We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Apollo Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apollo Lodge Motel
Ranked #10 of 46 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 3, 2008

Our room in this motel was spotlessly clean and had an excellent kitchen area. It was very quiet and the parking was good. We did not have a view, only a brick wall, but this was made up for by the motel's close proximity to Te Papa Museum. We were upgraded to a room in the Majorbanks Apartments across the road and these had recently been nicely refurbished.

  • Liked — Proximity to Te Papa Museum
  • Disliked — Lack of view
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wrinkly one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    198
    51
    13
    3
See reviews for
125
191
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
central north island-nz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Was plesantly suprised with the location and reasonable price of this fantastic motel.Got to stay in a family unit with plenty of beds inside a great old house.However, the interior was modern and sleeping quarters were very comfortable.Excellent parking facilities as well.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — only one bathroom for family units
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 42m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

This motel was ideal for staying in Wellington, it was a five minute walk into town and far enough away to be quiet at night. The motel was exceptionally clean and the owners were very accommodating. Our room had a double bed and single bed in it even though there was only two of us and a kitchen area with everything required to cook if you wanted to. Wellington is more expensive than the rest of the North Island (in our experience) but this motel was very good value.

I would recommend you book wherever you choose to stay as Wellington gets very busy especially at the weekends, when prices are higher and most rooms pre-booked.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch, nz
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2006

Another motel that we booked based on a previous TripAdvisor review. We stayed in a recently refurbished 2-bed, 2-bathroom apartment on the main motel site (there are also apartments over the road) that was clean and nicely furnished. The bathrooms in particular were beautiful. The motel is located on a quiet street and although none of the rooms on the main site appear to have views the location is great. It is about a 8 min walk to Te Papa and the waterfront, and there are a couple of nice restaurants just around the corner (we particularly liked Hazel) and the bars of Courtenay Place are a short stroll away.
The big advantage for us was the availability of parking which we had been warned about in Wellington, and the quiet location right in the centre of downtown. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank saintsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

Stayed here for two nights in March 2006. Arrived in Wellington late at night and picked this accommodation out of the AA book to try first.

Offered an apartment across the road (marjoribanks apartments)from the reception for a good rate. Very nice couple at reception - pleasant and helpful. Apartment excellent with good facilities. Separate bedroom (bed with electric blanket) which was easily heated, separate bathroom and kitchen facilities with adjoining living area - dining table, sofa and TV. Laundry facilities available on ground floor of building. Can buy washing powder sachets from reception for $1 (NZD) - washing machine and tumble dryer $2 (NZD) each to use.

Motel literally 5 minutes from city centre and waterfront areas. Parking also free outside apartments.

Excellent accommodation close to heart of city - recommended to all.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
36 Thank happyholsfolks!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
Travelodge Hotel Wellington
#14 of 46 in Wellington
2,659 reviews
0.9 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Wellington Oriental Bay
0.4 mi away
At Home Wellington
At Home Wellington
#1 of 46 in Wellington
753 reviews
0.3 mi away
QT Museum Wellington
QT Museum Wellington
#5 of 46 in Wellington
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apollo Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apollo Lodge Motel

Property: Apollo Lodge Motel
Address: 49 Majoribanks St, Wellington, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wellington
#8 Family Hotel in Wellington
#10 Luxury Hotel in Wellington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apollo Lodge Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apollo Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apollo Hotel Wellington
Apollo Motel Wellington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing