We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Capital View Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love the location!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd time my family and I have stayed here. The rooms are a little dated but there is plenty of natural light, making the rooms light and bright. It is clean and serviced daily. The host is welcoming and the location is good, because we walked everywhere! Being right in town is excellent. My 2 daughters got stuck in the lifts for a short time, but this just added to their experiences! We all had a little chuckle when we left. We think it's a great place for families too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank valiantranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    152
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
94
156
11
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Perfect choice for everyone who's looking for a simple, affordable and nice hotel. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and tidy. + it has free off-street parking which gives a great advantage over other hotels in central Welly!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZAbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Easy to drive to from the ferry terminal or to out of town north, and a great location for seeing the city on foot. Off street parking was adequate. The manager was very friendly and helpful. The room was pleasant and clean, zero problems. Cuba Street, with many different restaurants and shops, was just a block away. A very nice walk to the waterfront. Would easily stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Our family of 3 enjoyed an 8 night stay in a 1 bedroom apartment. Our room, although a little dated, was spotless and very functional. The hotel is well located for a walk into Cuba St and the CBD or freeway access out of town. The hosts were very friendly and helpful. Onsite parking was always easy.

Room Tip: Room 37 is on the 5th floor with lovely views across the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We checked in on New Years' Eve at around 6pm, and the owner was very friendly and gave us some good tips about eating and drinking out that evening, since Wellington is a bit of a sleepy capital city. The wi-fi actually worked, was decently fast, and the allocation was generous for a New Zealand motel (200MB each). Amongst other useful items, the kitchen contained two wine glasses, which was very helpful for our NYE celebrations! Even from the second floor, we had a great view out over the city, which would have been even better if the Wellington council hadn't cancelled their fireworks display. The bed was perfectly comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. TV was fairly large and I think we had Sky. The layout of the motel is a little bizarre and the first (ground) floor, including the lift, is closed off between 9.30pm and 8.30am, so we needed to carry our suitcases down a flight of stairs when we left early the next morning. It's a 15-minute walk into town, or the nearest airport bus stop, and just 10 minutes' walk to Cuba Street (a great little strip with lots of decent restaurants). There is a fantastic kid's playground just around the corner.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view: Webb Street is not very noisy at all and the windows are well-insulated, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
225 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed for one night in a studio unit which was very spacious, very clean and in a perfect location. It is only a 5 minute walk to Cuba Street which has a huge choice of restaurants, cafes and bars. Safe on site parking in the centre of Wellington is a bonus. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located very close to restaurants etc. there is parking available. Check-in was friendly and quick. The only downside is that the elevator access from the first level is available from 9pm to 7am so if you arrive or check-out between those hours you will have to carry bags up one flig of stairs. Rooms are clean but quite small.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Senthil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.1 mi away
Willis Wellington Hotel
Willis Wellington Hotel
#45 of 46 in Wellington
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
651 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
2,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apollo Lodge Motel
Apollo Lodge Motel
#10 of 46 in Wellington
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria Court Motor Lodge
Victoria Court Motor Lodge
#12 of 47 in Wellington
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital View Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital View Motor Inn

Property: Capital View Motor Inn
Address: 12 Thompson Street, Wellington 6141, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Wellington
#18 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Capital View Motor Inn enjoys stunning views over majestic Wellington city and the harbour and offers an ideal base for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Capital View Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital View Motor Hotel Wellington
Capital View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing