We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at this Ibis Hotel in Wellington for 6 days on our 5 weeks trip of New Zealand's North Island and this Hotel was our 2nd stop. Check-in is a breeze if there are no group bookings. We were in our room in 10 minutes.

The hotel is fairly modern and is part of the Accor Group of Hotels. We were given a top floor room (9th floor) bigger than our last accomodation at Quest Albany. The room is clean and like the Quest, there are no drawers to put in your under wears! What are these hotels thinking, that people are only staying overnight? Toilet also don't have bath tub. Internet also is a premium but there is free 20 minutes wireless internet access per 24 hour at the lobby and also 2 pc near the entrance for 30 minutes use with internet access.

The hotel has a restaurant with bar which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. It is also near the harbour and the city centre. There are also heaps of fancy expensive restaurants and cheaper one and convenience stores around. It is close to Te Papa Museum, the Civic Centre, Victoria University and heaps of galleries.

I would recommend this hotel to people looking for hotel with average price and good location.

Room Tip: get the higher floor rooms which are more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigas_Ko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Tigas_Ko,

Thank you for your very informative feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the size of the room, cleanliness and the hotels close proximity to everything in Wellington and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to NZ.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    985
    468
    103
    41
See reviews for
375
802
220
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

I slept well every night that I stayed at the Ibis, Wellington. Breakfast was good, and overall my stay ther was very enjoyable. If there was one thing I would comment on it is that the fridge in the room was rather noisy at times.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 840Graeme47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

I appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay with us and am pleased that you had a great nights sleep. I am sorry that the fridge was a little noisy and I will pass on your comments to my Chief Engineer to investigate and follow up.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lookout for deals in regards to meals. When I was there if you book breakfast with reception upon check-in you could get NZ$5 off which is not bad. Don't need to get it for every morning which give flexibility if your flight is early when leaving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmi_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Rasmi_71,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of one of our recent pre-paid breakfast promotions and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

After checking in found my room to stink of vomit and cleaning products. Very unpleasant and made me sick. So checked right out again. No offer of another room or a refund.
Not a happy experience.
Would not go back!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jane4216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Jane4216,

I am very disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. The room you checked into had just been cleaned hence the smell of cleaning products. My staff did offer to move you to another room which you declined however at no point did you mention anything about the room smelling of anything other than chemicals. I am sorry if the service provided by my team has not met your expectations and we look forward to hopefully having the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

The pillows in th room were VERY hard and made for painful necks. The alarm radio in the room went off at 6am on Sunday morning , obviously it had been set by th eperson who had rented the room ear;ier in the week. Perhaps the housekeeping staff should check clocks when a guest leaves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marykearney97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear marykearney97,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the pillows in the rooms, I am sorry that they have not met your expectations. My housekeeping department check the clocks when they service the room and it seems the clock has been missed on this occasion. I am very sorry for any inconvenience this caused and I have personally passed on your comments to my Housekeeping team. Please rest assured that we have taken the appropriate measures to prevent future occurrence and we look forward to having the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This was our second stay at the Ibis Wellington. Booked it for its great location and the price was reasonable too. Room was spacious enough and very clean. As others have commented, the air conditioning was noisy but we found the room temperature comfortable throughout the night even with it switched off. Very comfortable beds. Will book this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear KateW9,

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and found the hotel to be good value for money. I have passed on your comments to all of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nothing flash, rooms were small but they were very clean. Air conditioning noisy and did keep me awake the first night (older type system) beds were uncomfortable and the curtains didn't match in the window which looked "tacky". Had a meal from the restaurant there which was really nice.
So central to everything that you don't need a car. Internet in the lobby which was a good speed. Would stay here again, great location and the price was good too

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LotsaBlondeMoments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear LotsaBlondeMoments,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location, cleanliness and value for money. I am disappointed that you did not like the dual coloured curtains in the room and I have taken your comments on board. I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal in Vivant! restaurant and we hope to welcome you back to ibis Wellington again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#11 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Property: ibis Wellington
Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing