We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
surrey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for one night as we were passing through to get to the south island. The hotel is clean, rooms are pretty standard. The hotel is situated in the town centre, close to the marina, inter islander ferry and shops. WiFi is at a cost and there is no onsite parking. We also walked to the Westpac stadium, which was easily accessible. We had to use the multi storey opposite at a cost. Staff we pleasant enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hammerboot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear hammerboot,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington.

I am pleased that you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,
Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    1,019
    486
    105
    44
See reviews for
390
827
231
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Location is very central in Wellington with most inner city sights within easy walking distance from the Hotel.
The staff were very helpful on arrival but we had very little to do with them after that.
The paid in advance breakfast was well presented with a great deal of choice to be had. I would recommend that.
The room was adequate, but items like the shower could have been cleaner. Also, (possibly due to recent earthquakes), the wall plaster was cracked with some pieces on the floor.
One noticeable item was the lack of any information within the room. Normally hotels have dining and other information in a folder, but not here.
All in all a fair hotel that I will definitely return to if I'm back in Wellington.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank noway2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear noway2013,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Ibis Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Cathie
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

HI we spent 4 nights in the Ibis we found it great . Large rooms with good bathrooms, free internet , great city location all attractions in walking distance. Food in restaurant good and reasonably priced . No only complaint is car parking ,being charged to park in their carpark overnight was over the top.

Room Tip: check all booking agent can get good deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear 590davidy,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Wellington. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Ibis Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was very good for the price we paid (almost half of some of the other hotels). Clean rooms. The rooms are basic but beds are comfortable and the hotel is within walking distance of shops, bus stops and restaurants. Reception staff a bit laid back but still friendly. A very good choice for an overnight stay. We stayed in Wellington for 3 nights at three different hotels and this one rated no. 2 out of the 3.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Judith69,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am so pleased you enjoyed almost all aspects of your stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Was planning to book at the Ibis due to it location to the Ferry. Was going to book accommation plus parking but could not book parking. Emailed the hotel asking how one could book parking and received a reply on the number of spaces avaliable. Emailed again and never received a reply.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank William T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear WilliamT234

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Wellington. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Ibis Wellington
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Very easy to find this hotel, but for travellers with a car it is very difficult to find any parking, as only 17 hotel parks are available. Street parking is nigh impossible and the nearest carpark is a block away. Parking costs were exhorbitant. The staff were friendly and willing and the room was adequate, tidy and clean. Road traffic noise was minimal and the hotel was quiet through the night. Breakfast buffet provided was a very good selection and more than adequate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ChrisH1792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am sorry that there was a problem with the parking during your stay. I have taken your comments on board and will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
1,788 reviews
238 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 914 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Everything seems a bit overpriced in Wellington these days, so too the Ibis. But the hotel is perfectly adequate. Clean, decent-sized rooms, with comfortable beds and adequate amenities. TV rather small. One thing I didn't much appeciate is that they said that they would not change bed linens IF you placed their card on the bed. I purposefully wanted my linens changed and didn't place the card on the bed. Still, they didn't bother to change the linens for the three days I stayed (very economical for the hotel, but not very professional). I also really hate hotels like this one that gouge customers for more money by charging for wireless service (come on, guys, it doesn't really cost you anything to speak of, so why charge customers extra?).

Breakfast buffet quite good, with hot eggs, bacon, ham, beans, hash browns and the usual complement of fruits, breads, and yoghurt.....but also not cheap.

The best thing about the hotel is good location, close to offices, shops, restaurants, and pubs. Easy access to and from the airport, with a taxi stand right out front.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raintree_Thailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Raintree_Thailand,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I have taken your comments about the bed linen and internet costs on board and I will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,599 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,015 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing