We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Travelled with two other couples and we all had rooms on different floors but we coupd meet up in the foyer area in the bar and take our own drinks up there -novel idea.The rooms were very big but we did not have a sink to wash up in so had to use the one in the bathroom.Great position and close to all sightseeing . Girl on the desk was very helpful

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has full kitchen facilities
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear vickij20,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room spacious.

We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for CityLife Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 860 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed at Citylife for a long 3 day girls weekend away. We were in Wellington for WOW – the World of Wearablearts Awards Show.

We booked and prepaid for a 2-bedroom apartment online.

Check in was smooth and easy. We stayed in room 108, located at the back of the hotel. I had my own room and my two friends shared the other double room. The apartment was nice and spacious with a good sized living and dining area. Beds were comfy and overall the apartment was clean and tidy. The kitchen was well equipped with utensils, wine opener, bowls etc. The bathroom was a large “wet room” style.

Overall we were happy with our stay, but there were a few small issues…

Air conditioning
The room was warm and stuffy. At times it was uncomfortable. There was no way to keep the aircon at a comfortable temperature. I’m a warm weather person, never without a few layers of clothes in winter and the room was even too hot for me at times. Not at all comfortable when using a hair dryer.

Bathroom
The bathroom is a great size, but has no bench space or basic shelving. There is one small glass shelf (we used for our toothbrushes) and that’s it. We had to carry our toiletries in and back out of the shower. For 3 girls, this was a bit of a hassle.

Lighting
In general hotel lighting is always a bit dodgy, but it was particularly bad in our room. There is a mirror in all the rooms, but the placement of lighting means there is a huge shadow. Again for 3 girls applying makeup not great. We ended up using hand held mirrors and also the mirror outside the room on the way to the elevator.

With all that stuff said, these weren’t major deal breakers for us and we still enjoyed our stay.

In terms of location it was perfect for WOW at the TSB Arena. Located on Lambton Quay there is also a good mix of mainstream shopping, right on the doorstep (Just Jeans, Max, Jeans West). The cable car is a minute walk away, with Te Papa an easy 15-minute walk away. What we discovered is the location isn’t so good in the evening or on a Sunday. There isn’t a huge choice of dinner options or food in general on Sunday. We walked around 10 minutes to the Cuba Street and Courtney Place areas for dinner and drinks. The area really is a ghost town on Sunday night.

Would I stay at Citylife again? Yes I would happily, but I would also look into other options in areas with more nightlife and dinning options.

Things we enjoyed…
Wellington is a vibrant city, with lots to do during a weekend stay. Besides WOW we really enjoyed high tea at Hippopotamus at the Museum Art Hotel, Te Papa and the shopping and cafes along Cuba Street Mall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bellakoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear bellakoka,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Wellington for WOW. The atmosphere in city was amazing that week with so many visitors.

I really appreciate the feedback you have provided us relating to air-conditioning, space in the bathroom and lighting. We are in the process of installing individual air-conditioners in all the rooms and also reviewing various lighting options.

Again, thank you so much for providing us with your feedback as it gives us an opporunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities. We trust to have an opportunity to welcome you back at CityLife Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Four of us girls (thirty-somethings!) went to Wellington to see the World of Wearable Arts show. I booked Citylife after doing a little research online. It was reasonably priced and well located. I booked directly with them, and at $261 per night for a two bedroom/1 bathroom apartment it suited us perfectly.

When we first arrived, the apartment looked clean (apart from a cobweb or two near the ceiling and some food left by previous guests in the fridge) and comfortable. Our only problem was the noise from Lambton Quay buses (and the odd drunk person making their way past the hotel), even though we were on the sixth floor.

It is also a bit of a trek to the entertainment district of Courtney Place and Cuba Street, but we just organised taxis through reception and at $10-$15 a trip it was okay.

Room Tip: Hmmm... maybe ask if they have anything with a bedroom not directly on the Lambton Quay side.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear Angelco,

Firstly, my apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback. I sincerely appreciate for the feedback you have provided on TripAdvisor following your stay with us.

I sincerely apologise as the cleaning standards were not met on your stay with us. I have discussed this with my team to ensure such an occurence is not repeated.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future or for next WOW!

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in a two bedroom self-contained room. A mini-apartment really. Very comfortable, central base from which to explore Wellington, which is a beautiful and interesting city. Great staff too.
However none of the rooms have a view of the harbour and parking at the hotel itself is (very) limited, and there is no room service. Despite this, the positives far outweigh the negatives and, but for the woeful WiFi, I'd recommend this place unequivocally.
Woeful WiFi? Extremely slow and very unreliable, with a niggardly download limit on top of the time limit, which makes what seems to be a relatively modest charge very expensive indeed. Reminds me of the old dial-up days. It is not a good memory.
WiFi is now an essential and good WiFi at no or at a true 'at-cost' charge should be the norm. If you depend on or need reliable internet access, stay elsewhere. Otherwise, this place is probably as good as any.

Room Tip: Sixth (top) floor rooms are on the same level as reception. No stairs or elevator needed.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mg788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageAucklandFOM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Dear mg788,

Firstly, my apologies for the delay in responding to your feedback. I thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us but for Wi-fi. I can assure you that our prices for internet are very competitive however I am dissappointed to hear about the slow connection you experienced. We have recently upgraded our internet connection and are proud to offer high speed internet at a competitive cost. I will pass on your feedback to our internet provider and monitor other guests' feedback on this matter.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedrooms apartment at CityLife Wellington for two nights (2 couples). The apartment was great, very modern, clean and spacious with pretty much all you need for short or extended stay.
- rooms: clean, spacious, with extra tv, extra toilet (in master bedroom) and very well furnished
- bathroom: clean and with washing machine / dryer
- kitchen/living room: great and practical
- staff: nice and helpful (brought extra blankets)
- location: very central, perfect
- breakfast: N/A
- facilities: N/A but everything is extra
- price: was a bit above our budget and probably the most expensive accommodation during our trip.

Some improvements:
- dryer was not working well and no maintenance staff came to fix it even though I called twice
- parking not included
- internet not included

Would recommend it or go back if I can find a better deal with a lower price (or including breakfast/parking/internet).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeCacoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear LeCacoin,

Our apologies that there was not a response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks upon first arriving in Wellington from Canada. We were with our 2 year old son and were in a 2 bedroom suite. We thought the suite was excellent, very clean and modern. It had a small kitchenette, but it was not very well equipped so you couldn't really do very much in the way of cooking, it also had it's own laundry facilities which was perfect as I hate going home to piles of laundry . The hotel was in a great location and the staff helpful. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smatthews76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2016

Dear Smatthews76,

Our apologies that there was not a response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked a 1 bedroom executive room but upon checkin was upgraded to a 2 bedroom Suite.
All i can say is the room was excellant with a spacious lounge and 2 nicely appointed bedrooms.Kitchenette had everything from toaster to microwave.Bathroom was a bit small but had a washer and dryer with detergent provided!!!
Friendly receptionist who took the trouble to explain how to get to the room and how to activate the lights upon entering.
Location was great as it was right in the middle of the shopping area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWLGMgr, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2016

Dear AsianWorldTraveller,

Our apologies that there was no response to your review a lot earlier but the team at Citylife hotel thank you that you had taken time out to provide us with valuable feedback regarding your stay which always helps us to improve upon our product and services.

Kind Regards
Hotel Manager
Akash Sood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,175 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,888 reviews
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $108 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing