We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the location”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great value for the location”
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Paid NZ$89 for a standard twin room, which I felt was well worth it considering the good location. You're right in the middle of the city and within close walking distance to the major shopping thoroughfares, Te Papa Museum and the Parliament (Beehive). The room was newly renovated, TV with a fair selection of channels and I liked the iron and ironing board provided, which was a nice additional touch not usually seen in most hotels.

Only drawback is that it's a little bit far from the dining/nightlife areas of Courtenay Place/Cuba St/Dixon St, but as with most other places in New Zealand, Wellington is fairly safe even while walking at night.

Would not mind staying here again if I return for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
ayjk,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Wellington. I am pleased you were able to secure a good price from one of our recent sales and you enjoyed the close proximity to everything Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit.

Kind regards

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    1,009
    485
    105
    44
See reviews for
384
825
229
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ulsan, South Korea
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Ibis did the job for us for a recent trip to Wellington. All key points in the city accessible by foot. The hotel is pretty reasonable for the location, is clean and well attended. Staff were frienldy and very helpful - requested a cot at the last minute and it was brought up and prepared straight away, including a baby duvet and pillow - great standard compared to others where only a bare cot is provided.

Only real downside of the hotel was the fact that internet was chargeable in the rooms, and there is no free parking near by, however given it's location, that's probably not unreasonable for this sort of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yonguk_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 9, 2010
Yonguk_traveller,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the service you received during your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel as well as the assistance provided by my staff with your requirement of a cot on short notice. Thank you also for your comments regarding the internet provided at the hotel, this is something we have to unfortunately charge for and due to our central location within the city free car parking is also not available at all times.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We love the Ibis chain in Europe for the simplicity and ease of staying. Wellington was no exception, and in fact, as a staff member explained, the New Zealand Ibis are rated more like 3 and a half star in comparison to European ones at 2 and a half.
Check in was friendly and swift. We were given a room on the first floor which we found had been over-sanitized! (probably to combat some illicit smoking or some such, we wondered? Anyway, the smell was awful, so we immediately asked for a new, non-smelly room, and were instantly transferred to a room on the top floor. That one smelt normal and pleasant.
The Ibis has all that we needed - comfortable beds, large space, cleanliness etc. We feel we don't pay for fripperies we don't need. There are some extras, such as complimentary papers if desired. The location in downtown Wellington was perfect for us, and our room was very quiet.
So - a very happy stay and we would return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZChurchmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
NZChurchmouse,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, I am disappointed that your initial room had a chemical smell and I will be passing on your comments to my Executive Housekeeper to follow up with the housekeeper in charge of this floor, however I am pleased that an alternative room was found for you so quickly. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the beds and cleanliness of the hotel. The Ibis brand is designed so that you don’t pay for services that you don’t need and I am glad that you have seen the benefit of this at Ibis Wellington.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed at the Ibis for 5 nights as it was near the Westpac Stadium but apart from that it is in an excellent location. The rooms are very comfy and clean although not too big. As it was very cold we had the heating on most of the time and this made the room very cosy. Breakfast was included in our package and it was excellent we also ate in the restaurant at night and the food was really good only compaint was it was quite cold in there but it could have been us as I'm easily cold. If we should ever pass this way again we would definately stay at the Ibis. Also a must is a visit to Le Tapa Museum we spent a full day in there as there is so much to see and all of it really interesting. One final thing, The New Zealand people are very very warm and friendly people and the country may have been cold but the people certainly wern't.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chickalaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
YvonneEngland,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback regarding the Ibis Hotel as well as peoples experiences with Wellington which has just been voted the “Best little Capital in the World” according to the Lonely Planet Guide. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and were able to experience our sumptuous buffet as well as food from our award winning chef in the restaurant in the evening. I must correct you as the National Museum is called Te Papa and I agree that it is a fantastic museum that you cannot see in one day. Currently there is an exhibition showing called the “European Masters” which is an exhibition that brings together a remarkable collection of masterpieces from the Städel Museum in Frankfurt, one of the finest collections in Europe and is currently sponsored by Accor. I am also glad that you enjoyed the service provided by my staff as well as other New Zealand people you came in contact with and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2010

In good location - handy to areas - trains buses taxis

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeCeeTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing