We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
CityLife Wellington
Nearby Hotels
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$123
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
$116
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$181
$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$133
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$190
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
ibis Wellington(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$84
$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Cambridge Hotel(Wellington)(Great Value!)
$59
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
$144
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Airport Motel(Wellington)
$89
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
$90
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (936)
Filter reviews
936 results
Traveler rating
348
414
128
37
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
348
414
128
37
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity lifelambton quaycable cardirectors suitegreat locationbedroom apartmentfull kitchengilmer terracewashing machine and dryermain bedroomcentral locationliving areakitchen facilitiescontinental breakfastan upgradewithin easy walking distancebit dated
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
758 - 763 of 936 reviews
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We landed in Wellington just 30 minutes after the earthquake on 16 August. It took 2 hours to reach the hotel because of the traffic but when we arrived Julie and Christine on the reception couldn't have been more welcoming. They had just had to cope with an earthquake but they were calm, efficient and friendly. We had a two bedroom suite on the 7th floor that was clean, bright, modern, fully-equipped - perfect in fact! The location is very central and we were able to easily walk to various places including Te Papa museum, Embassy cinema, Old St Paul's, Parliament Building, cable car, Kirkcaldie and Staines. If we return to Wellington we will definitely stay at the CityLife again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMSJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear JMSJP

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our suites perfect!

I will also share your kind words with our team especially with Julie and Christine. It was a challenging day for all staff and they did exceptionally well under the circumstances.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

5 night stay 29 July to 3 August. Dark and claustrophobic 2 bedroom suite on floor 1. Ran out of hot water after 2 showers and we were told there should be sufficient for 4 short showers !! Didn't want to imagine bath time. Because of this and all our lights fusing 2 days later we got to know the hotel handyman pretty well. Nice guy - can't say the same of the reception staff who were oh so polite but lacking real customer service. Needs a good refurb - not just superficially but electrics and hot water supply. Disappointed to have to seek out manager to discuss issues and that there was no proactive effort to seek us out and apologise for the poor service

Room Tip: Don't accept floor 1 or 2 - very subterranean
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Lynne H

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on your recent stay with us.

We strive to achieve excellent service standards but unfortunately this time, we failed to deliver. I have discussed your feedback with my team to ensure such an occurence is not repeated. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to further discuss your feedback.

We hope to have an opportunity to host you again and exceed your expectations.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have stayed at CityLife on a couple of occasions now and cannot fault the quality of the staff, rooms, service and location. It is now the only place I will stay when I come to Wellington, whether I am travelling with the whole family or alone. I love that you can simply take the lift downstairs and walk straight out onto buzzing Lambton Quay with an easy walk to all of Wellington's best attractions, shopping and restaurants. The rooms are huge - both times I have had a two bedroom suite with a massive lounge, dining and kitchen area with everything you need to be self contained but with all the benefits of hotel service. Beds are very comfy and bedrooms and bathrooms are also large. Great to have a washing machine and dryer especially with kids! Beautiful breakfasts included in our package. Cannot rate CityLife Wellington highly enough, particularly for families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puddlejumper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Puddlejumper24

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that your family enjoyed the recent stay in one of our our spacious suites. I will also share your kind words about our service with the team.

We look forward to hosting you family again in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Looked on wotif for good rate but couldn't get dates I wanted so went direct to CityLife website and they had same rates on there so dealt direct. Impressed with the size of the two bedroom apartment we had. Well equiped. Clean. Did get a bit of noise (we in room 301) but not too bad. The windows are disgusting, even though hidden behind curtains (one part falling down) - do think a quick hose down would be worth it (visible dirty facade/windows when look up from street front). Apartments very clean inside though and good supply of towels etc.
Shower a challenge to keep water in shower and not on floor. Beds a bit firm, but OK. Spare blanket in cupboard which we used. Used gym, well set up. Staff helpful and friendly. Restaurant where you have breakfast a bit different to what I expected but lovely coffee, bircher meusli, and fruits - so $17.50 prepurchase reasonable. Would stay there again as location great.

Room Tip: We were in 301 so on street frontage, little bit of construction noise from beside and opposite hotel, but not too bad.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GTG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear GTG2

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor as it gives us an opportunity to continually review our service and facilities.

Please accept my sincere apology over the dirty windows. Cleaning this has been challenging for us due to the seismic strengthening work happening around the hotel.

However, I am delighted that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and found our suites well equipped and spacious.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We arrived after lunch on Saturday with 5 adults and 20 very excited teenage girls. The staff were very welcoming and checked us into our rooms very quickly. The staff were very helpful and infomative and gave us great information about local restaurants and places to go in the city. We checked out the following morning and they agreed to let us all leave our luggage there all day, we came back at 6.00 that evening when the staff booked us into a waterfront restaurant for dinner and then we came back at 8.30 to wait for our shuttle to the airport. Excellent service!

The rooms were large, clean and perfect for our stay, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaTindale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear LisaTindale

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on TipAdvisor.

We are pleased that your group throroughly enjoyed your time in Wellington and your stay with us. I will share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews