We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, comfortable,convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apollo Lodge Motel
Ranked #8 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“clean, comfortable,convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Hassle free parking in central Wellington, this is a huge plus. Access friendly, no driving around strange city getting lost or into the wrong lane, even my husband could drive to and from this place. Easy walk to central city, attractions and buses. Would recommend Apollo to anyone, quiet, clean, comfortable,very high standard of accommodation. That is all we want and we will always opt to stay here from now on.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the peace and quiet of refurbished off road rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miriama h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    188
    47
    12
    2
See reviews for
114
182
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed in a motel room which we found to be clean, tidy and spacious. The location was fantastic - easy walking distance to the waterfront, Te Papa and Courtney Place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clg342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed with our young children for several nights in Autumn and enjoyed a comfortable clean unit that was conveniently close to Te Papa, the waterfront, restaurants etc.

Unfortunately, the manner of one of the staff (I think it was the owner) was absolutely awful. Barely civil on the phone when booking, unfriendly at the outset, suspicious, unhelpful in solving problems, and completely unapologetic and accusatory when an item of considerable personal value was lost from the room and never found. We spent nearly a thousand dollars on accommodation at this establishment and were overall treated like "trouble" or worse.

I do NOT recommend this motel for anything other than an overnight stay when location is critical.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DVWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Most central accomodation in Wellington is hotels, the Apollo is a good location being close to Courtney Place but with the benefits of a motel (off street parking, kitchen, more space). We stayed in a lovely refurbished one bedroom unit but have also stayed in the Edwardian house which was lovely too.

Room Tip: The Edwardian house rooms facing out onto Majoribanks road are not so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raroa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed in the apartments across the road from this hotel - but it is all part of the same complex. From the outside they don't look like much but they are immaculately clean and have excellent facilities. Despite the fact that it is almost on Courtenay Place with all of its bars and restaurants, it was also very quiet. It's very handy to the supermarket and is fully equipped so if you want a night off eating out, there are plenty of options for cooking. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jethro76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Excellent location, but quiet! Very newly refurbished 1 bedroom unit, spotlessly clean and tidy, very well equiped. Highly recommended if you need to ba at this end of the CBD.
Very handy for the Welsh Dragon Bar, and only a short stumble to bed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in the 3 bedroom cottage and while it was fine for 1 night I probably wouldn't recommend it for much longer. The floor felt like it had been in a large earthquake as it was uneven and in some places you felt like you were walking downhill to get from one room to another!

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank shazzbrizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#15 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,430 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rydges Wellington
Rydges Wellington
#6 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Property: Apollo Lodge Motel
Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#8 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing