We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mother/daughter weekend”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Mother/daughter weekend”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Suggest you book dinner in the restaurant. We didn't and found a tour bus had just arrived. We were offered a choice of dinner at 8.00pm or room service so opted for "room service". We were very surprised to learn we had to come down to pick up the food ourselves and take it back to our room. Not quite what I would call "room service". A small thing but disappointing. Otherwise proximity to venues and shopping is great, and staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank optimistic139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear optimistic139,

I am sorry that due to a large group we were not able to accommodate you in Vivant! restaurant. ibis hotels do not provide room service and instead provide a service called Grab it and go which is similar to takeaway and I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and we hope to have an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    1,002
    481
    104
    43
See reviews for
379
823
227
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel was excellent overall - convenient, excellent food, all amenities very good. We still are amazed that we had to pay for wi-fi. Come into the century, Ibis. That is penny-pinching and not good enough. Even the smallest and most modest places we stayed at subsequently did not charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear tonyg792,

I appreciate your feedback regarding Wi Fi being complimentary in the hotel. Due to the infrastructure required to provide Wi Fi we cannot offer it 100% complimentary at this time. We do provide complimentary wireless in the lobby as well as two free Dell computers and I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. I will take your comments on board and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Main downside to this hotel was no free WiFi in the rooms, but no hotels in Wellington offer that. Free WiFi available in the lobby was nice though. Don't pay for WiFi, it's outrageously priced here! Other downside was lack of a fitness facility. Otherwise it's in a great location, excellent value, good-sized rooms, great bathrooms, modern decor, super clean, and great hotel staff! The bed wasn't the most comfortable in the world because my "king" bed was two twins pushed together with one set of linens on it. Couldn't imagine it'd be comfortable for a couple to sleep in. Definitely a great place to stay for the money in an expensive city like Wellington.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRoyalChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear TheRoyalChief,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location and the value for money the hotel provides and I will pass on your comments to my team. The hotel does provide complimentary wireless in the hotel lobby for 15 minutes per day and I am sorry that this did not meet your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel was great except our room was next to something noisy and made it a bit hard to sleep. A little bit pricey for dinner in the restaurant but the service was excellent and the food great. Easy options for the kids too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sparkem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Sparkem,

I am sorry if your sleep was disturbed during your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to my Chief Engineer to investigate. Thank you for your feedback regarding Vivant! restaurant, I will pass on your comments to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location, great service, rooms were as expected - compact and clean. Small suggestion in that if doors were painted a more subtle colour (and not the bright tomatoe red) it would look more like a hotel and less like a hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SSAG97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear SSAG97,

I appreciate the feedback regarding the colour scheme of the hotel and will take your comments on board. I am pleased that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and service provided by my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ideal location for us as we arrived and left by train - only 10 minutes walk from the station, and easy to find. Also well placed for us to get around the city for the 2 days we were there. Check-in straightforward, room clean and quiet, bed comfortable. Didn't use the restaurant so can't comment on that.
Not much else to say - a functional place to stay in Wellington, reasonably priced. "Did what it sid on the tin"!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnorkelQueens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear SnorkelQueens,

I am pleased that we have met your expectations for your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. Next time however we want to do more than 'what's on the tin' and we look forward to having that opportunity soon!

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Ibis is in a great position,the only problem I found was the toilet roll holder was too low and poorly designed as the roll was constantly knocked off. Overall the Hotel was good I would stay there again. I found the wi fi pricing was a bit expensive too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank hams1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear hams1965,

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments regarding the toilet roll holder to my Chief Engineer and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing