Paid NZ$89 for a standard twin room, which I felt was well worth it considering the good location. You're right in the middle of the city and within close walking distance to the major shopping thoroughfares, Te Papa Museum and the Parliament (Beehive). The room was newly renovated, TV with a fair selection of channels and I liked the iron and ironing board provided, which was a nice additional touch not usually seen in most hotels.

Only drawback is that it's a little bit far from the dining/nightlife areas of Courtenay Place/Cuba St/Dixon St, but as with most other places in New Zealand, Wellington is fairly safe even while walking at night.

Would not mind staying here again if I return for another visit.

Date of stay: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2010

ayjk,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Wellington. I am pleased you were able to secure a good price from one of our recent sales and you enjoyed the close proximity to everything Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews