We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great central location with parking (at a cost). A very spacious, comfortable, quiet, well equipped and safe apartment. The apartment also included a washing machine. I would highly recommend this for young families or groups of friends in the city for the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Dear Tom H,

Thanks for positive feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay at CityLife Wellington. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 891 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

Booked the Directors 2 bed suite for an overnight stay but upon arrival were told that the previous nights guests had been smoking in the room and the staff were unable to clear the smell from the suite entirely. Staff (Julie) then offered a couple of options to accomodate our needs with alternative suites / rooms we were taken to the rooms so we could make an informed decision. What really impressed us was the fact that the hotel was up front and very apologetic about the smoking situation - as we have stayed in many a place where this has occured and nothing was said before check in.

We chose to stay in a 2 bed suite 1 x queen and 2 x single beds, room had a balcony, very roomy lounge and dining area, good sized well equiped kitchen, bathroom with laundry facilities and queen room had its own toilet and flat screen tv. Decor of the room was ok - nothing fancy but it was clean and very comfortable. The balcony was fanatastic as the weather was pretty warm.

I would suggest doing your homework before driving there as it could be quite confusing if you were not aware of the dual entrances - the actual "drive up" entrance doesnt really look like a reception area and the Lampton Quay entrance is not one you would use for check in if you had a car. I think this hotel is fine for business or short stays as it is right in the city and close to everything.

Best thing was reception staff (Julie) fantastic service!! thanks so much.

Room Tip: 2 bed suite with balcony is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staynova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear staynova,

Thank you for choosing to stay at CityLife Wellington and providing your feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay.

I am pleased you enjoyed our friendly but professional service. It is our culture to celebrate success and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I will pass on your kind words to Julie and the rest of the team.

We look forward to hosting you again at CityLife on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were not best pleased with this hotel though we were only there for one night so no drama! We were given a huge suite on the top floor, 7th, and the lift only goes to 6th floor so we had to go up and down a back staircase to access floor. Room was very tired looking and in desperate need of refurbishment as it was all old and tatty. Like something out of the seventies! Stained carpets and the sofa in the lounge was marked and stained. Kitchen facilities were very good in so far as everything needed was there. Paid bill by cash on departure and then later we found we had been charged on credit card for mini bar items that we had not used. To date this has not been rectified despite emails to hotel!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank NS_Sevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear NS_Sevenoaks,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

I sincerely apologise as your stay did not meet the high standard that we strive for. Also, please do not hesitate to contact me directly so I can resolve the minibar issue at the earliest.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked a two room apartment for two nights.
The Hotel had a basic kitchen and the place had the artwork screwed to the wall.

We stayed one night and moved to another hotel.

It just lacks things to make it enjoyable Would avoid this hotel on next visit

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Rob B,

Thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

I sincerely apologise that the room did not meet your expectations. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to provide specific details so that we can further improve our product and services.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was very disappointed with this hotel considering the rather favourable reviews. We stayed for four days and to be assigned a room under the entrance ramp, where you can't tell whether it's day or night is not pleasant. The bedroom was totally blind with no windows at all and there was no way of controlling the temperature as none of the windows in the living area opened either. The bedroom was stifling. It might have just about been OK for a 1 night stay, arriving late and leaving early.
It's a shame as the location is fine and the staff were pleasant enough and the room as such was well equipped.
I won't be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear catmouse,

Thanks for providing your valuable feedback following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

I sincerely apologise that lighting in your room was insufficient. We continually strive to improve our service and facilities and feedback such as yours is an integral part of this process. I am plased to hear that you found our staff pleasant and location very central.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This one had the right combination - inner-city location, free parking and spacious rooms.
Step out onto the main street for shopping and restaurants. Parking was a bit tricky as its not under the complex but its not too far away and its included in the price. Most hotels in town don't offer it as an option.
The 1-bed apartment was huge, plenty of space to spread out and laundry facilities in the room for a convenient wash and re-pack.
And friendly helpful staff as well - nice one crew!

Room Tip: The back of the building is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Austenette,

Thank you for choosing to stay at CityLife Hotel and for your lovely feedback!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very helpful. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Central in Wellington - average comfortable overnight stay in 2 bedroom apartment. Handy to all facilities in the city. Desk service was very friendly and helpful. Nothing fantastic but certainly very adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineNettie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear ChristineNettie2012,

Thanks for choosing to stay at CityLife Wellington and providing us with your valuable feedback. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#16 of 47 in Wellington
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#8 of 47 in Wellington
1,939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 47 in Wellington
1,425 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $102 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing