We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apollo Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 47 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Booking was smooth and easy, welcome was friendly and helpful, accommodation clean and of a great standard and check out a breeze. With free car parking and within easy walking distance to town, getting around was a breeze. We wanted for nothing and of course will stay again

Room Tip: Staying in the villa was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamati-Holsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 419 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Easy to find, car parking and spacious accommodation with a friendly welcome, all within easy walking distance of the waterfront and city centre. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Our only disappointment - not having opportunity to sample the fish and chip shop at the bottom of the road.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocho_Pinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Used this motel for 1 night before moving on from Wellington. Ideal location to access for picking our rental car up and collecting our daughter up from airport.

Room was clean, comfy with everything needed including starter wifi allowance.

Easy off road parking and easy walk to bars, restaurants and harbour front.

Minimal noise .

Stayed: February 2014
2  Thank JaneHDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed for one night, great location at the foot of mount Victoria and very easy access to the city. Five minutes walk to Te Papa museum and waterfront. Great host and room very clean, modern and well supplied. As we were not getting the ferry to Picton until the evening we were able to leave the car parked at the motel until we went for the ferry, this was great and we didn't have to worry about parking the car elsewhere for the day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB222014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 4 nights and were happy with the Apollo Lodge - functional accommodation in a good location. The room was comfortable with plenty of space - large kitchenette and bathroom. Being able to walk to most of the city's attractions made this particularly good value. We also liked walking up to the lookout atop Mt. Victoria for a heart starter each morning - takes about 20 mins from the lodge.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back we're bright and sunny - we had room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed in a room for 3, which was quite large and very clean. All the facilities were great, the beds comfortable and especially the shower was very good. The best part about Apollo Lodge Motel was its location; all the bars and restaurants are just down the street and the rest of Wellington's centre is very close as well. We could park right in front of our door and all the staff was very nice. So overall, great place to stay for a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Midgettessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Really great rooms and an amazing location. They give free WiFi which was really great! My main quarrel was the parking. It was atrocious. I think because people travel in more than one car, but when checking in, if you want a park, get in before 3pm.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 47 in Wellington
684 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 47 in Wellington
2,224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Hotel Wellington
Quality Hotel Wellington
#13 of 47 in Wellington
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.9 mi away
James Cook Hotel Grand Chancellor
0.9 mi away
CityLife Wellington
CityLife Wellington
#9 of 47 in Wellington
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Address: 49 Majoribanks St | Mt Victoria, Wellington 6011, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range: $98 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing