We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Wellington”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Write a Review

2,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    1,026
    489
    105
    44
See reviews for
395
835
231
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Russell, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is not easy to find affordable yet central and good accommodation in Wellington during events such as the WOW show - and I have had some not so good experiences with some less expensive hotels - but this was a pleasant surprise.

The Ibis is only a stone throw away from either Lambton Quay, the Waterfront or indeed Parliament (which would make it a good business hotel I would imagine). We where there on a Sunday night - in Wellington this usually means cheaper rates than during the week (unlike most other cities where the weekends are more expensive).

We arrived very early - well before people had checked out so we where happy that they let us store our bags until check in time (although I think most hotels offer this service anyway). When we did get to our room it was small but perfect for just one night stay. Very quiet (given we where right in town) and exceptionally clean - something I have commented in the negative at another hotel in town before...

We booked a rate that gave us also a $20 hotel credit - which we spend in the bar downstairs - that one possibly could do with a makeover to make it more comfortable - and improve the wine/beer list but since there are plenty of restaurants, pubs and bars around in Wellington this is not a big thing for us.

Overall a great hotel for a great price and I would definitely stay there again if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciated your comments, including your thoughts and suggestions on our bar area. I hope you enjoyed 'WOW'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here in September. Found the rooms to be clean and staff very friendly. Id say value for money. Location is a wee walk into Courtney Place but lots of shopping along the way. A good walk to Te Papa. Didn't use the restaurant but others in my group did and said the breakfast was value for money. Nice open area next to reception overlooking the street. Staff were prompt with any issues.View from the room was of an office block. Would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quaketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding Ibis Wellington. We were pleased to read that you would stay with us again if given the opportunity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed two nights recently and as usual found Ibis to be excellent value. A small but adequate room with twin double beds with "pillow choice" ...a most compact but again adequate ensuite with great hot shower. The ubiquitous flat screen TV but why any one would want to watch TV in NZ is astonishing, given what the various stations offer ??
The cleanliness of the room was excellent and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the friendly staff .
Ibis was well located and only a short walk to most CBD attractions.
Parking is a problem in Wellington and our booking for parking at the hotel was "mislaid" however a park at a nearby hotel was offered and accepted for the Saturday and a park was provided for the second night. No problem.
I must however add that on Monday the day for our departure all flights were cancelled into /out of Wellington due to amazingly bad weather and on booking for Monday evening I was quoted almost double our original daily rate . I guess it was a case of "supply and demand"? or perhaps "gotcha"
We have stayed now with Ibis several times and plan to do so again.

Room Tip: be sure to arrange your parking at the hotel and ALWAYS ask for email confirmation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saxafun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisWellington, Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments following your stay with us. We appreciate your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,865 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing