We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I was very disappointed with this hotel considering the rather favourable reviews. We stayed for four days and to be assigned a room under the entrance ramp, where you can't tell whether it's day or night is not pleasant. The bedroom was totally blind with no windows at all and there was no way of controlling the temperature as none of the windows in the living area opened either. The bedroom was stifling. It might have just about been OK for a 1 night stay, arriving late and leaving early.
It's a shame as the location is fine and the staff were pleasant enough and the room as such was well equipped.
I won't be staying here again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank catmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear catmouse,

Thanks for providing your valuable feedback following your stay at CityLife Wellington.

I sincerely apologise that lighting in your room was insufficient. We continually strive to improve our service and facilities and feedback such as yours is an integral part of this process. I am plased to hear that you found our staff pleasant and location very central.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 875 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This one had the right combination - inner-city location, free parking and spacious rooms.
Step out onto the main street for shopping and restaurants. Parking was a bit tricky as its not under the complex but its not too far away and its included in the price. Most hotels in town don't offer it as an option.
The 1-bed apartment was huge, plenty of space to spread out and laundry facilities in the room for a convenient wash and re-pack.
And friendly helpful staff as well - nice one crew!

Room Tip: The back of the building is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Austenette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Austenette,

Thank you for choosing to stay at CityLife Hotel and for your lovely feedback!

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very helpful. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Central in Wellington - average comfortable overnight stay in 2 bedroom apartment. Handy to all facilities in the city. Desk service was very friendly and helpful. Nothing fantastic but certainly very adequate for our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineNettie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear ChristineNettie2012,

Thanks for choosing to stay at CityLife Wellington and providing us with your valuable feedback. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Pros: Great location (centre of the city, walkable to all major tourist destinations), very friendly and capable staff, all rooms come with a kitchenette, the cleaning staff left us a basket outside our door with a complete set of clean towels and bathroom amenities (we left the "Do Not Disturb" sign on the door since we didn't need our room to be cleaned), free car parking, has gym facilities, secure building entry after hours.

Cons: Mattress was very (too) springy, no free internet in hotel room, the interior quality of hotel rooms is not consistent (we got what seemed to be a smaller room with older decor (it was clean though!), whereas our friends had a spacious, newly refurbished room), since it is on the main CBD strip there aren't a lot of restaurants/cafes nearby, mainly retail shops that close around 4-5PM.

The Lambton Quay entrance (the hotel's official address) is only accessible by foot. The hotel lobby (if you are going in with a car) is actually located at the "back entrance" of the building, which is on Gilmer Terrace.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay and we felt a warm welcome by all the staff across the board. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear candyichiban,

Thanks for your lovely feedback. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very welcoming and friendly. I will pass on your kind words to the team.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Sited amongst the shops and a couple of streets back from the museums and waterfront bars and restaurants, as well as a few paces from the funicular which takes you up to the botanical gardens, this was a pefect location from which to walk around compact Wellington. There are a few parking spaces at the front and we were lucky but other parking was available nearby. We had a two-bedroomed apartment with large kitchen area , big sitting-room with dining-table , sofas and tv, one internall bedroom with ensuite batroom and another double with external window and loo/washbasin. The bathroom had full laundry (washing machine and tumble dryer) as well as loo, basin, bath and shower. We used the bedroom with internal window to sitting room and only complaint was lack of any dressing-table or shelving to put down hand bag, make-up, contents of pockets etc - only storage space was in wardrobe. Same in other bedroom and as there was building work in adjoining building, internal bedroom was quieter after 8am. Our room was clean,modern and furnished to a high standard and the kitchen was well equipped. Breakfast buffet available at reception level - 6th floor, it's an upside-down hotel with lifts down to rooms and street level. We used the buffet on the first day and made our own fruit, toast and coffee the second as we had an early start for the ferry to South Island. Recommended for a city break.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhallcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear mhallcool,

Thanks for providing such a lovely and thorough feedback about CityLife. Am glad you enjoyed our central location and teh spacious suites.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards.

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Citylife for one night. The location is good and right in the centre of Wellington. The room was spacious and the staff were helpful and very friendly. The hotel does feel rather tired though and the facilities are a bit limited but as we were only staying one night, this wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOTTLEFINK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear NOTTLEFINK,

Thanks for providing us with your valuable feedback as it gives us an opportunity to continually improve our service and facilties.

We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Wellington.

Kind regards

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

Excelent location but old and dirty. In case of respiratory allergy, don't came. Apartments Windows face a black wall. The acess to the internet is a joke! Recepcion services are very good as the size of the apartment. It's a shame it's so dirty and smeels llike mold.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear Monica G,

Thanks for providing your valuable feedback as it gives us an opportunity to continually review our service and facilities. I have addressed the cleanliness issues you have highlighted in your feedback to ensure that such an occurence is not repeated. We take pride in delivering high standard of service but unfortunately this time, we failed to deliver for which I sincerely apologise.

We look forward for an opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
vireshm@heritagehotels.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,908 reviews
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $110 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing