We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #27 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Thanks for a great stay whilst I attended a conference in Wellington. Friendly staff and a comfortable room for my time away from home made it easier. Thanks very much :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leyna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (334)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 334 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

My partner and I used Capital View as a quick stopover before heading up the north island. We had a friendly, helpful welcome and the room was clean. The idea of a view of the city appealed to us especially as we weren't going to see much of it. Having asked for a room on a higher up floor, we did have a view but not directly of the city. However, it did provide distance from the road noise below, unfortunately not from the latecomers who could only use the the fire escape stairs to ascend to their rooms. The staircase seemed to echo every sound, a little disturbing at night to say the least. One other distraction was the car park light shining in through our window. If you are going to stay here during the winter, wrap up warm as the heater tried its hardest to warm up the room but think most of the heat escaped through the drafty single glazed windows!?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

In its current form this hotel is never going to earn points for trendiness or all the amenities one might expect. So while it does feel a tad outdated, our room was spotlessly clean, the bathroom doesn't feel outdated having been, I suspect, renovated, and the beds were comfortable. Being on the first floor we did get some street noise but it wasn't overwhelming or even very distracting. And the location of this hotel, while not central city, is excellent as the heart of Wellington is a short walk down the always exotic Cuba Street. All in all, good value - just manage your expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stokenelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Capital View was in a handy location for many attractions we wanted to see and the shopping was a 15 min walk to main centre. Our room was always clean and tidy and got good friendly service. I would recommend Capital View to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kels96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Mark at reception was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Enjoyed our room on the 5th floor with fantstic views of Wellington and the harbour.
The room was very comfortable with basic cooking facilities. It was serviced everyday and we were very impressed with the standard of cleanliness.
Capital View Motor Inn is in a great location. It is in a very quiet street but only 1 minute walk to the top of Cuba St.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenStoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This hotel seemed to have decent Tripadvisor rankings so I went for it without much reading reviews and was pretty disappointed. But first it has to be said that the welcome could not have been better and the room was spotless.

The room I was in, and the lobby at least, can not have been decorated since 1980 - maybe even 1970. Starting from handwritten numbers for the floors in the lift, really outdated decor everywhere, one tiny fluorescent light for the e/s showerroom, two yellowed old plugin heaters for the room, single glazing, the list was endless.

Wifi was NZ$7 for an hour or $15 for 24 hours. The one hour charge runs for 60 minutes from when you first log in, so if you only use it for five minutes then you waste the rest of the hour. You can't use it in parts.

I paid NZ$110 and I did have a good nights sleep. The location was quiet enough, and being at the top end of Cuba St its just 5-10 mins walk to a good selection of restaurants. But unless you are on a budget, and can't get anything near this price in Wellington I would avoid. Its well, WELL overdue for a refit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nickb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Mark was very helpful from the moment we stepped inside. Our room was very comfortable and the accommodation was central to all places we visited. Being on a "road trip" we had a car - but didn't acutally use it while sightseeing around Wellington. Parking at Capital View Motor Inn was monitored and no extra charge. Being central was both good and bad. Excellent location to Cuba Mall for meals but did get a bit of central city traffic noise.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
1.3 mi away
Shepherds Arms Hotel
Shepherds Arms Hotel
#32 of 47 in Wellington
154 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#15 of 47 in Wellington
690 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trinity Hotel
Trinity Hotel
#29 of 47 in Wellington
540 reviews
1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#14 of 47 in Wellington
2,262 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#12 of 47 in Wellington
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $85 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing