We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased with the Lodge!!!”
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney (formerly Redditch, UK)
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very pleased with the Lodge!!!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped at the Apollo Lodge for the cricket, New Zealand v England, I had heard that it was good from people who stopped there on the last tour to NZ in 2008!! We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment as part of the lodge. It was nice and spacious, very clean, the beds were fine and the location is brilliant... A stones throw from the nightlife (yet a long enough throw to be nice and quiet) and a nice walk to the Basin Reserve. All in all, very impressed and will stop here next time i'm in Wellington!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteensign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    51
    13
    3
See reviews for
125
191
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Apollo Lodge for 5 nights while attending NZ v England test match. Very friendly staff and helpful. Room was very clean and recently refurbished. I would recommend as its very close to everything, shops, restaurants, transport and good value

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Percypirate1883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

i would not spend my holidays there but if you're in toen for a weefend or stop over, i can only recommend!
+ clean, very well equipped rooms
+ quiet at night, while at a
+ great location, very central

- lost a bit the soul, which you can feel was once there
- not very helpful encounter (i asked about the best and cheapest way to the airport... take a cab was the answer... there is a direct bus for 9 bucks leaving every 15 min not even 5 minutes walking away??!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philipp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed with other members of my extended family at the Apollo Lodge Motel Wellington in early Jan 2013. The proprietors were very friendly and most helpful. In fact they couldn't have been nicer.....
I have recently visited again with a view to arranging to stay again with our family during a family occasion in Mid-late April.
This time I got a most odd (indeed rude) reception from a different "Front Office" lady. To say she was abrupt, would be an understatement and somewhat disappointing, given I am English and seemingly, so was she!
I had considered checking the rooms out to see how we could accommodate all our various family groups - but elected to quietly leave without going into more detail - as I was put off by the blunt - bordering on rude reception.
A shame - we will now be staying close by - but not at the Apollo Lodge Motel. It was great the first time - but not the second!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hawkinsfamily57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Apollo. We stayed for four nights and couldn't have chosen a better location or motel. The beds were very comfortable and the units were clean and tidy with good amenities. Excellent value for money and would highly recommend for couples or families.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 35 which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very comfortable, very clean and conveniently located accommodation in a nice part of town and within walking distance of the centre. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend it to families with kids.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisejpK_benhavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feilding, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very helpful and friendly staff, modern, clean and presentable rooms.It was a quiet motel considering it is in the middle of Wellington. Easy walking to town. Made our trip to a concert very enjoyable with no hassles.Would definitely use this motel again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissy5628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Property: Apollo Lodge Motel
Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing