We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central to Everywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wallacetown
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Central to Everywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for the weekend. Was so central to everywhere we wanted to go. Room clean and staff very friendly. Only had breakfast in the restaurant which was all good. Didn't like the jars of jam, marmite and peanut butter sitting at the toaster. Looked tacky and probably not very hygienic so avoided them

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate your thoughts on the jams and spreads we offer at breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    991
    472
    104
    43
See reviews for
376
815
224
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
296 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

Well located in CBD with CBD free wifi in the lobby. Parking is very limited so you need to book in advance at a cost of 25 dollars per day. Staff friendly and efficient. Bar and restaurant located off the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for posting your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I paid $159.00 per night for two nights stay. I had come to wellington for a conference. I was shoved into a disabled room for my two nights queen room stay. The bathroom was set up for disabled with an extremely slippery lino floor. The only modern thing in the room was the tv. Everything about this hotel yelled "cheap" and dated but it did not reflect in the price. I was expecting 4 star luxury and was sadly disappointed. Even the complimentary tea and coffee were cheap imported, not New Zealand. I had to go purchase my own tea. Don't stay here if you want luxury. I never will again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to post feedback following your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your thoughts as we are committed to providing a great value experience in an excellent location, with friendly and efficient service. Your feedback will help us as we continuously strive to maintain that goal. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Ibis is a clean, modern and spacious high-rise hotel. It is located only two blocks from the waterfront, and about 6 blocks from Te Papa--the national museum, and is also walking distance from the botanic gardens and Parliament buildings. It sports a restaurant/bar that draws locals, and our first night they featured 2 for 1 drinks and jazz. Its restaurants are pricey, and we did not use them, but found better options close by. Other than some price confusion during the two-for-one drinks, we experienced good customer service, and certainly the room was all we could ask for in size, good linens, and amenities. The front desk even located a Catholic Church for us. On our check out day, we could easily walk to the Bluebridge Ferry.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Ibis feels as though it has had a recent makeover (I didn't check) as everything has a modern, clean feel. Check in and out was smooth and quick, even though both were at peak times, the lifts had a security feature (use room card to operate) so it felt safe, the evening meal and breakfast were good, though not cheap.
There are plenty of eating places at all prices within an easy walk. The location is good for the shops, museums, harbourfront, cable car, Capital E, Michael Fowler Centre, Library, Art Gallery, TSB Arena and not too far from the Railway Station, Bluebridge Ferry and Westpac Stadium (easy walk). The 91 Airport Flyer bus is one block away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at ibis Wellington. Thank you for pointing out our proximity to major attractions in the 'best little Capital in the World'. We appreciated reading your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#2 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing