We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jam Pots- Not”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Jam Pots- Not”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A central, clean , economic hotel , well situated in Wellington.Easy walk to most places, and on a main bus route, taxis outside door.
The Restruant needs some inspiration, The dreadful Bench seats is something to avoid.
Food is good, and good wine list.. No real 'Bar' , Very Quiet and need some injection of atmosphere.
Breakfast was well catered for BUT if you wanted jam or other spread on yr toast then it was communal pots on a small central table , YUK!!, with no where to place your butter pac rubbish. Very El cheapo, and something they need to get rid of pronto.
Rooms were clean tidy , quiet ,and upto date.

Room Tip: It has 9 floors so the higher the better.No real views to note as its central city. South side id...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiKomments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear KiwiKomments,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am disappointed that you did not like our breakfast set-up and will pass on your feedback to my Food and Beverage team. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    1,002
    481
    104
    43
See reviews for
380
823
227
405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were very happy with the hotel. We chose it because it was well-priced. You can see that the luxuries aren't there, but it's not 'cheap'. On the downside, I still can't believe any hotel thinks that they can charge the prices that they do for internet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuddSandstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear JuddSandstrom,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money. I have taken on board your comments regarding internet prices and we hope to welcome you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

ibis wellington has a good location very handy to everything. staff are friendly and helpful. good breakfast menu though expensive, but was ok. only nega thing i have are the beds were a bit tough and hard otherwise everything else above good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riahfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear riahfort,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us, I will pass onto all members of my team. have taken on board your comments regarding the prices for breakfast and the beds at the hotel and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Easy to find as we walked there, but didn't look like many places to park outside.
Reception was easy and served us well, there is also a restaurant beside the reception but we didn't eat there.
Security was good using swipe cards to access lifts and your room.
The hotel felt new but not sure how old.
Our room was what your would expect for an inner city hotel, clean, tidy. nice large comfy bed.
View was nothing just the inner core of the building but we didn't care, we were only there for the night and spent most of our time out and about.
Location was great for the price, maybe that's why we got the crappy view lol..
All and all was a pretty good stay and there check out time was 11am!
My only con about the place was you could hear other going on's, doors shutting and loud people, but this is not really the hotels fault its the rude as people that have no consideration for others!
Go to wellington it a great place...

Room Tip: Only ticked avg on the Pool and fitness cos not sure if there are any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusaBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear BusaBiker,

Thanks for the feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in Wellington. Parking is limited and does need to be pre-booked as you are correct we have limited spaces. I am glad that you enjoyed the security of the hotel as well as the feeling of it being new. The hotel was opened in 2000 and the rooms were fully refurbished in 2009 and that 'new' feeling is thanks to the hard work from my maintenance team. I will pass on your comments to all members of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Was a work trip. Room was tight for space. Large bed, however, it was two joined together. So had a ridge to deal with. No issue with street noise as I was on top floor. Dissapointed that they have a credit card surcharge, which would have made the $9.00 bottle of beer from the bar even more expensive.

On the good side, close to everything you could want to see, or go to in Wellywood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKiwiandACanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear AKiwiandACanuck,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. Our King rooms do have a bed that is specially designed for hotels called a King Zip which is two king single mattresses that zip together and I am sorry if this did not meet your expectations. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotels location and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Ibis Wellington is in a great location in CBD so handy to the waterfront & Lambton Quay. Good value for money in a no frills room but still quite adequate for a few nights stay. Front desk staff could be a bit friendlier as on check out we barely had eye contact or a word from staff member so not good PR for hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that the service provided by my team has not met our usual standard. I will be passing your feedback onto my Front Office Manager to follow up with his team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We chose this hotel for its convenient location to the waterside shops and Interislander ferry. The room was clean and reasonably well appointed for a budget group hotel. Noise from a bathroom fan and the fridge spoiled our nights sleep unfortunately. The checkout was a bit fraught as the items charged to our room bore little resemblance to the snack we had eaten in the restaurant. This was sorted out quickly and calmly by the duty manager. Then as we queued for the ferry I got a phone call to say their figures had been right and that the drinks we had been wrongly charged for were actually the charge for car parking! This was waived so the mess up was resolved to our benefit. However I was not aware of the charge for parking which at 25 dollars for overnight is a bit steep so again communication not what it should have been.

Despite these gripes this hotel is perfectly okay for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: I suspect all the rooms are pretty similar. We were on the eighth floor at the back of the hotel an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear GerryP473,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I do apologise that there was a mix-up with the hotel charges however I am happy that this was resolved by my manager on duty. The hotel does charge $25 for car parking and this does need to be pre-booked as space is limited and I am sorry that your were not aware of this and any inconvenience caused. We look forward to having an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,525 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,817 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing