We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Clean rooms, great service, good food, very handing being in the central of town.

Expensive meals, off street parking at $25 per night is very expensive, no room service only pickups from the restaurant, room was very hot unable to cool down using aircon control.

I recommend this place to anyone wanting to spend the night with no vehicle.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can, they have a better view and are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Ron T,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly the cleanliness of the property and the service provided by my team. I will pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    985
    468
    103
    41
See reviews for
375
802
220
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked a flight with Air New Zealand 6th May to fly to Wellington, as a treat for my teenage daughter and myself. When we got to the airport soon after the weather made it impossible to fly.
We have checked and can fly for a year to use our tickets and not lose the money spent.
I contacted the hotel while still in the airport-- they offered us nothing NOTHING! I will never stay at another IBIS and have asked my Husband who travels to make sure he does the same.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 38rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear 38rosie,

Thank you once again for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. As you are aware I have since contacted directly and resolved this issue. I am sorry for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Spent the Weekend in Wellington for the Warriors game. The hotel was very busy the weekend we stayed but the staff handled the pressure with ease. All staff were friendly , attentive, courteous and helpful . Check in was quick and easy.
Our room was clean and tidy . Although the rooms at the Ibis hotels are not huge , we have always found them clean and quiet.
The hotel is a short walk from the railway Station and the Airport bus stops on block away.
Would stay again when next in Wellington

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigGNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear bigGNewZealand,

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the quietness of the rooms as well as the cleanliness and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I love staying at The Ibis when I visit Wellington as it is right in the city and close to the Railway Station and bus routes . It is easy to book online, either direct with the hotel or through Wotif or Travelbug. There are usually good rates on offer. Parking is available as an extra if you have a car. The rooms are clean and quiet and the beds comfortable. The shower is usually good but sometimes fluctuations in water temperature can be a bit of a nuisance. There is a nice reasonably priced buffet breakfast available in the Restaurant. I would like to see more than one staff member on duty at Reception at check-out time (which is a generous 11am) but the staff are friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear SharolynT,

I am so pleased that we have again met your expectations during your recent stay with us. I am sorry that there was an issue with your shower and I have passed your feedback onto my Chief Engineer. We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

The Ibis Wellington is the best location for a mid-price hotel in Wellington. The food is good, the service is great and you can walk to any meetings easily. Or talk a walk round the waterfront. Even though it's right in the middle of things it's extremely quiet and like all Ibis Hotels, it's super clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Cath H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear 756cathh,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the service provided by my team. I will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

easy to find. very good on checking in even though very busy. rooms great and breakfast at resturant was good value for money. would stay again. went to warriors game so a big crowd of supporters at hotel to. would come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 63hobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear 63hobbit,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased you enjoyed the rooms and value for money of the breakfast. I will pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel is located very close to the main streets of Wellington especially the cuba street. Ideal stay for very good rate. Rooms are comfortable. Parking is a little expensive but still ok as compared to parking on the road

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaykathuria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear sanjaykathuria,

I am glad that you enjoyed the hotels location to everything in Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing