We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but consider elsewhere?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not bad but consider elsewhere?”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

No other hotel experience in Wellington to compare to, but maybe average for hotels in NZ. Compared to typical North American urban hotels, we'd say the property is overall fairly clean and tidy, but the building itself may need some significant overhaul because of water problems. We were upgraded (without request) to a two-bedroom suite, but the master bedroom (with its own separate toilet) smelled moldy. We checked for leaks and noticed the edges around the window were wet with bits of black smudges here and there. Not a major leak, but enough to suggest water was in the structure. It was a short stay for us so no big deal. The carpet seemed ok but the bed was more Days Inn quality, definitely not the standards of an average NA hotel. A lot of tourists from Asian tour company(ies) pass through. Functional WiFi but certainly not fast. Location-wise it was good - fairly central, but we didn't spent any real time downtown during the day so no comment. A good 10-minute walk to Cuba street, but we really enjoyed our meal at the General Practitioner (not in Lonely Planet!), bistro quality food and friendly service.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonw166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Jackson W

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apology as we did not meet your expectations on your recent stay with us. We will also investigate your feedback about the possible leak in the bedroom resulting in a mouldy smell which is unacceptable.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back at CityLife Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    374
    112
    32
    6
See reviews for
300
235
27
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Located in Central Wellington and accessed at rear on 6th floor via a 'dingy' approach road (Gilmer Terrace) to reception. Access from reception via lift to Lambton Quay on ground floor. NB can be difficult to find and parking may be away from main hotel! Very large, comfortable rooms (lounge, bedroom, large bathroom) with city views. A/C can be a problem in some city centre hotels but this was very quiet and efficient. Only complaint was that the room has been 'well used' over the years and could do with a refurb in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAHEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear PAHEngland,

Thank you for the taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I appreciate your feedback as it give us the opportunity to continually review our service and facilities. Please accept my sincere apology for any inconvenience caused to you with the driving access to the hotel and the parking.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

City Life in Wellington, NZ is an awesome property! I had the privilege of staying there in November, 2013, and it was a phenomenal experience. When I entered the room, I was shocked at the enormous size of it. What a wonderful surprise! It was an entire contemporary apartment with a full-size kitchen, dining room, living room, and bedroom and I was pleasantly surprised to find a washer and dryer inside to do my laundry in the comfort of my room. The staff was absolutely outstanding and couldn't do enough for me. They insisted on helping me with my exploding suitcase, mapped out simple directions for me to several attractions, suggested dining options, and immediately came to the rescue when I dropped my earring down the bathroom sink! The plumber came up while I was on a tour, captured the lost earring, and left me a note that it was found! The customer service at City Life in Wellington is the best I've experienced in years! I will definitely return to this fine hotel and recommend it to anyone I can! Thank you for a fabulous stay! Terry L., Clearwater, FL

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Terry L,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that we exceeded your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team especially and Front desk and Maintenance staff who provided exceptional service on your stay.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile



Not the easiest hotel in the world to find. Don't try to use the entrance on Lumberton Quay if arriving by car. You need to drive around the block and enter in Gilmer Terrace.
There is a small drop off area where you can park to check in, then you have to park away from the hotel.
The rooms are spacious and have all the amenities required. The bed is clean and comfortable. There is a washer and tumble drier in the corridor just outside the room.
The soft furnishings and carpets are looking a bit dated but the room is clean.
Reception staff are warm and friendly.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 99ray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear 99ray,

Thanks for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my apologies if the driving access via Gilmer Terrace was not explained or informed to you while you made your reservation.

We are delighted that your found our suites spacious and the staff friendly.

We hope you enjoyed your holiday in NZ. We look forward to hosting you on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed 4 nights over Xmas Holidays. Good service, great at reception. First room I got was on level 1. Nice room but the view is of a concrete retaining wall so felt like a cave and I was seriously unimpressed. Last time I stayed it was level 4 city side so was really disappointed given this was a family trip. Team managed to shuffle us around to go to level 3 cityside on subsequent nights which made a huge difference and turned around a bad start. Breakfast bar was great.

Room Tip: Ask for level 4 city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Gavin H,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor. I apologise for any inconvenience caused with the lack of view form the first room.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay after the room move and found our staff and breakfast great.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in November 2013. The reception staff were really friendly when we checked in. We were given a 2 bed apartment which was fully equipped. The continental breakfast buffet was nice. The location of the hotel was ideal. Would recommend

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear baggiebird22

Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on your next holiday in NZ.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights over NYE and it was great! The staff were lovely and helpful reserving a car parking space for us right outside the front door. The car park itself was initially hard to find because of wellingtons hilly landscape, but the hotel provide a clear map and instructions.

The spacious rooms were comfortable and stylish with everything you need to make your stay pleasant - we were pleased to find a dvd player included and even our studio room had a small kitchen which was handy.

The location was fabulous - right in the middle of Lambton quay which made for easy access to the waterfront as well as great shopping right on your doorstep. We were also surprised at how quiet the hotel was given its very central location.

We would definitely recommend City Life to anyone visiting Wellington

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear HolidayKel

Happy New Year & thank you very much for posting such a lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased that your thoroughly enjoyed your stay and brought in the New Year staying with us.

I will share your kind words with the team and look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,833 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing