We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend escape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of CityLife Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend escape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

I stayed with friends in the Executive two bedroom suite. The room was spacious and comfortable. the kitchen was well stocked and very functional. It was always great to have an in room laundry!! These rooms are extremely quiet.

Hotel staff were pleasant, frinedly and helpful.

Great location. We highly recommend this hotel.

Our only suggestion for improvement was that the air conditioning unit was not strong enough for the suite and so the bedrooms tended to get hot - could be an issue for the height of summer.

Otherwise a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: For privacy and comfort - choose on of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mere A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mere A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    353
    109
    29
    6
See reviews for
286
221
27
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Booked this hotel due to the proximity and size of the suite. We needed a suite this time because we were travelling with family and wanted the extra space. We have always stayed at the Bolton Hotel and Intercontinental and was very pleasantly surprised. The location to shopping, fabulous cafes, harbour and sightseeing was so convenient. The shops are just outside the Hotel and a few steps from the famous Cable Car Tourist attraction.

Highly recommend the Crab Shack, Verve Café and Smiths Grocery Café within a short walking distance from the Hotel.

The staff at the hotel were so obliging and I personally believe the nicest group of Receptionists I have ever come across. They are an asset to the CityLife Hotel. I would like to say a big thankyou to Christine who was so helpful and obliging.

All in all I think this is a perfect place to stay and if you can get a package deal in a two bedroom suite (with a kitchen)... its a great destination whilst staying in Wellington.

Room Tip: Cable Car, Tepapa Museum, Bank Building with Smiths Grocery Café, Crab Shack.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lez_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear lez_lee,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at CityLife Wellington. It is part of our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team especially Christine who provided exceptional service on your stay.

We look forward to hosting to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a family weekend city break here and the location was perfect. the two bedroom unit was spacious and very comfortable. The only downside was the parents room was on the main road side of the unit and the room must have very minimal sound proofing as we were woken from 2am and had a very broken night sleep, lucky the kids had an internal room and slept right through!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Theresa C,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you with the noise you experienced during your stay with us. However, I am pleased that you found the suite comfortable and spacious for your family.

We look forward to hosting your family on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had a lovely stay here while in Wellington. The hotel is so central. We had a fantastic room, only 2 like it in the hotel, totally stunning. Had the whow factor alright. The staff were amazing and made us feel so at home.
The breakfast was nice but unusual. The lady never did come back to get me coffee lol but never mind we were in a bit of a hurry. We ordered room serivce for our dinner and it arrived piping hot and truely lovely.
Thankyou heritage Wellington, can tick you off now, the only one I havent been to now is Nelson, so its on the list.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHERYL407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear SHERYL407,

Thank you so much for sharing your feeback on TripAdvisor and for your loyalty towards Heritage Hotels.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stays at all our hotels. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you plan to visit Nelson and I will personally look after all your arrangements.

We look forward to your continued support of Heritage Hotels.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights early Nov 2013 in a 1 bedroom apartment. The apartment was well appointed and spacious. There was a good sofa suite and a decent sized table.

It is a good location to the city, and regular visitors/residents of Wellington will know that Lambton Quay is within walking distance to most of Wellington's attractions.

These apartments would be great if you were in town for business, or if you were here for an event at the Stadium TSB Arena or Te Papa and perhaps didn't want to hire a car. Because my wife and I have slightly different sleep patterns, the apartments were good as they allowed enough space for someone to sleep in one room and someone else to watch TV or read in the other room.

I should note I had a friend stay here in the year 2000 and the facilities don't appear to have been upgraded since then. They are well maintained but they are close to needed a refresh. This is not 5-Star accommodation and I wouldn't necessarily recommend it for a romantic get-away. That's not to suggest that it is below standard at all.

I don't believe free wi-fi is included as part of the standard booking, nor is car parking ($15 / night)

Room Tip: We stayed in a room that was above Lambton Quay which got pretty noisy in the mornings on working da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear buds_nz,

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay at CityLife Wellington and found the suites well appointed.

We do have Wi-Fi included in our rooms when you book on our website. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when you next require accommodation in Wellington and I can personally look after the arrangements.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great location for shopping & could walk easily to Wellingtons attractions. Rooms were tastefully decorated & roomy. Staff were helpful. Great complimentary coffee in the foyer anytime! Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher level as there will be no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Andrea W,

Thank you for taking the time to share a lovely feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you want to be right in the centre of Wellington, then City Life on Lambton Quay is excellent. As a wheelchair user, it worked perfectly for me. Accessibility in the 2-BR apartment was good, with good grab rails in bathroom and roll in shower, although the kitchen had no drive-under benches. Staff all gave excellent service, and were helpful and friendly. I had an extended stay and because of City Life's location on the 1840 shoreline was able to use all the flat downtown area easily. Thanks Viresh and all staff for a great stay.

Room Tip: Swimming pool and spa were not used by me
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sue s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Sue S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations on your extended stay at CityLife Wellington.

We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Wellington. Also, thank you very much from the team for the box of chocolates - they disappeared in no time :)

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.1 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing