We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean comfortable stylish friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“clean comfortable stylish friendly”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great 2 bedroom apartment for myself and husband and daughter (16) right in the centre of the CBD. Felt welcome from the minute we hit reception. Then in the apartment we had a superb time - great kitchen facilities - comfy beds - quiet and secure floor. Would stay there again any time. AND we loved Wellington.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meesa61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear meesa61,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We very much appreciate feedback from a Senior Contributor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting oyu on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    382
    112
    33
    6
See reviews for
303
238
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Excellent inner city location with very convenient pedestrian and taxi access. High-level guest security i.e. no public access to accommodation floors of this hotel.
Very good standard of daily room servicing. Friendly, helpful reception staff.
Excellent facilities in the suite. Very quiet and efficient heating. No traffic or other noise nuisance.
Overall - excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear AnnieDNZ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate feedback from a Senior Reviewer.

We are deligthed that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had booked the Executive Two-Bedroom Suite for 4 people, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to the Director's Suite! The room was lovely and we stayed in to watch the World Cup semi-finals with an amazing city view. Lauren, the manager was the kindest person we've met throughout our entire trip in NZ - she even recommended restaurants and top sight-seeing sites. Kudos to the team!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hui Sze Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Hui Sze Q,

Thank you very much for taking the time and post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team especially Lauren who provided excellent service on your stay.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had booked a family weekend in Wellington some time ago, and wanted a 2bedroom apartment, we knew we had booked something...as the day grew nearer we searched our emails and credit card statements etc trying to find any reference to the place we had booked as we simply could not remember! Alas, couldn't find anything, so had to book elsewhere.
We received a call from Citylife a few days after we returned to Auckland, from Citylife, saying they had a booking from us and were just following us as we had not turned up.
I apologised profusely and explained what had happened, and the lovely young woman on the other end was so very gracious, reassured me there would be no charge, and that she was just checking, and have a lovely day!
Pretty sure anywhere else would have charged us for a no show.
We will definitely stay there next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear debnz,

Thanks for taking time to post such a lovely review on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your feedback and I will pass on your kind words to the staff mentioned in the review.

It was disappointing to learn that you were not able to stay with us but we understand these things happen :)

We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

When searching for hotels in Wellington, I was expecting to book 2 rooms since my husband and I were traveling with our older son and his girlfriend. I was pleasantly surprised to find that Citylife had a 2 bedroom apartment available at less than the cost of 2 rooms. The place was quite spacious, with a full kitchen, dining and living area with a large TV . The kitchen appeared to be well stocked with dishes, glasses, pots and pans, and utensils, as well as a dishwasher and garbage disposal! Of the 2 bedrooms, 1 had a private half bath, while the other bedroom had access to the full bath. Both bedrooms also had TVs. Our bedroom looked over the parking garage, and could be quite noisy early in the morning. It sounded like someone was dropping large metal rods into big trash bins! The larger bathroom also had a washer and dryer. The apartment was on the 7th floor, but the elevator only goes to the 6th floor. This was not a big deal,especially because the person at the front desk carried our luggage upstairs for us. The staff at the hotel was always quite helpful with any questions, and also made suggestions for activities and restaurants. It is somewhat confusing when driving here because the hotel's main entrance is on Lambton Quay,but you need to take the elevator to the lobby is on the 6th floor. You must drive your car around the block to enter the hotel's parking garage. Make sure to ask for directions on how to do this before arriving if you can. Once here, a car is really unnecessary, as everything was in walking distance. The cable car was almost right next door to the hotel, which we were able to take to the botanic garden. This area is a great place for shopping, and both the waterfront and Cuba street are within easy walking distance of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to sleep late, try to get a room away from the parking garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear skteach,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TeipAdvisor. We really value a review from a Top Contributor.

We are delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on yur next holiday to NZ.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised. Fantastic location within walking distance of everything you could want in the city. Rooms were spacious and well laid out, although there was only a small window that couldnt be opened which is not entirely wonderful. The beds were very comfortable and noise was minimal. Particular thanks to the guys working in the evenings both nights. Very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ngrrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Ngrrk,

Thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate a review from a Top Contributer.

We are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised on your stay and found the rooms comfortable and staff friendly.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing