We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Trip to Wellington”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Whangarei, New Zealand
1 review
“Our Trip to Wellington”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had awesome stay at the Ibis, the staff had a ' no problem attitude ' witch was brillant very friendly and helpfull and the food was excellant and the beer nice and cold, well worth the the stay...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank bigd564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear bigd564,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at ibis Wellington particularly the service provided by my team. I will pass on your feedback to all staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    1,018
    486
    105
    44
See reviews for
389
827
231
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Had a recent stay at the Ibis Wellington, cheap parking available not far from the hotel, very modern look in rooms, small bar fridge, all the basics, small but comfortable, got this on a deal through accor, very good value, flat screen TV's , walking distance to stadium, will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank n0t2fussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear n0t2fussy,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the modern rooms and found the property to be good value for money. I will pass on your feedback to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in March. Room very clean, and very quiet, no street noise or noise from other tenants. Good buffet breakfast $22 and happy hour in the bar every evening.This hotel is very convenient to everything, restaurants, water, shopping. Would definitely stay here again, and very reasonably priced

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MarieMelbourne,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the quality of the Food and Beverage provided in Vivant! restaurant. I will pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Everything was simple and easy. Booked online (with accor club card so received a nice little discount) no problem. Arrived a little early, but was lucky enough to be put into a room straight away. Staff answered all queries easily and gave us a great little map of the CBD. Room was easy to find, clean, tidy, quiet, warm, comfy bed and big TV. Bathroom was clean and tidy, complete with hair dryer and excellent water pressure. No free wi-fi sadly. Check out was a breeze and we were able to leave our bags for the day then off to visit Te Papa. I would happily stay again and absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluefelixmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear bluefelixmoon,

I am so pleased that the hotel and service provided by my team has met your expectations. We appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights here and found it a great place to stay. The hotel room was of average size and fresh and clean. The staff were all helpful and friendly. We ate at the restaurant one night and had a good affordable meal. The bar area was a nice area to have a drink or snack in - which we also did. The location was great. A short walk to most Wellington city attractions - Cuba street, Te Papa, the harbor, the cable car and shopping etc. There are not many restaurants in the immediate area but it was a short walk to restaurants at the harbor, Cuba street and Courtney Place. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbymac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Abbymac4,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the meal provided in the restaurant. I will pass on your comments to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Slap bang in the middle of the everything you would want to see an do in Wellington.
Small rooms but still very nice. Would definitely stay again.
Ideal place to stay if you are going to concerts at TSB or vector arena.
Walking distance to all the great shops and restaurants. Oh an the water front, which is a lovely walk on a non windy day :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisacunningham01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Lisacunningham01,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel particularly the close proximity to TSB Arena. I will pass on your feedback to my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards.,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed our one night at Ibis Wellington before boarding the Ferry to the south island. It is a perfect location for the early morning short drive to the Ferry. We had emailed them ahead of time to request a parking spot be reserved- they have a small inside lot. The information was there on arrival and the process was easy. The room wasn't huge- but didn't expect it to be. It took us a few minutes to figure out how to make the key work to keep the power on. We have used similar systems in Europe and USA but this one was a little trickier for us at first. When we checked out of the hotel we could see they had a teaching aide at the desk with a card reader for folks so we figured we were not the only ones who might have had a challenge! Gave us a chuckle for sure. The location was great for walking to Cuba Street, Harbourfront and Lambton Quay. Good value for money in Wellington.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EMtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear EMtravelers,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and that a parking spot was organised for you as requested. I am sorry that the use of the key was not explained to you. I will pass on your comments to my Front Office team and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing