We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern facilities, clean and reasonably priced.”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was our first visit to Wellington and we found this Hotel to be extremely well located in relation to TSB Arena, Waterfront and city centre. We booked via an agent - check in, housekeeping and check out went very smooth. Of course one does not get the same service and facilities that one might get at places that charge twice (or more) the nightly rate. If ever in Wellington again and in need of a good central location, will be very happy to stay here again. The only minor point I would have is that the TV volume was very low (even on high) and it was sometimes hard to follow. But I guess this is preset to avoid it possibly being a nuisance to guests in the next room.

Room Tip: We asked (the agent) for a room with a view and given a room that looked straight onto the facade of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heilala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Heilala,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel on your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am sorry there was an issue with the TV volume in your room, I shall have my maintenance department rectify and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I am delighted that you found the hotel to be good value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,328 - 1,334 of 2,197 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Initially thought room a light small after a stay in a suit in Auckland. Nonethless adjusted to room and found most comfortable and manageable. Enjoyed our stay very much. Domestic staff and counter staff extremely helpful and obliging. The Ibis location in Featherston St is probably one of the most accessible and convenient hotel locations in Wellington. Handy to a range of shops, restaurants, bars, attractions and railway station. All readily accessible by foot. Quite street location ensured quality sleep. Next time in Wellington the Ibis for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Headframe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Headframe,

I am glad that we have been able to change your initial perception of the guest room and that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels close proximity to everything in Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinsight08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is one step up form a backpackers.

King beds are king singles pushed together

Staff are rude and majority were unhelpful

No room service

Dirty tables in the dining area

Mould around base of shower

Big bird poo on the window

I know its only 3 star but would expect better

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear sarahhbee,

I am very disappointed to read your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. ibis hotels do not provide room service and I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. The cleanliness and service issues are not our usual standard and I have passed on your feedback to my team. It is our hope that we have an opportunity to serve you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friendly staff to welcome you, everything you need in the room, clean and comfortable with the added bonus of being in the heart of New Zealand's unique capital city. In addition there is an in-house restaurant which has a good menu choice, with adjacent bar if you just feel like a drink. The rooms are value for money in terms of the competition and I would most definitely stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear Gerigenie,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us particularly the quality and variety of the menu offering in Vivant! restaurant and the value for money of the guest rooms. We appreciate the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

great location
Great service
Excellent food. We enjoyed a lovely dinner, children eat free when adult has main meal. Breakfast was delicious, pancakes and hash browns a favourite.
Could not fault my stay
Room was spacious clean and well laid out.
Taxi stand right outside. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrigitteAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear BrigitteAnna,

I am so pleased to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am glad that you enjoyed your meal in Vivant! restaurant as well as the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms. I will pass on your comments to all members of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We had a great deal at this hotel so it was arguably the best value night in NZ. Perfect location for most of Wellingtons attractions. Smallish room but fine. Very good breakfast. Excellent service from the young lady at reception who was very helpful regarding parking at a neighbouring hotel. Wish we could remember her name.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SxD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear SxD,

I am so glad that we have provided you with one of the best value accommodation nights in New Zealand. This is a huge praise and I will pass on your comments to my whole team. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again very soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 46 in Wellington
2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $83 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing