We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value/Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CityLife Wellington
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
new Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Value/Great Location”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Four of us - 3 adults & one teenager - stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for a couple of nights. We had 2 twin bed in one room and a queen in the other - would have preferred 4 twins but that probably isn't an issue for most people.
Pros - roomy, reasonable decor, comfy beds, excellent location (Wellington is a great walkable city), reasonable cost parking available, clean & friendly staff. Rooms have a dishwasher and clothes washer/dryer - plus a small supply of powers for both.
Bathroom was fine, but only one bathroom and toilet isn't separate, so got a bit tight in the mornings or when we all wanted to go out at night.
Room had an adequate kitchen area, but could do with better pans and a few more pieces of crockery (4 of the basics and some items missing) - wouldn't want to try and cook a meal here, but was fine for whipping up breakfast - and the fridge kept the wine cool, so we were more than happy..
Cons - none I can think of.
Would definitely look at staying here again, particularly for the price we paid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelite42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear travelite42,

Thank you for choosing to stay at CityLife Wellington and providing us with your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I have taken your comments on board about our kitchen amenities and will look at our options of ensuring the kitchen is well equipped with desired utensils. I am pleased to read that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms spacious, location great and the staff helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    382
    112
    33
    6
See reviews for
303
238
27
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N.S.W. Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Our extended family chose to stay here for a family birthday. We had the studio room, two family members had two bedroom suites, and another the three bedroom suite. All great .The helpfullness of the concierge was without parallel, going to the trouble of getting global roaming to work on my new phone. Our room the studio was large with a comfortable bed, and a huge bathroom, only slight complaint was the wardrobe was tiny for hanging suits and evening wear. Because the hotel is small this enabled the concierge to ring around the four of us to let us know what everyone else was doing, or they were waiting in the lobby etc, he delighted in booking mini bus taxis etc. The location was close to the cable car in Lambton Quay, which made it an easy walk for shopping and resturants, plus parliament house. This is probably one of the best value for money hotel we have had the pleasure of staying in,. The final plus we noticed on the last day when we realised that the hotel employeed a disabled gentelman to do the basic cleaning, what winners.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Killcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Killcare,

Thanks for chosing to stay with us on a special occasion.

I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff very helpful. We enjoy celebrating successes and receving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I wil pass on your kind words to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at CityLife Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Fantastic service at this venue. The pre-arrival concierge was fantastically helpful and organised a can from the airport into the hotel and then back again when we left, and Max at reception was also incredibly helpful, doing the confirmations for my tours over the next few days, and giving us directions for around the city.

The apartment was fantastic, clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and I'd happily stay there again.

The only downside is that it is awkward to get to for cab service due to the nature of the back-lane access.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Brendan M,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

We love to celebrate successes and receiving positive feedback is an integral part of this process. I am pleased that you found our service fantastic on your stay and that we could be of help during your time in Wellington.

Again, thank you for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back at CityLife Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We were looking for a two bedroom, two bathroom suite in central Wellington and this definitely fit the bill. Our suite was very comfortable, clean, and the staff was very helpful. I thought I had booked a suite with two rooms with queen beds (perhaps I made a mistake and didn't), so originally we were sent to a suite with one room with twin beds, but the lovely receptionist very nicely made a chance without any complaint. They were very helpful with directions and booking taxis for us. We didn't try breakfast so can't comment on the food. But the location couldn't be better for restaurants, and our walk to Parliament and TePapa. We were able to walk from the train station to the hotel with our rolling luggage without a problem.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear happy12054,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor following your stay from CityLife Wellington.

I am pleased that apart from the initial hiccup upon check in, you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff helpful.

We look forward to welcome you back to CityLife Wellington on your next visit to NZ.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We booked the CityLife Wellington at last minute, after weeks of trying to find accommodation for 3 adults and 2 children at a resonable price.
This hotel was perfect for us, unfortunately we didnt get to spend much time there,as the airport had been closed most of the day so we were late arriving, then left at 6.45am the next morning for the overlander train.
Reception staff were good, no complaints.
Room great, very large, 2 ensuite bathrooms and everything we needed. 7 Yr old slept on the couch, could have slept another child it was large like the apartment.
Overall. nice hotel and room, would stay again.

Room Tip: we had and executive 2 bedroom apartment booked, but think we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom directors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tee1969_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Tee1969_10,

Thanks for choosing to stay at CityLife Wellington and posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased that you and your family had a great stay with us and found the rooms ideal for your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Viresh Mathur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

CityLife Auckland is accessed at the top (6th floor), and the approach and parking is very challenging for drivers, especially shuttle drivers with trailers. The reception desk staff was excellent for me at check in and check out, very helpful with luggage both times. My third floor room was spacious and very nicely appointed and included a kitchen and laundry facilities in the bathroom. The only thing I didn't like was the "view" out of the window, lots of concrete - but it did provide some natural light and after dark that no longer mattered. I appreciated the fitness centre, also located on the 3rd floor (far away from guest rooms - no concerns)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear D M,

Thanks for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff excellent during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We have stayed here a couple of times and find it good value for two bedrooms (and a lounge/kitchen).

The hotel rooms are a bit depressing as there is not much light as the building is surrounded by other tall buildings. In the past I have found the maintenance of the rooms poor but this time I found it better (but there were still a couple of small things not working). Be aware that the 2nd bedroom is an internal room. In the past we have woken up early due to the street noise but this time our room was slightly higher.

There is no night-life near-by. We walked outside on the Saturday night and found nothing open for food in the area. We also had to walk about ten minutes on a Sunday morning to find breakfast. There is plenty of shopping right outside the hotel (once it all opens).

There was plenty of parking at a fair price. I will continue to stay here when with my kids but only as I can't find anything better in the city.

Room Tip: don't pay the extra for the exec.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityLifeWellingtonGM, General Manager at CityLife Wellington, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear guynz,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to inform you that we are in the process of changing the light fittings to improve lighting in all our rooms.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming your family again at CityLife Wellington.

Kind Regards,

Viresh Mathur
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
0.4 mi away
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Bolton Hotel Wellington
#3 of 46 in Wellington
1,391 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
747 reviews
0.6 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#7 of 46 in Wellington
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLife Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLife Wellington

Property: CityLife Wellington
Address: 300 Lambton Quay, Wellington 6001, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Wellington
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#9 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#13 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — CityLife Wellington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CityLife Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citylife Wellington Hotel Wellington
Citylife Hotel Wellington
Wellington Citylife Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing