We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
ibis Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$123
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$181
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$133
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$171
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$130
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
$90
$88
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,311)
Filter reviews
2,312 results
Traveler rating
522
1,107
518
119
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
1,107
518
119
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationfeatherston streetcentral locationcable cartwo double bedsfree wifite papatrain stationtsb arenabuffet breakfastwould stay againthe air conditioningeasy walkshort staynew zealandreception stafflambton quay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,613 - 1,618 of 2,312 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Ibis was very good as an overnight stop on the way to the South Island. There's nothing flash about the Ibis -- it's functional, friendly, staightforward and well located. The room was adequately furnished and clean and the bed firm and comfortable. The staff were cheerful and helpful. There are good restaurants and bars within walking distance. The hotel had parking available and it was a very easy early morning drive to the ferry terminal from here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear 977SusanneM,

It is a pleasure to receive your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at ibis Wellington. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location, the cleanliness of the room and the service provided by my team. We look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We have spent five nights. The room was nice, modern. We had no living room, a desk and a bench instead. The bed was confortable, the TV was soundly placed, just in front of the bed.
The bathroom was correct, but the shower is tiny, really to tiny.
The room cleaning was well done. A nice hotel very very well placed, near the harbour, near the restaurants. A good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mara689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Mara689,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the comfort of our rooms. I will pass on your comments to all of my team and we look forward to welcoming you back to ibis Wellington soon.

Nous vous remercions de vos commentaires concernant votre récent séjour avec nous. Je suis tellement heureux que vous ayez apprécié l'emplacement de l'hôtel ainsi que le confort de nos chambres. Je transmettrai vos commentaires à tous de mon équipe et nous sommes impatients de vous accueillir à nouveau prochainement ibis Wellington.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

An excellent location in Wellington for restaurants and bars and for us the train station. The room was extremely small although clean and more than adequate for one night however it would be very cramped if staying longer. The double bed was firm and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear RobynR,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the cleanliness of the guest rooms. From you comments regarding the room size, you may have been allocated a queen room in the hotel. Next time should you choose to stay with us do not hesitate to ask for a Twin or King room as these are a larger room and may suit your needs a little better.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Whitianga
2
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had a great couple of days in Wellington and even the weather was pretty mild. Service at reception was excellent as was the restaurant service. The chefs special, ie lambs shanks were superb. One problem was the air-conditioning noise. We were on the 9th floor and it was like trying to sleep next to a clothes drier. Maybe we should have complained but we're not that sort of people

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us especially the quality of the lamb shanks served in Vivant! restaurant, I will personally pass your comments onto the Head Chef. I am sorry that there was an issue with a noise near your room. In the future should you have any issues or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact any member of my team who will be able to assist.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews