We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely staff”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We just left the Citylife in Wellington. We stayed for our anniversary and had requested a room with a view which we were given. The staff, Julie in particular we're lovely and very helpful. The only minor comment would be that the curtains in the rooms did not meet in the middle and if they were pulled, then left a gap for light to shine through, as I said though, this was minor. Had a great time in a brilliant location to everything.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear MrsDew,

Thank you very much for providing such a lovely feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations especially Julie who provided exceptional service on your stay.

It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process.

We look forward to hosting oyu on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    382
    112
    33
    6
See reviews for
303
238
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chula Vista, CA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

My husband, adult son, and I spent 2 nights at CityLife Wellington in Mar. 2014. We rented a 2 bedroom Executive Suite with 2 queens and 1.5 baths (the exact layout is available on their website and the pictures are accurate). The "master" bedroom has a toilet and small sink off to one side and a flat screen TV on the wall. The second bedroom is similar except without half-bath or TV. Both bedrooms have inner spring mattresses that were moderately comfortable. Both have a closet, 2 bedside stands and both have limited floor space for luggage. The remainder of the unit is "open concept". There is a large dining table with 4 chairs, a couch and TV with 12 channels (including CNN), however, channel selections are very poor at night (American channel re-runs, New Zealand sports channels). There is a washer and dryer in the main bathroom. It has very good lighting, a shower within the tub with a half glass enclosure and a hair dryer. The kitchen has a full size refrigerator, oven, microwave, and an electric glass top cook top. Parking is extra. Internet is free in the lobby with a maximum of 60 min. or 100 MB/day.The location is excellent. There are multiple cafes and a large food court about 1/2 block away with multiple selections and excellent food. The negative is that it is only open for lunch, not dinner. Most of the dinner offerings were along the Quay (we ate at the Wagamama - an Asian restaurant - reasonably priced and would highly recommend it). There is a Starbucks and a grocery store within walking distance as well as Wellington's downtown attractions.

Room Tip: Each of the room layouts/floor plans can be found by clicking on the link at the center of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear CathieLS,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Citylife is located a teeny walk from the beautiful waterfront of Wellington, right in the middle of the CBD - which is no hardship at all! Maybe 20metres to the cable car station, around a corner is a Metro for groceries, easy walk to fascinating Cuba St, wander along the wharf for dining or follow the edge to the Museum. Everyone seems to run in Wellington, so don't be afraid to bring your jogging kit! Take the Cable Car to the top and walk back down through Lady Norwood's Rose Garden and Begonia House, or catch the shuttle for Zealandia {you can walk to Zealandia from there - we did - teenagers did not appreciate it!} We stayed in a 2-bed apartment with a balcony, you'd have to be picky to complain, it really was lovely. Room service Indian take-away one night was delicious, breakfast was good too.

Room Tip: If you have teenagers who don't want to share a queensize bed, put one of them on the couch they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmchellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear mmchellee,

Thanks for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your enjoyed your recent stay with us and your time in Wellington. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stayed at Citylife over the Easter weekend with parents. Two bedroom executive apartment was perfect for us. Location was great - in the middle of everything with terrific cheap public bus service running right on our street to everywhere. Short walk to waterfront and Te Papa museum. Great restaurants.
Only grumble was the street noise in our second floor room was a bit disturbing at night. Wellington is obsessed with street cleaning and the guy with the leaf vac at 11pm chasing two little leaves around drove us nuts.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Clinda S,

Thanks for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the weekend in Wellington.

We look foward to your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Loved the location, right in the middle of the City. Great spacious apartment and very clean.
Staff were so welcoming and provided us with a free rollaway. Really made our weekend away so relaxing. Car parking a little walk away but with the location only needed the car once. Thank you to all the staff and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freetoexplore69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear freetoexplore69,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that your family enjoyed your Easter weekend with us and found hte staff very welcoming.

We look foward to hosting oyu on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
447 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights on business.

Upon arrival I received the welcome news that I had been upgraded to a Director's Suite.

As a result the room was very spacious and well appointed.

The hotel is nicely situated along Lambton Quay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lee S,

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on TripAvisor.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Perfectly located in the heart of Wellington close to all amenities and the harbour front. Spotlessly clean and well appointed rooms. Staff who went out of their way to be helpful including offering us free coffees as we were waiting for our transport to leave. One good point is that there is a range of breakfast options - so that, if you only want continental, you only pay for that. As stated by another reviewer, we advise you pick the room carefully. Those at the back of the hotel, although very well appointed, look onto a light-well and are dark and depressing needing electric light, even on the brightest day. Ask for a room at the front overlooking Lambton Quay. Free Wi-Fi in reception only - if you want access in your room, you pay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victorians63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Victorians63,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting such a lovely review following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process.

We look forward to hosting you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing