We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh what a view!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oh what a view!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Stayed in Wellington in mid summer with the temperature between 28 and 30 degrees Celsius. There was no air conditioning, and one tiny opening window in the lounge. No windows in the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen. Over the top of the window was a large concrete ramp which was a perfect nesting area for pigeons. The filth outside the window was horrendous. We were completely unable to sleep due to the heat and stuffiness. The whole apartment was pitch dark even on a sunny day, we had to have the lights on. Such a shame because the service was good and the rooms were well equipped.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soupy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Soupy8,

Thank you for feedback and I apologise that you were disappointed in your stay. We have a limited number of air conditioned rooms available , so please do let us know on your next stay and we will do our best to accommodate your request. We are also looking into additional lighting options to help brighten the rooms.

I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our high standard of service.

Kind regards,
Jody Dickinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    387
    114
    33
    6
See reviews for
309
241
27
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

The Executive One Bedroom Suite was great with lots of space and great amenities. Very modern and provided 100% what was promised. Virtually located in the centre of Lambton Quay. In the centre of the City and walking distance to everywhere. Nothing else needs to be said about the location.
Stayed for 5 days (including a weekend. But Didn't have any noise issues as mentioned in some reviews. All added with some great customer service.
Highly Recommended !!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tspeiris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2016
Dear Tspeiris,

Our apologies that there was no response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Got to the hotel easily as we had a cab drop us of so gave us time to recon the back entrance access to the carpark.
Staff- Asif Mahlee and Dale- were absolutely what you expect your hotel staff to be- helpful cheerful and eager to please.
Location fabulous just a lift ride down to Lambton quay and a stone's throw to all the attractions in Wellington.
Free parking great help!!
The only downside to my stay there was the less that helpful morning receptionist (Angela?) who downright lied about there being no free parking

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourne101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2016
Dear Melbourne101,

Our apologies that there was no response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We were very impressed at first sight by the hotel, but after dark, the music at the night club next door started and blared for hours. As we had just arrived after two very long days of traveling, we desperately needed a good night's sleep. The hotel should notify people that on Saturday nights, you will not get any sleep until 2 a.m. Unfortunately, we had a ferry to catch the next morning and had to be up at 6 a.m.

A couple weeks later, we stayed for half the price at the Quality a couple blocks down on Cuba Street. It was so quiet and a much better value.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaTCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear MaTCalifornia,

Thank you for your feedback and I do apologise that your stay didn't meet expecations. Next time we would be happy to put you in a quieter room if available. You can request this when you make your booking, or if you could email me at the address below, we will update your account with this preference.

Kind Regards,
Jody Dickinson
General Manager
jodyd@heritagehotels.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Although a bit hard to find and tough to check into with a car (small pull in area in the front, lobby on 6th floor, carpark around back but hard to locate), this hotel was great in every other way. Spacious, immaculate and quiet, we found it the perfect spot from which to explore Wellington. We appreciated the kitchen facilities and especially the in-room free laundry (we had been on the road for 10 days and desperately needed to wash some clothes!). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 15, 2010
Dear Deb,

I’m so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I do apologise that you found the carpark hard to find, but thanks to your comments we will update our website and booking confirmations to provide better directions for guests.

I hope we can welcome you back to Wellington again soon.

Kind regards,
Jody Dickinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed at Citylife wellington for one night. We were on out honeymoon and knowing that, they upgraded us to a suite. It was a beautiful room to stay and the staff at the reception was really nice. Having stayed at Heritage Rotorua the previous night, this was a pleasant change.

The location of the hotel is also really nice, right in the middle of the city and very near to Bluebridge ferry terminal which were to take the next day morning to go to Havelock.

The staff suggested us some nice places to visit in the evening which were really nice.

Thanks for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nishw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 20, 2016
Dear Nishw,

Our apologies that there was no response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Citylife last weekend as I had found a cheap price on an accommodation discount website. I had booked a studio room but we were given a two bedroom apartment which was fantastic, really spacious, great lounge with a big TV and DVD player. One of the bedrooms also had a TV in it. This bedroom had a small ensuite which was good too.

Our room was at the back of the hotel i.e. not the side that faces Lambton Quay and if I stayed at the Citylife again I'd request a room on the Lambton Quay side as the rooms at the back are quite dark and we had to have the light on the whole time. It was very quiet though.

My only negative note is that most of the dishes and cutlery were dirty and I had to put them all in the dishwasher! There was also some hair on the floor of the main bathroom.

All in all we had a great stay, all of the staff were really lovely, parking was really easy and $15/night though they didn't charge us for the second night which was great! I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bech7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageHotelsNZ, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Dear Bech7 –

I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Please let us know next time that you’d like a room facing Lambton Quay and we will be happy to accommodate your request. I’m sorry to hear about the dirty dishes you found in the room and have addressed this with the housekeeping team - please rest assured this is not the standard of service we aim to provide.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I hope we can welcome you back to CityLife Wellington again soon.

Kind Regards,
Jody Dickinson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,142 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,395 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,618 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing