We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantabulous”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantabulous”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The staff were fantastic,they couldn't do enough to help us,including giving us directions when we asked for them. It is extremely well placed within walking distance of the central city. We stayed for four days and the staff were so professional. The room was in excellant order. Check in was easy and quick. Such a wonderful place to stay. We will definately return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear yogismum,

It is always a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests and I am pleased that my staff have provided exceptional service during your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotels location and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    1,009
    485
    105
    44
See reviews for
384
825
229
412
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In Wellington on business for 3 nights. Although small, room was adequate for my needs and the hotel is located very central with easy access to points of interest. Breakfasts very good and catered for my special dietary requirements. One downside is the lack of parking space, I had to park with another hotel using their casual parking arrangements.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottie504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Scottie504,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellngton. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location as well as the quality of our breakfast. Parking does need to be pre-booked and I am sorry if this was not available for you on this particular stay and any inconvenience this caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Service was good. Room average as bathroom so small and nowhere to put any toiletries. Bed very soft and uncomfortable.Excellent location for business as well as walking to restaurants and the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDR401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us however I am sorry that the bathroom and bed did not meet your expectations. I have passed on your comments to my whole team and we look forward to having an opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

IBIS in the Wellington CBD is very handily located for business an the machinery of government.Everything is in good order and staff are always professional. I have stayed here many times and will keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueduck49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear blueduck49,

Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel and I am pleased that we have again lived up to your expectations. I will pass on your comments to all of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this Ibis Hotel in Wellington for 6 days on our 5 weeks trip of New Zealand's North Island and this Hotel was our 2nd stop. Check-in is a breeze if there are no group bookings. We were in our room in 10 minutes.

The hotel is fairly modern and is part of the Accor Group of Hotels. We were given a top floor room (9th floor) bigger than our last accomodation at Quest Albany. The room is clean and like the Quest, there are no drawers to put in your under wears! What are these hotels thinking, that people are only staying overnight? Toilet also don't have bath tub. Internet also is a premium but there is free 20 minutes wireless internet access per 24 hour at the lobby and also 2 pc near the entrance for 30 minutes use with internet access.

The hotel has a restaurant with bar which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also near the harbour and the city centre. There are also heaps of fancy expensive restaurants and cheaper one and convenience stores around. It is close to Te Papa Museum, the Civic Centre, Victoria University and heaps of galleries.

I would recommend this hotel to people looking for hotel with average price and good location.

Room Tip: get the higher floor rooms which are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Tigas_Ko,

Thank you for your very informative feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the size of the room, cleanliness and the hotels close proximity to everything in Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NZ.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I slept well every night that I stayed at the Ibis, Wellington. Breakfast was good, and overall my stay ther was very enjoyable. If there was one thing I would comment on it is that the fridge in the room was rather noisy at times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 840Graeme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

I appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay with us and am pleased that you had a great nights sleep. I am sorry that the fridge was a little noisy and I will pass on your comments to my Chief Engineer to investigate and follow up.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#13 of 46 in Wellington
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing