We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wellington hotel”
Review of ibis Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Wellington
Ranked #17 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed April 25, 2011

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night in April 2011. The hotel was clean & centrally located. Despite being on the 2nd floor, we had a very quiet sleep. Great value for our money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrianamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear adrianamh,

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be good value for money and centrally located for your needs. We look forward to seeing you back at Ibis Wellington soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
There are newer reviews for ibis Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,885 - 1,891 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

This hotel was such good value for money!! Although the rooms were quite small with no view they used the space well with a sunken flat screen TV in front of the bed etc and there was enough space and they are so clean and comfy - very nicely decorated too. We didn't mind spending spare time there in between sightseeing. The hotel is so central that you feel part of the waterfront and can walk to and from the hotel easily to all the sites. The staff were super friendly and the breakfasts were GREAT! Even had a drink at the lounge downstairs which felt nice and welcoming - lots of guests seemed to enjoy meeting in the lounge and dining area for drinks and snacks which was nice. The staff were also helpful in advising us how to get around and what to see and do.

Room Tip: We like rooms high up
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_Saffas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Kiwi_Saffas,

Thank you for the fantastic review that you posted for Ibis Wellington. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the hotels location and enjoyed a nice drink in Vivant! bar. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service provided by my staff, I will pass onto the whole team.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2011

We have never been asked to sign a credt for a substantial amount before we even stepped into the room. We understand the necessity to have a credit card swiped but to have an amount attached is quite unnecessary.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMSM2420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

Thank you for your comments regarding the credit policy at the hotel. It is the policy of the hotel that we do take an authorisation to cover room charges for the duration of your stay and I am sorry if this inconvenienced you in any way.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

This is a good and well run Ibis with friendly and helpful staff. We were allowed an early check in and changed our room speedily to one further away from the lifts. The rooms are not large but standard Ibis size and ok for a couple of nights. We have an Accor card and were left chocolates on our pillow the first night. This is in a great location for the city and very close to the Bluebridge ferry terminal for ships to Picton on the South Island. 15 mins free WiFi is available each day in the lobby and then you have to pay. It is also available free on the quay and in Esquire cafes if you buy a drink. Good food is available in the Featherstone bar just north of the hotel and the train station which is just a bit further north has a good supermarket. Would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear john117,

Thank you for recognising the service provided by my staff and your comments on how the hotel is run, we do work as a team here and I am so pleased that this has been recognised. Thank you also for recognising the hotel location and close proximity to everything and we look forward to seeing you back in Wellington with us again soon.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Close to shops, waterfront and major attractions such as Te Papa Museum, with a choice of several great pubs and restaurants only a few minutes walk away (try the Featherston Hotel - great food, nice atmosphere and excellent service and value for money!), the Ibis was a great place to stay! We had a Standard room, which was quiet, very clean and comfortable, with all mod cons. Buffet breakfast in the lobby was crowded (there was a Tai-kwondo tournament in town and I reckon 50% of the participants were staying here!), but great value. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only drawback was trying to find a park outside on arrival, and then squeezing into one of the underground car spaces.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedraft52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear bluedraft52,

Thank you for your very informative feedback regarding your recent stay with us, hopefully next time you stay you can experience the menu in the hotel restaurant Vivant! We did have a team for the recent taekwondo tournament staying with us (who won quite a few gold medals!), and so the hotel lobby and restaurant was very crowded at times and I apologise for any inconvenience this caused.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We only stopped 1 night in Wellington on the way to South Island but this is a lovely city and a great place to stay for it. It was cheaper than the YHA and spotless although slightly on the small side. We parked on the street round the corner with no problems at all. Location wise it's barely a few minutes to the sea and a lovely stroll round to the harbour. A great place to sleep!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_CB_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2011

Dear Mrs_CB_22,

I am so pleased that you were able to book a room on one of our recent sales and enjoyed the value for money Ibis Wellington provides. I hope that you had a fantastic trip down to the South Island also.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2011

I stayed there for 1 night with my husband. I was a bit disappointed because the room is located on 1st floor and it is right next to Laundry room and the lift.

The Noise level is a bit loud, You can hear someone's talking in the next door.

However, the room is quite spacious and its location is execellent.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina_Triplover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NathanFrost, General Manager at ibis Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2011

Dear Accorhotels Traveller,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry that due to the business levels of the hotel you were allocated a room on the first floor, next time you stay with us do not hesitate to ask for a room higher up in the hotel.

Kind regards,

Nathan Frost
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,712 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.2 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,886 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Wellington

Address: 153 Featherston Street, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Wellington
#16 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $83 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ibis Wellington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wellington is in the heart of the city near the bustle of Lambton Quay and walking distance to Parliament, TSB Bank Arena, Westpac Stadium and the waterfront. A Qualmark rated 3.5 star hotel with 200 contemporary guest rooms; Ibis Wellington's quality has been recognised with international ISO 9001 and its environmental commitment with ISO 14001. Vivant! Restaurant and Bar is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It's the perfect casual dining venue. Limited secure parking is available at the hotel for guests. Ibis Wellington is part of AccorHotels New Zealand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your ibis Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Wellington Hotel Wellington
Accor Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing