We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather small room with lumpy beds”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great reception area, good location to many of the sites, inbetween party-oriented Courteny/Cuba and the Admin/Transport part of town. The room was somewhat on the small size. We asked for two double beds - the room really only big enough for one. Tiny tiny shower facility, free internet in the reception area, which wasnt too difficult to get onto.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear jasont221,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location however I am disappointed that the room size did not meet your expectations. Next time you stay with us, do not hesitate to ask for a King room which generally tend to be a bigger room and may be better suited for your requirements. Thank you once again for the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,491 - 1,497 of 2,224 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Ibis with my daughter for WOW in early October. The hotel has a great central downtown location within easy walking distance to central city activities. The hotel is fairly basic but it has everything needed for a one-night-stay. Our room had two double beds, and bathroom with separate shower, tea and coffee making facilities. Continental breakfast was included and was adequate for us. Bar downstairs was open for drinks and light snacks after the WOW show so well set up for evening functions. We didn't have dinner at the hotel so can't comment on dining experience. I would definitely stay here again on short visits to Wellington.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiwithKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear KiwiwithKids,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit to Wellington to watch the World of Wearable Arts. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location as well as the facilities provided and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Just stayed here last week for a night. Check in was a breeze. Hotel is situated close to the cable car museum (walking distance) and mutiple restaurants. I was surprised though by the bright orange colors of the doors of the hotel rooms. The hotel does not have free wi-fi but compensates by two 24 hour terminals in the reception area with free internet. The matteresses on the bed were ok, they could be better though. Temperature control in the room was effective. Room and bathrooms was clean otherwise. Checkout was even faster than check in so full marks to the hotel on both these points. This is a no frills hotel for the budget traveler which suited my purpose. Would I stay here again if I travel to Wellington?- Sure; Will I recommend this hotel to like-minded folks on a budget- Absolutely....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulysseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Ulysseus,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location as well as the speed of check in. I will take on board your comments regarding the colour of our room doors and comfiness of the beds and I am pleased you enjoyed the standard of cleanliness of the hotel. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

Our stays here are always quick for an occasion in Wellington city. The staff are good, rooms good, immaculate in cleanliness, and handy city location. If you need a car park, make sure you ring and ask before booking. They do not have many, and if you book and pay online you can be stuck with no where to put your car. It is not clearly stated anywhere on the websites. Only in the fine print in t's and c's they tell me. The parking, if you are able to get one, cost $25.00 extra.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewZealandishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear NewZealandishome,

Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel and I am pleased that we suite your needs for your quick stays within Wellington. You are correct, parking is an additional $25 and does need to be pre-booked as we do have limited spaces. We appreciate the feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

The Ibis is reliable as a clean comfortable hotel. Its not at the party end of Wellington but there is arange of restaurants nearby. The room was quiet and had everything I needed.
The continental breakfast was good wiyhe exception of the coffee which some sort of machine produced watery product.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Bruce_M94,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us particularly the hotels location and the breakfast provided. I will take on board your comments regarding the coffee machine used for breakfast and we look forward to hopefully serving you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

First impressions were good with a well presented and functional lobby area and friendly helpful staff. The room was however below par.

Rather small with barely room for two people to pass each other around the end of the bed. The room while clean also looked a little tired. The furnishings didn't appear old, but a general spruce up and fresh coat of paint along with matching the curtains on the window would not go amiss.

The bathroom was also quite small with less space in front of the toilet than in a normal cubical. The shower head and holder were not matched, so the head flopped around which made it difficult to get it in the right position for a decent. This along with the hole in the wall where the second clothes hook should have been and general finishing around the edges of the floor etc were further indications that it time for a spruce up.

The convenient location, good service and budget rate was not enough to make up for the small and tired room when compared to other budget hotels we have stayed at in the past for similar rates.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear malreid,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us, I am sorry that the room has not met your expectations. From your comments there are some maintenance issues that have not been rectified by my maintenance team and I would like to personally address them. Can you please contact me directly at Nathan.Frost@accor.com with the room number you stayed in and I will ensure that these issues are rectified immediately. I apologise for any inconvenience caused and we look forward to hopefully serving you better in the future.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynvan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Wellington
Novotel Wellington
#10 of 47 in Wellington
2,065 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 47 in Wellington
1,927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $80 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing