We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel stay completed a great night in Wellington with my sister to see The Phantom of the Opera. Only a couple of things - Grab & go menu not too many choices for a late supper and no room service provided. And the remote of the TV probably needed new batteries as it was a little frustrating at a late hour to turn the TV off. But overall great service, and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank LWilson908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear LWilson908,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am sorry the remote was not working correctly and for any inconvenience this caused. I have also taken on board your comments regarding the variety of the Grab and go menu and will pass onto my Head Chef. We hope you enjoyed Phantom and that you will choose to stay with us on your next trip up to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    993
    472
    104
    43
See reviews for
378
815
224
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent city location. Clean comfortable good price. Greta for a short city break. Very helpful staff. Addition of menu for drinks and food to order in restaurant downstairs and take to room is a real bonus. Lovely to order a latte and take up to our room when we came in in the afternoon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 213Anonymous213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear 213Anonymous213,

I am so pleased to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I will pass on your comments regarding the service provided by my team as well as the variety of the Food and Beverage on offer and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights during June 2013.
I found the staff to be very helpful, the rooms very clean and presentable and the location great. Whilst we had a car we could walk to a lot of the attractions in and around the city, including Te Papa. I would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Global_Wanderers_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear oxoboxo,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly the cleanliness of the guest rooms as well as the service provided by my team. I will pass on your comments to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

I called before booking as i have 7 month old twins and wanted to ensure the services suited. The female i spoke to was very helpful and when i asked about noise she advised i would be put on a higher level to ensure quiet (i was then put on level 5). I was extremely pleased with the room and services provided. I will be strongly recommending to anyone visiting Wellington.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank thouminek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear thouminek,

Firstly, congratulations on your 7 month twins, you are amazing! I am pleased that my staff were able to make your stay incredibly smooth and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to my whole team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Great location, and that is probably all I can say was good this stay. I was there last year at the same time and experienced air conditioning issues in the room - thought a year later it would be fixed. My room was 2 singles made into a king (don't lay in the middle of the bed), The room was sooo hot and uncomfortable even when putting the air con to 15C. They have pick up room service - so basically order and pick up in billy cans. ordered a meal w/ desert and the desert was on the top layer of the "billy cans', thus the ice cream was totally melted before I even got it to my room, never mind after the meal when it looked like a brownie is milk. Ordered a steak 1 night and there was so much grizzle in the middle I could not cut thru it? A 50$ meal served in billy cans that you get a paper plate with?? Staff were "OK" but the air con never got fixed and the meals were very disappointing. After 4 nights I was exhausted and would NOT recommend the Ibis unless it is for just 1 or 2 nights.

Room Tip: Bring your own fan. Eat somewhere else. 1 or 2 nights max.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear TinaR412,

I am very disappointed to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington particularly the fact that you have had issues with your air conditioning on two consecutive stays. I have passed on your comments to my Chief Engineer to investigate and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. ibis hotels do not offer room service and instead offer a takeaway option called Grab it and Go which is served in Tiffins. I am sorry that this service and the quality of the steak did not meet your expectations and we hope to have any opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, Nz
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

All the hotel employees were great.
Room was fine except for the hard bed.
Great location in central Wellington and far better value and more personal attention than the Intercontinental along the road.
Great coffee bar next door - turn left out the main door.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SeaviewWhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us although I am sorry the bed did not meet your expectations. I will pass on your comments to all of my staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Good standard with regular visits to the Ibis. Prompt service on registration and departure.
Continental breakfasts are the norm for me and are generally adequate. However, I like the look of the full breakfast and shall sample this in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Heidsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Heidsiek,

Thank you for choosing ibis Wellington again as your accommodation provider in Wellington. I am glad that we continue to meet your standards and look forward to serving you a piping hot breakfast on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,484 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing