We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ripoff”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Canterbury
1 review
“Ripoff”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

Good location - but felt very ripped off with all the extra charges - ie internet $33, very basic breakfast - very venue - could not find a seat - $20

Will not go back - there are alot better places in Wellington

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConsultantCanterbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 15, 2009
ConsultantCanterbury,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Ibis Wellington. I am disappointed that you did not find the hotel to be value for money. I appreciate your comments made about Internet costs; we are currently working with our Internet provider to reduce the cost of the internet as we understand how important that is for our customers. I am also sorry you found the fully cooked breakfast buffet to be of poor value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    1,018
    486
    105
    44
See reviews for
389
827
231
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mangawhai Northland
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2009

My sister and I arrived later than expected on the Overlander so were rather tired on arrival, but we received a very warm welcome. We were pleased to see the hotel provided a 24 hr bar and food service, so we enjoyed a drink and a light meal. Our twin room had 2 queen beds (better than the expected singles!) and had recently been refurbished. Thoroughly deserving of its 3.5 star Qualmark rating. We only had a day in Wellington before flying home, but the Ibis is so centrally located we were able to walk just about everywhere we wanted to go: Te Papa, Art Gallery, Parliament, Cuba Street shops etc. Would certainly stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Ollie078, thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay at Ibis Wellington. I am glad that you enjoyed our recent refurbishment of the guest rooms and acknowledge our 3.5 star rating which coincidentally was re-issued to the hotel 2 weeks ago. The hotel is centrally located to everything in Wellington and it looks like you took full advantage of this during your stay. Thank you also for the recommendation to others.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Three of us stayed here 2 nights while in Wellington. We arrived in Wellington at about 8am on a Sunday morning and were allowed to check-in immediately (contacted the Ibis prior to arrival). While the room was very small, it is only one of the few affordable hotels that I could find in Wellington that would allow 3 people to stay in the same room. Also, we took advantage of an internet special and the room was practically a steal. I can't say enough about how helpful the staff was. Also, my friend left behind a pair of earrings and wasn't able to contact the Ibis until about 10 days after our stay. They had kept the earrings and then after she contacted them, mailed them to her!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddog06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
maddog06, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that we were able to check you into the hotel upon your arrival and that you enjoyed one of our special rates. Thank you also for your fantastic comments about the staff at the hotel and that they were able to assist one of your friends in locating the earrings as well as sending them to you. At Ibis we pride ourselves on delivering great service at an affordable price and I am pleased that you were able to experience this.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We stayed at the Ibis for one night, and were disapointed. We found the room to be VERY small and pokey, and the bathroom was hardly big enough to turn around in, and had a view from our window into a brick wall.

Admittedly we did stay in the cheapest twin room available, so not sure what the other rooms were like. The staff was not particularly friendly (thought not unfriendly).

About the only upside I see from the hotel was the location.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MustDoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
Sventhor, I am upset that you were not happy with your recent stay with us. Without knowing what room you were in I cannot comment on the room size as our rooms do range in size depending on what bedding configuration you require. Thank you also for letting me know about the service by my staff at the hotel, I will pass your comments onto them.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed two nights in this hotel on our way to catch a ferry to g to Picton. This hotel is right in the middle of a busy street, walking distance to the entrance to the Wellington Cable Car, and the Queen's wharf. It's a busy street, shopping being the key activity there. Shops close early, though. There are plenty of eatouts nearby, including an Indian restaurant, for those who miss that type of food down under. The hotel itself is nothing extraordinary. You can't find any fault either.. Rooms are okay, recently refurbished with new fittings and wood. Can't complain. As is with many rooms in NZ, the bathroom door doesn't have a lock, so beware. One of the hotel staff cleaning the room tried opening the door despite telling her!!!! Gawd! Has launddry facility on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANANDKMOORTHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 29, 2009
ANANDKMOORTHY, thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the recently refurbished rooms. We do not have locks on our bathroom doors for safety reasons however I apologise that one of my housekeepers did not hear that you were in the bathroom and nearly walked in on you.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkintilloch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stopped here whilst touring the country. Found the staff welcoming at check-in, and friendly at breakfast. The room was comfortable (perhaps lacking in character).
Location wise; the hotel is perfect for the local attractions of the Cable-Car museum and Botanical Gardens in one direction, and the magnificent Te Papa museum in the other.
All in all - a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2009
Helpful?
Thank Stewable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 15, 2009
Stewable,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Ibis Wellington. I am glad that you found the location of the property to be perfect for you and I appreciated your comments about the service that you received during your stay, I will personally pass your comments onto my staff.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2009

This Ibis has a great location, in the city center, with a lot of restaurants in the same street and walking distance to the tourist sites. The room is very clean and the staff is very helpful. There is a happy hour at the hotel with beer at nice price. The guest laundry is good and cheap. Definetly I will stay there in my next time in Wellington. Suggestion: if you have the Ibis fidelity card tell them at the reception, because they will not ask you about this.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2009
Alexanderweb,

What a pleasure it is to receive such fantastic comments from you regarding your recent stay at Ibis Wellington. I am happy that you found the room to be very clean and that you took advantage of the facilities that we have on offer. I am also glad that you enjoyed the hotel’s close proximity to all tourist sites in Wellington as well as the cafes and restaurants. Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing