We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Taranaki NZ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay ...”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have had 4 nights at Citylife in a 1 bedroom apartment and loved it. The only little gripe I have is that we had requested a room on the Lampton Quay side of Hotel (as I was aware that the back rooms looked out into a cliff) but we were given a back room. I mentioned this to reception but they were full and couldn't move us until the next day. This was handled really well and sure enough by 11am the following day the staff moved all our gear etc to another room. They did warn us that Lampton Quay rooms do get a bit noisy with some Earthquake restructuring work going on out the front but this was fine we could hardly hear it but appreciated the warning.
The room was fantastic, so spacious and well set out. Lovely comfy bed, gorgeous couch/chaise in lounge.
We had some big sleep ins where we there so we had missed housekeeping, but they would always return at some point through the day when we were out to service the room.
Location, perfect!
Carparking, 1st night we had to park over road in Wilsons carpark but I moved car the next morning to Hotel carpark for the rest of stay, it was convienant, safe and easy to access.
Staff were lovely, from telephone booking, to front desk, room service, to housekeeping.
This will always be high on our list of places to stay when visiting Wellington from now on.
Thanks Citylife for a great 4 days :)

Room Tip: Lampton Quay facing rooms have a better view out windows than back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeknaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear jeknaki,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will share your kind words with the team.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    382
    113
    33
    6
See reviews for
303
239
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

One night in Wellington for a family celebration. It was a cold , wet windy Wellington day but our accomodation was warm and spacious. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with dining and kitchen facilities. Clean warm and tidy. Great location for a browse around Lambton Quay and supermarket 5 minute walk. Handy if you are cooking in your apartment.
Well done Citylife will visit again.
Staf attentive and informative on booking in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocee_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear ocee_10

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

Also, thank you for your kind comments. It is our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed five nights and would stay here again.

Staff are generally helpful. Gym is basic but functional. Could do with a leg-press or squat rack. No pool. Free printing at the business centre. Peaceful at night. Good location. Not much of a view though. Wifi is 500mb per day and whilst functional for browsing purposes you wouldn't want to be videoconferencing or streaming videos with it.

Room Tip: Be careful if you wish to work in your room during the daytime. The building next door is being reno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JS231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear JS231

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful. Thank your for your comments about the gym equipment as we will review this when we next upgrade our gym. Also, my apologies for any inconvenience caused due to the seismic strengthening work happening next door. We expect this work to finish by August/September.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, handy to the waterfront and the main shopping areas. The rooms we had were large, clean and comfortable. The staff, also were very good and helpful. I stay regularly in Wellington and have stayed many different places, usually we need a 2 bedroom suite so that narrows the choice, we will definitely stay here again. It was certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Liz C

Thanks for taking the time to provide your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us especially our large comfortable suites and helpful staff.

We look forward to hosting you again at CityLife Wellington on your next visit.

Regards
Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights and had numerous friends staying other rooms. All rooms were large and presented well. First room I was put in was on the road side on level 1 and there was a heap of road traffic and construction noise. To be fair the whole of Wellington is in the middle of earthquake Re-strengthening so it was the Hotels fault. Anyway the Management very quickly moved me to a room on the other side of the Hotel which was fine and a lot better. Location was excellent and was only a 5 minute walk to the water front

Room Tip: If you are there for a fun weekend do stay at the street side as it is full on
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear toja69

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you with the construction noise you experienced. You are right in pointing out the seismic strengthening work happening around Wellington.

Again, thanks for providing us with your feedback and your understanding with the noise. I trust we will have an opportunity to host you again on your next trip to Wellington

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkes Bay
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at CityLife for the recent Disney on Ice Show. Excellent staff from reception to housekeeping, very friendly and made a fuss of the kids. Clean and comfortable rooms and quiet at night. Very good continental breakfast which was well priced with the kids eating for free. Great location on Lambton Quay and easy parking at a reasonable price. Would definately return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Willbi,

Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed stay with us and found our staff engaging and friendly.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for seven nights during the lead up to Anzac Day football game. Great service and lovely suite...the only issue perhaps being no opening windows making it a bit stuffy. Yes there was construction work next door but we were warned about it at check in.

Super friendly reception and housekeeping staff. Nothing was too much trouble.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Michael E

Thank you for the taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found our staff super friendly. I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for any inconvenience caused with the noise and lack of windows in the room that could open.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing